SARDINE PUNT.
Nadda two wuds BARKA and BARKI
Patni will call Pati big brother(Barka)and wife(Barki)
and the younger brother's are called(Chotka)and wife
(Chotki)
Jango yo is a know man now how about this one BAAHU
Patni of Mataa Pitaa Betah
achaa
Now you fellas getting into 'hindi' words territory!!
those are not uniquely guyanese words
New word for the day...Dhaan
Now you fellas getting into 'hindi' words territory!!
those are not uniquely guyanese words
Words came from our fore parents who spoke
Hindi and Urdu..etc,i learned hindi at age 7,
quit at about 11 yrs,i tend to forget some of
the words due to not using the language daily.
also called paddy?
rice when reaped and still in the shell
also called paddy?
rice when reaped and still in the shell
can't remember hearing this word before
Another word:
jabri
Jabri like old Haigue
I like that one - Jabri
my hair was always jabri jabri....like a bush-fowl.....and that's exactly why my falsename was.....fowl !!
TAN-TAR-YAH....every village does got um.
What was the large storage box for paddy at home called ?
Ours was in our logie kitchen area, where the fowls would lay their eggs and we would play as kids.
Big Paddy Box. Did I win something?
What was the large storage box for paddy at home called ?
Ours was in our logie kitchen area, where the fowls would lay their eggs and we would play as kids.
We called that storage area......Bakar
it was actually a good sized room under our house.
when the rice industry came to an almost halt my mom used to let the newlyweds from the village live in it. Especially the ones who eloped and had nowhere to live. they would live in it for about a year or so until they 'catch dem hand' or make up with family and they would move on.
Today I got a call from dis gorgeous Guyanese in TO to accompany her to Panama for a week and I have other things to do. De price is yours.
Resort, with all expenses paid. She wants someone to share her double occupancy.
If you think me jokin, you don't know dem WCD women.
VB, your Mom mus have been a romantic for young couples.
I believe we call our storage box a Hindu name.
Today I got a call from dis gorgeous Guyanese in TO to accompany her to Panama for a week and I have other things to do. De price is yours.
Resort, with all expenses paid. She wants someone to share her double occupancy.
Sanachayan...is this the hindi name???
All I need is lil time to get a few items...new beach towel, new bukta, capadula
She said let things hang loose, doan worry to pack any bukta.
Tried it...I tripped...no can do...gotta wear bukta.
Cain.....you wicked fuh dazeeeee!!!
A word today:
kumbie
I like that one - Jabri
my hair was always jabri jabri....like a bush-fowl.....and that's exactly why my falsename was.....fowl !!
jabri jabri hair is how I know the word, on the falsename.
sorry Ball I do not know about the Old Haigue jabri.
A word today:
kumbie
kumbie ma lord, kumbie
Ohhh Looordddd kumbie
A word today:
kumbie
Is it a Galvanised Tub you soak clothes in??
I thought that was a BAKEE Or TURIN pronounce churin
A word today:
kumbie
kumbie ma lord, kumbie
Ohhh Looordddd kumbie
not exactly what I thought I meant
A word today:
kumbie
Is it a Galvanised Tub you soak clothes in??
no., this would be Ball's answer
A word today:
kumbie
ok another name for kumbie as I know it:
yawari
Rowdy person(female), don't pick a fight you
in trouble.
I answer um seeing no one got the answer.
A word today:
kumbie
yawari
kumbie(yawari) possum does steal your chicken.
Put the CHURIN pon the GHATT and soak down them clath fo wash later
ah guess the words mean different things in different area for EG. whitey and pado
Rowdy person(female), don't pick a fight you
in trouble.
I answer um seeing no one got the answer.
Hey....how did I miss this one??
Tantarya......that is my Lil Deed Chami
(I am going and hide now )
A word today:
kumbie
yawari
never heard the word kumbie before
but I do know that rascally pest the yawari
A word today:
plimpla
A word today:
plimpla
You get prick when you pick buru buru,kookreet,awara and roses.
A word today:
plimpla
You get prick when you pick buru buru,kookreet,awara and roses.
here's another way that word was used in Gy....
you got plimpla on you face
(which was of course acne)