Jataha..my mom used to tell my bro whn he was being stubborn, that she guh jatahah him with a piece of fire wood

N the metal TUB used to wash clothes in..churin/choorin?

what abt Nahrah?? Is that hindi ?

Dachna..does this mean donation? Charity/alms?? Mits bhaiya help pls

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Mits bhaiya..is this correct.??

Jatta..u comb out the jatta.(knows from yr hair)

n wht’s the thing that used to be in pillows..harna or harra??

Words ending with "na" are usually verbs. Harna = to loose. Harra is a type of long grass. I know it was used for thatching roofs or for door mats. Jarru grass was used for pillows and Matrasses. Some folks collected Pyra (paddy straws) also.

@Mitwah posted:

Words ending with "na" are usually verbs. Harna = to loose. Harra is a type of long grass. I know it was used for thatching roofs or for door mats. Jarru grass was used for pillows and Matrasses. Some folks collected Pyra (paddy straws) also.

We had pillows with some seedy things inside n we called it harra or harna ..im not sure i it was from grass or corn .  

I am just trying to jog  my brains to rem words used at home before i started high sch..

our mattresses were from coconut fibre i think(it was called fibre mattress before we changed to foam)

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

We had pillows with some seedy things inside n we called it harra or harna ..im not sure i it was from grass or corn .  

I am just trying to jog  my brains to rem words used at home before i started high sch..

our mattresses were from coconut fibre i think(it was called fibre mattress before we changed to foam)

Harra is sugar cane flowers.

sugarcane-flowers173Normal_200

Mattress also had bizzy bizzy grass .Growing up we had rice straw mattress.

• sugarcane-flowers173Normal_200

Gyal Jane this thread bring back lots of memories and I can’t say all of them are good…but it’s life

patkay…well I got lots of those ( only if my dad was not home )

I even got Jharay with pot spoon good and prappa also

ounchay was a ‘obeah’ kind of thing🤫 where my mom used to put onion n garlic skin with broom ends  pepper and salt, then pass it around the person and burn the stuff in fire after

W
@Wildflower posted:

Gyal Jane this thread bring back lots of memories and I can’t say all of them are good…but it’s life

patkay…well I got lots of those ( only if my dad was not home )

I even got Jharay with pot spoon good and prappa also

ounchay was a ‘obeah’ kind of thing🤫 where my mom used to put onion n garlic skin with broom ends  pepper and salt, then pass it around the person and burn the stuff in fire after

Oh lard nat obeah gal!!

it was for bad eye esp lil babies !!
talking abt babies .. my mom used to ‘haul hasli ‘ for lil babies!

hasli or hansli .. she massaged the collarbone n muscles around it n neck ..

diagnosed whn baby cries non stop n doesnt drink milk !!
Awhh  the poor babies screamed n got red in face during massage but then tired  out n drank frim the bottle or nursed n fell asleep

2-3 sessions n baby is fine!

my maa hauled  naara too!!
she was a terrific masseuse!!

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

Jahray was similar to ounchay

but they used a broom .. guh round u 7 times saying some mantra n then they shake out the broom n put under the bed .. i think this was  to chase our jumbie or spirits.

my dad n ma used to ouchay my sis often as d gal used to get ‘bad eye’ every-time she go out!!

whn the thing burn in fire n smell high ., u choke n cough .. that meant the bad eye was strong .. lol

i really dont remember if this helped or not ..

Lynn

Oh those buck beads..

i think it wasnt a good thing as my mom didnt allow use to bring in the house..

but train days .. between Farm n Parika we used to hang out train window n grab handfuls of beafs.. all colours red, yellow, black. Grey. Striped .. we used needles to clear the holes n then made bracelets n necklaces.

we also grabbed wild flowers..

thinking abt it now.. that was dangerous omg !!

Lynn

Dulaha / dulahin

saibala

saro bai

chutki

bharki

aaja aajie

nana nani

mamoo

maami

Chacha chachee

mausa

mausi

pup-ha pup-hoo ( poowah)

bhunai

bacchha

beti

beta

i hear this a lot on zee tv shows., putarr ?? Meaning??

Lynn
@seignet posted:

Iz dem words Hindi or Bhojpuri?

I will let Jane tell you

i don’t have a clue. Perhaps some could be slangs used by past generations

Also, I think we should post the words and explain what they mean or how they were used.

damkahway was used by my ‘Nani’ when she threatened my mamoo( his nickname was Django) to put a good beating

manahee or kutnee was used in ref to a male in our village who used to be in other ppl ‘business’ then bring and carry gossip an set strife

korehee was used to ref to some folks who sat around (pasray) and did nothing much

———————————-

btw Sigztah, I found that old thread with my pic…I’ve regained almost all of the 30 plus lbs I had lost during my grief

W
@seignet posted:

Iz dem words Hindi or Bhojpuri?

I have no clue..we say hindi for everything..lol

ic an tell u i have never met an indian here who knows abt BHOUJIE ..they all say Bhabhi..

BAUJI..ive heard on TV n i think it means Father

the say MAMA for mom’s bro, not Mamoo as we say

n Daadi for grandmother

i dont think Putar means  “son” only as ive seen on TV..even grandmothers call the grandsons  ‘putar’..maybe itis a pet name for male kids/grandkids??

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Dheere dheere…(slowly)

chupke chupke (quietly)

Mits bhaiya..wht do the repeat thr words..n wht do they mean?

I understood it to emphasize comparative; but I could be wrong.

Dheere - Slow, Dheere Dheere - Slower or more slowly

Chupke - Quiet, Chupke Chupke - Quiter or more quietly.

@Mitwah posted:

I understood it to emphasize comparative; but I could be wrong.

Dheere - Slow, Dheere Dheere - Slower or more slowly

Chupke - Quiet, Chupke Chupke - Quiter or more quietly.

Makes sense..the emphasis..like how we say ‘true true’ or ‘dry dry’..

another 1 is chori chori ..wht does that mean ?(like the song ‘chori chori koi aaye”..)  is it small/little??

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Makes sense..the emphasis..like how we say ‘true true’ or ‘dry dry’..

another 1 is chori chori ..wht does that mean ?(like the song ‘chori chori koi aaye”..)  is it small/little??

I had to look up this one. Chori for means thief. But in the context of the lyrics, it means "secretly".

Chori chori koi aayeSomeone is coming secretly

You can find the full translation here: Chori Chori Koi Aaye Lyrics Translation | Noorie | Hindi Bollywood Songs (filmyquotes.com)

Choti is Small.

Last edited by Mitwah
@Mitwah posted:

I had to look up this one. Chori for means thief. But in the context of the lyrics, it means "secretly".

Chori chori koi aayeSomeone is coming secretly

You can find the full translation here: Chori Chori Koi Aaye Lyrics Translation | Noorie | Hindi Bollywood Songs (filmyquotes.com)

Choti is Small.

I know chor??Sp is thief ..ahh secretly !! Thnx Bhaiya

yeah i see..in the song it conveys the meaning of ‘sneaking up like a thief i guess ..stealthily’

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

Ok so the word JHARAY or jaray..imnot sure if it is spelt diff but we used it for 2 diff meanings..

1..jharay/jaray d mat..shake out the mat

2. Dem JARAR/JHARAY u to chase out evil/bad eye with a pointer broom similar to ounchay/owchay (my dad did this n he would chant some mantra under his breath n shake the broom out after each round. Did it 7 times from head to toe making circular motions n the last 1 he shook the tip of broom violently n then laid it under the bed )

i know JHARA is broom, so #2 makes sense..but not  # 1

did anyone else say ‘jharay d mats’ ??

Lynn

Junjunee..whn yr foot catch ‘ cramps’

jag joray..like u get a good shake up from yr angry mumma or big sissy whn  u do something wrong

or sometimes whn 2 ladies fight n 1 hold on to the other hair n give her a good jagjoray..lol

Lynn

Joota/jhuta/jhoota

1..whn u eat n leff back some food n then somebody else come n eat it..

2.  Juta means shoes..

maybe they r spelt diff n even pronounced differently??

?? Mits bhaiya..

Lynn

My dad used to always tell me that i mustnt be ‘gurmusaha’ ..because i had plenty DULAR n whn i didnt get wht i wanted, I used  to laang me mouth /swell up me mouth ..didnt say anything n even whn he would ask me  wht happened..i wont answer him..lol

I was a spoilt kid..the ‘baby’ ..7 siblings. I mean ‘stink with dular’ up to abt 11-12 yrs n then i finally grew up whn i started high sch since i had to stay away from home.  So whn I wanted something n didnt get it i used to go where my dad would notice me n ‘laang me mout’ n ‘grind 1 foot with the other’ because I knew y dad couldnt stand to see me like this.  He would ask me wht was wrong n i wont answer..he-had to plead with me for a long time n then he would ask me wht i wanted (he knew i always wanted something)Finally he would ask my mom or sisters wht it was that I wanted n tell them to give it to me.  (Yeah i was sly pickney..knew how to get my own-way..hahaha..)

Lynn

Pookni (poker) n chimta(tongs)

I never cooked at my parents home ..my sisters did n we didnt have stove until my sis got a job in 1975 n she bought a 2 burner kero stove. Once my sister askedme to ‘blow’ d fire as it was ‘dying’ . Well nobody toldme how to blow n i mek wan big blow!! Me out-out the fiah n sucked in smoke as well..me nearly choke to death!!  There is an ‘art’/technique in using the pookni.

As for the chimta..that also is an ‘art’ to keep the fire going by moving up the firewood n once again i failed as i just shoved the firewood anyhow n -out-out- d fiah!!  

As for chunkay..i was scared to chunkay the dhal..as it ‘pitched up’ so high n burn u

saapie (pot holder)..my sis/mom made these using old rice bags or old cotton clothes ..

Lynn

Ghotay..again used in 2 diff ways

1. Whn u talk 1 thing over n over ..

2.  Swizzle dhal with dhal gutney

i still have a dhal gutney ..even though i have a hand blender, i prefer the dhal gutney

talking abt Dhal/DAL…when a girl/lady dress up n put on lil powder, dem ole people used to say..’ she dal up’ . Ask ‘where  u going mek u dal up so much’

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

I know chor??Sp is thief ..ahh secretly !! Thnx Bhaiya

yeah i see..in the song it conveys the meaning of ‘sneaking up like a thief i guess ..stealthily’

Yes. It's a methaphor or poetic expressions. Sometimes it is Urdu and differs greatly from regular day to day conversational Hindi.

Dem ladies does prappa dal (doll) up fo go see matanee ( film) and dem does potay ( rub Lots) lipstick and when dem get together dem does pusur pusur ( I think that is whisper)

………………………

Jane lots of the words you wrote few days are new to me…I will go back and get them so u can tell me what they mean

W