While PNC Nigel Hughes vehemently condemns the vulgarity of his fellow PNC supporters, his fellow PNC man Dirty Moses has zipped his lips.

“Tonight we condemn all acts of indecency and disrespect. Whether it’s urinating on someone’s flag, burning someone’s flag or any other similar act,” Hughes told the large crowd. “We must hold ourselves to higher standards than we expect of others. We are better than that.” Hughes added

http://www.guyanatimesgy.com/2...-apnuafc-supporters/

Plastic City residents cry out for housing relief

By Gaulbert Sutherland

Barefoot, four-year-old Sara and her sister, Varshanie, three, stare forlornly at their water-logged, garbage-strewn surroundings on the Best Village foreshore.

Above water: The women of the Ramdass family gather together on Sunday at Radica’s home in Plastic City.

“We ain’t got nowhere to go, that’s why we come here,” their mother, Amanda Gouveia says. She knows that the perennially flooded, insect-infested flats amidst mangroves is no place to bring up her five children but reiterates that they have no place to relocate to. Other residents of Plastic City, a squatter settlement on the West Demerara with no electricity or potable water or any other service, say too that they cannot afford any place else. According to reports, Plastic City was so named because plastic was the main building material used in the original ‘houses’ there.

Susan Ramdass, 23, grew up in Plastic City and continues to live there with her husband and four children. She recalls that some time back Ministry of Housing officials visited, numbered each home and promised assistance with acquiring house lots but since then they have heard nothing. Other residents also recall a visit by Minister of Housing and Water Irfaan Ali but say nothing has happened since. Over a dozen families live in leaking board and zinc shacks on the edges of Plastic City while others live in sturdier houses at the front.

The only dry place in Plastic City for the Ramdass children to play is on their tiny deck.

“We grow up small in here and we still living here,” Ramdass says. Like all the residents, the woman says if she is allocated a house lot elsewhere, she is willing to move. Plastic City, which floods during the high tides and never dries during the rainy season, is not healthy for children, she says. She points out that when the water rises, it floods the latrines. Her home is built with pieces of “crab bush wood”, wattles and covered with zinc. “None new brand material ain’t deh on,” she says.

Ramdass says her husband, Jaiveer Kumar Lall, a labourer, does not earn enough. “Just because people can’t do better mek people live here,” she says.

Some Plastic City residents on a stand they built to ‘hang out’ above the mud and water.

Rampattie Ramassar says the Housing Ministry had promised to assist with house lots. She says they had to fill up forms and send them in but have had no update so far. “I glad to move from here,” she says citing the flooding, mosquitoes and sandflies and the fact that they have to go a long way to fetch water for everyday use. Residents also collect rainwater.

Ramassar lives with her four children. She says she used to rent a house but can no longer afford this. She moved to Plastic City after she purchased a ‘house’ there. Ramassar, a vendor, says if a house lot is identified, she is willing to pay for it in instalments because she cannot afford to pay a lump sum.

Living in Plastic City was never meant to be permanent, she says. “We willing foh move if the people give we house lot cause the place is not nice for children and so.”

“If we coulda afford it, we nah woulda living here,” says Radica Ramdass, who lives with her husband and son in Plastic City. She says if they got a little help, they are willing to move immediately. “We ain’t want to live forever back here.”

Anand Persaud in front of his home in Plastic City; he moved there because the rent was too high elsewhere. Some of the homes in Plastic City.

Her sister, Samantha is constructing a new home close to Radica’s. The mother of three says she too cannot afford to go anywhere else. Shanta Ramdass echoes a similar story.

Another resident, Roxanne Mayers says they cannot afford the $112,000, they are expected to pay for a house lot. “They only promising us and ain’t doing nothing,” she adds.

Over the years and recently, the authorities have been urging Plastic City residents to move.

No place to play: Sara (right) and Varshanie Chanderpaul (left) stand forlornly on the only piece of dry ground in Plastic City.

In March last year, Ali said that a risk assessment will be done in Plastic City and some persons may have to be relocated.

Meantime, Gouveia is also looking to construct a new home in Plastic City, moving out of the home two houses away where her parents died. As her daughters gaze at the numerous crabs scuttling across the mudflats, she adds that if she gets a house lot, she is ready to move.

By
July 13, 2010

<noscript>&amp;lt;a href='http://s1.stabroeknews.com/r/www/delivery/ck.php?n=aeaae28f&amp;amp;amp;cb=INSERT_RANDOM_NUMBER_HERE' target='_blank'&amp;gt;&amp;lt;img src='http://s1.stabroeknews.com/r/www/delivery/avw.php?zoneid=13&amp;amp;amp;cb=INSERT_RANDOM_NUMBER_HERE&amp;amp;amp;n=aeaae28f' alt='' /&amp;gt;&amp;lt;/a&amp;gt;</noscript>

Related Articles

<noscript>&amp;lt;a href='http://s1.stabroeknews.com/r/www/delivery/ck.php?n=a5008251&amp;amp;amp;cb=INSERT_RANDOM_NUMBER_HERE' target='_blank'&amp;gt;&amp;lt;img src='http://s1.stabroeknews.com/r/www/delivery/avw.php?zoneid=10&amp;amp;amp;cb=INSERT_RANDOM_NUMBER_HERE&amp;amp;amp;n=a5008251' border='0' alt='' /&amp;gt;&amp;lt;/a&amp;gt;</noscript>
<noscript>&amp;lt;a href='http://s1.stabroeknews.com/r/www/delivery/ck.php?n=a2b7281e&amp;amp;amp;cb=INSERT_RANDOM_NUMBER_HERE' target='_blank'&amp;gt;&amp;lt;img src='http://s1.stabroeknews.com/r/www/delivery/avw.php?zoneid=7&amp;amp;amp;cb=INSERT_RANDOM_NUMBER_HERE&amp;amp;amp;n=a2b7281e' alt='' /&amp;gt;&amp;lt;/a&amp;gt;</noscript>

Here is a genuine and authentic East Indian, Motilall Jairam, dragging Moses "I am not Indian" Nagamootoo over the coals

On May 11th, Guyana has a simple choice to make. Do you want to get “bun out” by APNU-AFC or do you want peace, progress, and stability for another five years under a good though not perfect Government? The PPP/C and their supporters will not be “bunning out” anyone when the PPP/C wins. They will go back to the hard work of continuing to build Guyana from where the people’s national “bun dem out” party left us in 1992. That is the crucial difference Mr Nagamootoo. One party builds them up. Your party, the PNC, “buns dem out.” Motilal Jairam

http://www.guyanatimesgy.com/category/letters/

Barefoot, four-year-old Sara and her sister, Varshanie, three, stare forlornly at their water-logged, garbage-strewn surroundings on the Best Village foreshore.

Above water: The women of the Ramdass family gather together on Sunday at Radica’s home in Plastic City.

“We ain’t got nowhere to go, that’s why we come here,” their mother, Amanda Gouveia says. She knows that the perennially flooded, insect-infested flats amidst mangroves is no place to bring up her five children but reiterates that they have no place to relocate to.

Poverty exists everywhere in the world.

Check out what's happening in the USA with 50 million Americans struggling on food stamps:

Unknown

• Unknown

The only dry place in Plastic City for the Ramdass children to play is on their tiny deck.

“We grow up small in here and we still living here,” Ramdass says. Like all the residents, the woman says if she is allocated a house lot elsewhere, she is willing to move. Plastic City, which floods during the high tides and never dries during the rainy season, is not healthy for children, she says. She points out that when the water rises, it floods the latrines. Her home is built with pieces of “crab bush wood”, wattles and covered with zinc. “None new brand material ain’t deh on,” she says.

Ramdass says her husband, Jaiveer Kumar Lall, a labourer, does not earn enough. “Just because people can’t do better mek people live here,” she says.

How can we go wrong if we choose the path of a coalition govt?

May 5, 2015 | By | Filed Under Letters 

DEAR EDITOR, It is quite encouraging to know that many countries around the world that Guyanese long to visit, or even work, are being run by coalition governments. On Sunday, I noticed an advertisement in your newspaper which pointed out some of the thriving countries worldwide that are being governed by political parties that coalesced. I hope that my fellow Guyanese took note that countries such as India, Britain, Germany and the twin island of Trinidad and Tobago are being run by coalition governments. It is my belief that Guyana is getting ready to step into the league of such jurisdictions if citizens can only see the wisdom in electing a government that is so structured that scrutiny will be the name of the game. According to what I have read in the daily newspapers, the Alliance For Change vows to keep A Partnership for National Unity in check, and vice versa.  How can we go wrong if we choose the path of a coalition government? It’s all in the hands of Guyana now. Amala Peters

* This is not a day DIRTY INDIANS like Moses Nagamootoo are proud of or will be celebrating.

THE People’s Progressive Party (PPP) salutes all Guyanese on the occasion of Arrival Day which is being observed on May 5.

This is indeed a good time to reflect on the long and difficult road we have traversed over the decades and the enormous sacrifices made by our fore-parents to forge a society which today we can all be proud of.

http://guyanachronicle.com/on-...gains-are-preserved/

Mitwah with his usual Cult and Paste. This is the limit to his intelligence.

His cut and paste is illustrative of a specific circumstance of injustice. You on the other hand does nothing but spout the same racist crap in deference of those crooks  day in day out. That you have the nerve to be considered able to adjudicate intellect here is the big laugh.

* This is not a day DIRTY INDIANS like Moses Nagamootoo are proud of or will be celebrating.

THE People’s Progressive Party (PPP) salutes all Guyanese on the occasion of Arrival Day which is being observed on May 5.

This is indeed a good time to reflect on the long and difficult road we have traversed over the decades and the enormous sacrifices made by our fore-parents to forge a society which today we can all be proud of.

Happy arrival day to all Indos.

We must keep our unique identity and culture intact and never let go of ours.

Those like Traitor Moses who have lost their sense of identity and who are willing to send Indos to National Service to be Raped and Douglarized should be ashamed of themselves.

Long live our people, long liver their struggles against a racist PNC, kudos to our forefathers who brought Hinduism and Islam to the Caribbean and which are still adhered to till this day.

May Allah, Jesus and Krsna protect our people.

Shame on those who are attempting to strip us of our unique identity and culture.

Happy Indian Arrival day.

You on the other hand does nothing but spout ... 

* You does, huh stormy?

* And you have the pomposity to brag about intellect and superior writing skills ?

You on the other hand does nothing but spout ... 

* You does, huh stormy?

* And you have the pomposity to brag about intellect and superior writing skills ?

I am quite certain as to my intellect. It has had 3 decades of scrutiny by  the best around and is being tested daily in specialized environments where crabs like you would have been weeded out way down stream

Those like Traitor Moses who have lost their sense of identity and who are willing to send Indos to National Service to be Raped and Douglarized should be ashamed of themselves.

Long live our people, long liver their struggles against a racist PNC, kudos to our forefathers who brought Hinduism and Islam to the Caribbean and which are still adhered to till this day.

Shame on those who are attempting to strip us of our unique identity and culture.

You should read Ram Mohan Roy and Dwarkanath Tagore on the the practices and customs of Hindusim on the impoverished of Indians in the 19th century.

This is 2015.

I am quite certain as to my intellect.

* OK Stormy! So you are certain of your intellect. But it looks like it is your character that needs a lot of work.

* Character always rates higher than intellect.

* OK Stormy! So you are certain of your intellect. But it looks like it is your character that needs a lot of work.

You rass score -20 on both.

My character is well honed to polished perfection and unblemished by the disease of racism that deforms and stains yours.

You rass score -20 on both.

cainsta OLD bai:

* It looks like you are going through male menopause. You've been cranky and peevish a lot recently.

* Listen old bai! Find yourself an adventurous 25 year old woman---she'll bring out the cheerfulness in you.

Banna, two 25 year olds couldn't keep up with the 50 yr old Iman got.

* Good for you! A lot of 50 year old women are more sexually daring and adventurous than the younger cubs. Glad you found yourself a playmate. Now! Tone down on your crankiness on GNI.

How can we go wrong if we choose the path of a coalition govt?

May 5, 2015 | By | Filed Under Letters 

DEAR EDITOR, It is quite encouraging to know that many countries around the world that Guyanese long to visit, or even work, are being run by coalition governments. On Sunday, I noticed an advertisement in your newspaper which pointed out some of the thriving countries worldwide that are being governed by political parties that coalesced. I hope that my fellow Guyanese took note that countries such as India, Britain, Germany and the twin island of Trinidad and Tobago are being run by coalition governments. It is my belief that Guyana is getting ready to step into the league of such jurisdictions if citizens can only see the wisdom in electing a government that is so structured that scrutiny will be the name of the game. According to what I have read in the daily newspapers, the Alliance For Change vows to keep A Partnership for National Unity in check, and vice versa.  How can we go wrong if we choose the path of a coalition government? It’s all in the hands of Guyana now. Amala Peters

haul yo ass

* When last you feasted on quality "sushi" cainsta ?

* Listen Old bai! Men who feast on "quality sushi" are never, ever, ever cranky or crotchety or ill-tempered.

* Old bai Cainsta---Take it from the Rev---this is patented wisdom Rev sharing with you old man---there is nothing in this life that is more magical or enchanting or captivating than quality "sushi".hahahaha

* Reading the angry, bitter postings from many of the men on GNI---it's easy to surmise that many of these poor, miserable souls haven't enjoyed quality sushi in decades---hence their deep frustration and irritation.hahahahaha

Originally Posted by antabanta:

Revie.. .padnah... come leh we gyaff 'bout all dem dutty indian... dem ones who does tell nuff nuff lie all de time.

Bhai Persaud:

* When last you feast on quality "sushi" ?

* The Rev doesn't sense any annoyance or vexation from you yet on this thread, and therefore I am inclined to believe that you feast regularly.

Revie.. .padnah... come leh we gyaff 'bout all dem dutty indian... dem ones who does tell nuff nuff lie all de time.

Bhai Persaud:

* When last you feast on quality "sushi" ?

* The Rev doesn't sense any annoyance or vexation from you yet on this thread, and therefore I am inclined to believe that you feast regularly.

Revie Revie Revie.... it galls me to think of the extent of boredom and incapacitated state of mind that would prompt to pen such an asinine post for the world to witness.

How you dealing so? Your idrine ask you fa a lil gyaff about dem dutty lying coolie and you talking 'bout fish?

Last edited by antabanta

Revie Revie Revie.... it galls me to think of the extent of boredom and incapacitated state of mind that would prompt to pen such an asinine post for the world to witness.

ha ha ha ha ha

* Men who don't feast on the world's greatest delicacy are easily galled.

* Hopefully in your next life Persaud you'll experience the joys of quality "sushi". 

* By the way Persaud, don't stay "galled" for too long. That's not good for your health.

ha ha ha ha ha

* Men who don't feast on the world's greatest delicacy are easily galled.

* Hopefully in your next life Persaud you'll experience the joys of quality "sushi". 

* By the way Persaud, don't stay "galled" for too long. That's not good for your health.

Is why you like dish out advice so much my idrine? You really don't realize yet what readers think of you and your advice?
But is how come you doan want gyaff wid ole Anta 'bout dem dutty lying coolie man dem?

Is why you like dish out advice so much my idrine? You really don't realize yet what readers think of you and your advice?

Old man antabanta!

* Years ago the Rev learned that he must never be concerned with what others think of him. It is what he thinks about himself that matters.

* The Rev has never forgotten that piece of wisdom.

Old man antabanta!

* Years ago the Rev learned that he must never be concerned with what others think of him. It is what he thinks about himself that matters.

* The Rev has never forgotten that piece of wisdom.

In that case the Rev should learn and appreciat the concept of introspection. My idrine.. yuh good good fren Anta kyan tell you true true story you ent gat none piece a wisdom atall atall atall.

PAGING ANTABANTA:

* It looks like you are inviting the esteemed and respectable Rev to join you in the gutter. The Rev respectfully declines.

My idrine!! dis mean all dem posts from you 'bout dutty indian was from somebody who hack yuh name?

Dis mean all dem nonsense gutter remark 'bout dutty indian gon stop?

You mek iman proud idrine.

Last edited by antabanta

In that case the Rev should learn and appreciat the concept of introspection.

* Actually I'll respond to the above comment. When posters make a sensible comment the Rev will reply.

* The problem with introspection or self-analysis anta bai is that it has no end.

* But you are free Bhai Persaud to engage in soul searching and self examination of yourself.

In that case the Rev should learn and appreciat the concept of introspection.

* Actually I'll respond to the above comment. When posters make a sensible comment the Rev will reply.

* The problem with introspection or self-analysis anta bai is that it has no end.

* But you are free Bhai Persaud to engage in soul searching and self examination of yourself.

Dready... lissen heah my idrine... from all dem stchupidness yuh does post it aint look like yuh know anyting 'bout dis heah introspection bizniss... nah badda waste time wid all dem banal cliché-like comebacks.

Listen! The Rev will never demean himself by engaging with GNI posters who are practiced in the art of posting bunk, meaningless drivel, and nonsensical mumbo jumbo like antabanta above. Say something interesting or intelligent and the Rev will readily respond, but post crap and foolishness and you'll be roundly ignored.