All of us went to school…

Don’t matter if is lil or big ABC ( where’s Terry?)

personally, no matter if u made it to phd or std 4….all that matters  is that u share some experiences whether be good, bad, ugly, funny, sad….ridiculous etc etc!

Let me start!

This memory was refreshed by a few classmates not too long ago

and it was primary school😁 I start to smile as I recall it

so there was a big wedding at my neighbours and almost all the people form my little village was there ( well most of us were related) and of course the kids are all there.

The following week all of us had wedding ceremonies under the school house ( school was on posts about 4 ft high ( guessing for flood days)

So technically I have been married lots of times because after few days we had other weddings with other classmates ( what is it called when u switch partners?)  The girls ‘borrowed’ our moms’ white lace half slip and tied it up with strings to make wedding dresses, we made flower bouquet and even headwear with grass. When the senior mistress son ( who was ‘married’) go and tell his mom we all got called up. She was very nice( she taught my mom in std one and 18yrs later she taught me in std one, then I became her pupil teacher after high school…She was the most inspirational person in my life ( apart from my nana) To this day her son and I are friends as is the girl he ‘married’ and she is 92 and still say I am one of her daughters….

more to come…some wild and wicked 😉😁

bring on your stories…

Eheh

so lil ABC … was under d sch ie bottom house.. we had reading classes under the pibe tree out in d yard

teacher sat on chair n kids on d grass!! Very nice

they started to construct the bottom to accommodate more classes so i rem playing games on the beams .

teacher had us acting out sone stories.. i loved ‘big billy goat gruff’ n i always wanted to b big billy goat ! But i used to run with such force n butt the troll lol..teacher had to ask me if i had to butt so hard!
ok Ah gone .. will share anither lil ABC story

im on dinner break ( at wrk)

goodnite

Lynn

For those of you that know Stewartville Sec. School you will know that the school shared the yard with a Church and a graveyard.

Whenever it was too noisy in the school the teacher will take us out in the yard and we will listen to the lectures there. (Mostly English Literature and History) the tombstones was our bench and we will sit down on them .

It was nice and very calm outside.

For hide and seek days that was the perfect place for us to play. One time a grave had fallen apart and someone dared me to crawl inside. And I crawled in, there was some kind of flooring inside I remembered so there was no fear of falling down 6 feet.

Pagwah time was great cause we use to get a lil feel of them gyal bubbie when we rub powder down them neck

And there was Leonora govt school, 2 teachers Hera and Peppie were lovers and use to fool around in the library we use to spy on them too.

After exams was done of the term it was cards and dominoes time in the class, even the teachers will join in and play with us. Those who had BF or GF will find some secret corner for themselves.

More to follow later

guy19

• guy19
Amral
Last edited by Amral

anyone  ever travelled in wooden buses or train to go to school??
i did.. WildFlower girl.. temind me of the names.. I rem  Judge which did Vergenoegen to V/H but I think there was another short-drop 1. ?
Elizabeth? Or Queen Elizabeth?  ??The express from Parika to VH

?Lady Macbeth??

Later I ferried then then took the  train, then a long  walk on long  muddy dam ( train platform was practically in canefields)

Train was scrapped mid 1974

n then the ‘adventures’ came to an end.. Tata bus was introduced. Bus was ‘jam-packed’ no fun!

Chami omg.. all of a sudden i have this memory.. dud u not break 1 of yr long long finger nails in the bus??  
btw were u ever sent to rip the hem of yr ‘short’ skirt in the ladies toilet, after being equipped with a needle n thread by Mrs G (the sewing :needlework) teacher?    Btw (I have her on fb n she looks the same.. same size n hairdo)

ps my skirt/uniform hem was never more than 3 ins above knees.. Mon morns after assembly, there she stood with ruler in hand to measure just case she wasnt sure ! Mine was probably an inch above my knees!!

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

Oh Chami..were u 1 of the young ladies that eventually made very long skirts but used  to roll up the waist to make mini nn only let it down whn u  entered  the sch yard ?? Lol

btw..do u remember  the gifts we recvd for winning our relays (after a while they have certificates..which  i never saved!! (They were left in my books in the bookcase in my mom’s home ..my mom lent my books (unknowingly to me) to cuz n they never  returned then .  Whn i finally went to collect after I got married..the bookpress was bare!! No sch reports..no athletic certificates ..n my ‘treasured Modern Maths texts..books 1-8, my Bio texts ..all gone n my mom couldnt rem who borrowed wht)

anyway..back to the gifts..the 1st relay our team got a lil blue leatherette change purse..(i have a similar 1 , I am not sure if I saw it n bought it or if someone gave it to me..will post the pix later)

then we got a bright yellow water bottle..it had the straps to hang on shoulder or across yr body. I rem getting a glass butter dish for 2nd place in long jumps..

I wasnt much of a sprinter but they needed me for the relay team..poor D house! They called is D for DEAD house!

I always got 2nd for high n long jumps..(Mr H who was our house master was very ‘smart’. He put Deb D for the open high jump  , if not we would have got 2nd n 3rd as she never beat Claudie . This was she got 1st in open n I got 2nd in my age grp.  Debs always bagged the 1st place for the long jumps n I came in 2nd !!

I think I stopped participating in the relay after that ‘fall’ because I felt that we were cheated.  You were so far ahead n u fainted just before the ribbon!! Lol..

I LOVED SPORTS DAYS!  

Enough for now..tbc

Lynn

On the run got too much to do…will respond in details later

oh gawwwd Janey, u made me have a long lasting smile pun me face from them memories…ow gyal, I didn’t faint…I had a slipped disc and was hospitalized for a while in Big Hospital

be back later….loooove your memories…still grinning 😁😁

W
@Wildflower posted:

On the run got too much to do…will respond in details later

oh gawwwd Janey, u made me have a long lasting smile pun me face from them memories…ow gyal, I didn’t faint…I had a slipped disc and was hospitalized for a while in Big Hospital

be back later….loooove your memories…still grinning 😁😁

Oh yeahh..that is why i was mad that they didnt give us the 1st..u were clearly the winner n the reason u lost was medical..plus u were almost at the ribbon..

Lynn

I remember high school but primary school is still on me mind….

so we all decided who were goin to marry in std 2! This one bie ( still my friend) we were going to do nikah but then the other boy who was my neighbour decided that he will marry me and take me to India ( his nana was from India  and that’s the only person I knew who lived near us and was from India ) ….ok all the marriage story dun

Rounders and  cricket was big in the ball field which had lots of holes from the cows walking through during wet season

sometimes the ball used to get lost in a cow foot hole

i remember a group of us making lead marble by putting pcs of lead in a sardine ‘punt’, placing it over one of the cow foot holes then lighting a small fire under….that was small daaayzzz

i remember getting soaked in rain and that same senior mistress made us take off our uniform and she made newspaper wraps for us ( that’s how she saw the welts on my back) and took me under her wing…like an angel (God bless her)

………

hey Jane girl, when u are 5ft 8 inches tall with long legs, all the skirts were short. That was my excuse and I stuck to it…and got away with it too..I made sure that there was no hem! Also, do u remember those nice leather slippers at Bata shoe store? Well I got a new pair, put a plaster pun me toe and got away with wearing it at school

i was not Mrs G fav for sure caz I was too rebellious.

omg, yes indeed, I did break my one inch long nail. One time Mr. Gobin stopped by my home to see my dad ( they were related) and he asked my mom why she don’t put me to scrub the pots…he was shocked to find out that I did cook and wash black pot with those nails. I had a system to clean right after with lime and old toothbrush

more to come

as I said, the good, the bad and some ugly😄😄😁

W
@cain posted:

I kinda remember something about school days. I musta went there one one time which kinda cramped my style in skulking.

Skulking was not my thing but I do recall that we did so few times…me and my Leguan gyal dem

sometimes they use to come to my home….

W

Lol

Chams I used to be 5’3.5 “gal!!

Now I am 5’ 2.5 “ lol

That  nail story was narrated in this house Not so long ago (maybe twice) Rach had gel nails n broke twice n it bled too.. I remembered your calamity.

Those Tata buses used to propel us forward whn the driver hit brakes.  You were standing n grabbed on to the tail on top of the seat but somehow u managed  to break. You winced n then i saw the blood n the  nail still ‘hanging on” .

Rach cried whn hers broke n i told her abt that incident !!

Cain!

i never skulked !

Chams .. those girls used to lime during exams time as we used to get 1/2 day  off

I used to continue in train to Leonora station where my gf came to ‘collect” me. Or i caught car to CI or Anna Catherina . This was whn we had AM off so then we  took hire  car to sch for aft session

Whn  we had PM off.. we strayed  after morning session

a few times we stopped off at Tuschen station n visited Ms Claude .. she had gigantic mango n genip trees in her yard n we feasted on the fruits.. they had lovely sand mangoes

Lynn

The first time someone bring in a skin flick magazine in school. It was actually the first time many of us saw a true picture of "something" lol. The magazine did get confiscated before the day was over though and no one took ownership of the deed. I must have been about 10 or 11 years old I think. Can't quite remember Definitely was too young for any sort of uplifting experience I know for sure lol.

Amral
Last edited by Amral
@cain posted:

I kinda remember something about school days. I musta went there one one time which kinda cramped my style in skulking.

I am sure I skulked with my Leguan group and few others…I have very vague memory of MMZ west and DeKendren

I never did the movie thing like my friends who had boyfriend…( of course I had One high sch bf too…oh wait…aaah, nevah mind😉)

W

Yes bossman, ( ya rass not boss a dis house no mo😄)….yes to salt n pepper with green/half ripe mangoes. My bestest friend 😔had mango trees and she could climb so she was responsible for mangoes.

I used to bring a bowl full of ripe gooseberries with salt n pepper done mix up.

also, I used to take roti ‘wrap’ for lunch…sometimes fry bigan or pumpkin etc in it….try buying that now!
jeez I am drooling. I have not had gooseberry in looooong time

W

There was a banna who used to always come up to me every dam day with "stings" meaning he wanted some of what I had. I got so fed up with the constant "stings" so one day I took in a good serving of tambrin syrup (tamarind) with nuff nuff epson salts sprinkled in it. leh me tell you yeh, when ma boy jumped up to "stings" me, I gave him the whole thing.

Early afternoon class we hear ..Pffft...Pffft..Brat atat atat...then it got much louder as salts kicked in.

FRAAAP.. POOT, BLAT, BRAAAP, BRAAAACK, FRRRT, BLAAARP, PBBBBT..a bit later the banna jump up and tek off for de latrine. He rass never "stings" Iman again.

Funny part is, he was my best fren so just imagine if I din like 'im.

@Wildflower posted:

Some ppl really wicked😂 not naming anyone😉

I remember hiding Nick carter books and reading those had some stuff

Whaaa!!!

omg..i rem doing that with comic books gal!! Archie n Verincia bks (rem these were banned in sch..so we hid them in text books)

Lynn
@Wildflower posted:

Yes bossman, ( ya rass not boss a dis house no mo😄)….yes to salt n pepper with green/half ripe mangoes. My bestest friend 😔had mango trees and she could climb so she was responsible for mangoes.

I used to bring a bowl full of ripe gooseberries with salt n pepper done mix up.

also, I used to take roti ‘wrap’ for lunch…sometimes fry bigan or pumpkin etc in it….try buying that now!
jeez I am drooling. I have not had gooseberry in looooong time

Many days I had the roti wrap..but with fry eggs .  We had fireside only n my sis had to wake at 5 am to cook 2 roti for me with d ‘curry’ but sometimes d ‘curry’ (fry baigan or bora etc  ) didnt finish in time so she fry up egg.  She wrapped 2 sep roti because I never ate BFast..too early to eat food but my dad milked the cow at that hr (using a lantern , as it was still dark outside).  My sis quickly boiled a 1cup so that i got milk with milo or ovaltaine to drink before i left home.  Whn i got to sch, I ate my bfast but the hot roti used to ‘sweat’ in the plastic bag n become soggy.  But whn yuh belly hungry, u eat anything..we nah mek styles..food was food back then.  My gfs used to have ‘pocket piece’ ( I didn't have a cent ) n they bought the goodies from Mr Gulchrn mom..eddo/cassava balls , boil n fry channa.  They went to her home as it was quite early..i think we arrived at sch before 8 am. (the boat departed  at 6 am..i left home at 530 am n didnt get home until after 630 pm..sometimes even 7 pm whn the last train was delayed or whn Malali got stuck on a sandbank..)

FUN days!!

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

Jane, in another thread you mentioned Georgetown South school..where is it located?

Mr Wolcott was Head Master then I kinda remember a Mr Baldhead Fidel. There was also a Mr King he married Miss Massey. Dam memories tarasss.

@cain posted:

Jane, in another thread you mentioned Georgetown South school..where is it located?

Mr Wolcott was Head Master then I kinda remember a Mr Baldhead Fidel. There was also a Mr King he married Miss Massey. Dam memories tarasss.

South Georgetown

oh lord.. i dont rem  the name if the street.. but sch was near Le Repentir cemetery or in it

im not sure if ut was Princess St n Louisa Row ., will ask my gf. she lived on creen n durban with her grandparents n attended StMarys n left  after common  entrance either 70 or 71 . her gpa was manager at a  JP santos( not sure which location)  

ps

i think that sch was demolished a long time ago!

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

I was also in StMarys scout troop and altar boy at the cathedral. After Common entrance I received a free place at East Ruimveldt Sec...(missed Common entrance free place at Saints/QC by a few marks.)

East Ruimveldt uniform was grey just like Saints Stanslaus. I was also in D house there. I rode through cemetery road to get there.

@cain posted:

I was also in StMarys scout troop and altar boy at the cathedral. After Common entrance I received a free place at East Ruimveldt Sec...(missed Common entrance free place at Saints/QC by a few marks.)

East Ruimveldt uniform was grey just like Saints Stanslaus. I was also in D house there. I rode through cemetery road to get there.

I walked thru that cemetery rd several time to visit family friends in Alboustown.  I was staying by Durban n Louisa row n teaching at a sch on Durban st 76-77 after I grad HS..laang laang time ago Cain..lol

Lynn

I lef before I graduated I was teachin dem techurs..espeschaly when it came to Henglish.

Pope Pius church was around there and a guy by the name of John Thyse (motor cycle racer) lived around there also.

One rainy day on my way to school, my front fender came lose and smat man cain decided to kick in the piece that held it to the frame. Dam foot decide fo go in between the spokes and I went for a flip over handlebars..I was a mess.

@Wildflower posted:
………

hey Jane girl, when u are 5ft 8 inches tall with long legs, all the skirts were short. That was my excuse and I stuck to it…and got away with it too..I made sure that there was no hem! Also, do u remember those nice leather slippers at Bata shoe store? Well I got a new pair, put a plaster pun me toe and got away with wearing it at school

@Wildflower that's very tall ,with high heels you are above most women and men in a gathering. We used to say to the short ones "we can eat on top your head"

@Amral posted:

We use to peep them girls when them walking up the steps. Bad rass

Omg!! U know a few guys did this to us on the boat..hid under the stairs n we didnt know until some old ladies saw them n gave them a good scolding..after that we we prepared!

BM u bin wurliss  in sch fuh tru tru!!

Lynn
@Django posted:

@Wildflower that's very tall ,with high heels you are above most women and men in a gathering. We used to say to the short ones "we can eat on top your head"

Once, Gilbaka posted a picture of her many many many years ago. At the time, I said, "she is a tall girl." Several other ladies were in the picture as well, average heights.