thrown out of office. I have been

subjected to violence, indignity and

jail. I am willing to face these

thingsagain, and gladly, in the fight

to free my people and aid them. Here

I stand. Here I will stand until I die."

1961:

Cheddi Jagan

Great and eloquent words indeed. But my family will never give up our wealth to communists. We will fight to the last drop of our blood. We shall support an political movement to get rid of the sweet talking communists. We work hard for what we have. We never stole from anyone. We never robbed our workers who we treat with utmost respect. Stalinism and communism we abhor! Long live freedom!c Long live free enterprise. Long live the East Indian businness class! Short live the communists!

We must never fall for the sweet talk of Che Gouvera and Fidel Castro. The only revolution is the of the people to own private property. Us East Indians want to own private property. 

JB, to each his/her own, will be nice to talk about the isms some day, but right now, we are showcasing the bribery and corruptions of the cancerous and inept PPP/C who we think that if elections were held today they would be kicked out of office.

Originally Posted by asj:

We must never fall for the sweet talk of Che Gouvera and Fidel Castro. The only revolution is the of the people to own private property. Us East Indians want to own private property. 

JB, to each his/her own, will be nice to talk about the isms some day, but right now, we are showcasing the bribery and corruptions of the cancerous and inept PPP/C who we think that if elections were held today they would be kicked out of office.

Asj ....JB has a right

to be in love with the

Burnham Faction of the PPP.

Call it by any name you want

the PNC is the Burnham faction of the PPP,

Some will cuss Burnham at times....

while others will cuss Jagan the other times....

but history will show

the two factions were cut

from the same cloth.....

and each faction of the PPP

supported the other..... when they had to.....

and Each faction of the PPP

fight each other ....the rest of the time.

This topic is not about

the Jagan Faction of The PPP,

or Odo Faction of the PPP,

JB this topic .....

It is not about...I would call...

The Great things Jagan Did

like Developing Sugar, Rice, Agriculture,

Building Industrial sites

or creating lots of opportunities for the poor

while Jagan was in power

JB this topic ....

It is not about what you would call

The Great things Burnham Did

like Building things in guyana

the Linden Highway, Demerara Harbor Bridge,

National Service, House Of Isreal,

A Good Election Rigging Team 

punishing or killing members of the opposition,

or creating opportunities for a few in a certain class

while the rest of the country suffer

while Fat-boy was in power

This Topic is about what

the PPP has turned into today,

With Jagdeo and Ramotar doing worst

that what many accuse Burnham and his Faction of Doing....

and with Jagdeo & Ramotar

Ignoring all the promises Jagan,

the Original leader of the PPP

made to all his supporters.

INEPT PPP/C CAUSES GUYANA

TO LOSE MILLIONS

Guyana could lose millions after slippage in Norway forest preservation deal

Friday, 01 November 2013

Guyana stands to lose at least US$20 million from the forest conservation fund because the South American country has lost more of its Amazon forest mainly to gold mining, Natural Resources Minister Robert Persaud said Friday.

He, however, emphasized that the 3rd National Report on Deforestation from January 2012 to October 2013 has to be verified first before confirmation on how much money Guyana will lose. “If we say that what we have is accurate and what is right, it would be in the range of US$20 million,” he said.

He said new satellite imagery technology that uses a higher resolution of five meters shows that Guyana has lost much more forest cover over the reporting period. Previously, the resolution was 30 meters. Actual figures show that the area that has been deforested has increased from 9,891 to 14,655 hectares- 94 percent attributed to mining. Agriculture alone accounts for an increase from 52 to 440 hectares. Other drivers are forestry, mining and the construction of a road to the Amaila Falls hydropower project.

In percentage terms, Guyana has breached the agreement with Norway because it has increased from 0.054 percent in the Year Two assessment to 0.079 in Year Three which is above the agreed threshold of 0.070.
“It is below what has been set as the maximum with the Kingdom of Norway. It’s just that there are some graduated levels that if you hit that threshold you see a reduction in what your payment can be,” Persaud told reporters.

Persaud also announced that stemming from the report government would be soon using real-time satellite imagery to assist the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) and other enforcement agencies in swooping down on illegal mining and other activities that result in the destruction of forests.

The Minister ruled out a scaling back in gold and diamond mining but an emphasis on greater monitoring, enforcement and reforestation of mined out areas.

Government is moving to build permanent GGMC sub-stations, ensure there is information-sharing and enforcement by officers on the ground. Recent efforts to recruit and train a new batch of mines officers have not been entirely successful because, according to the minister, a number of them have been sent home.

Norway in 2009 agreed to pay Guyana US$250 million to help protect Guyana's forests to avoid deforestation that fuels climate change.

THERE IS NO WAY THAT THE PPP/C

WILL WIN

IF ELECTIONS WERE HELD

TODAY:

"I believe that my first charge is to

raise my people from the mire of

poverty in which, for too long, they

have suffered. I have never made any

secret of my views. I have been

thrown out of office. I have been

subjected to violence, indignity and

jail. I am willing to face these

thingsagain, and gladly, in the fight

to free my people and aid them. Here

I stand. Here I will stand until I die."

1961:

Cheddi Jagan

The man reponsible for all the mayhem that befalls us.

Bribery and corruption have blighted

Guyana

November 2, 2013 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor,
Ever since 1999 this country has been plagued with bribery and corruption. It was not surprising, therefore, that provisions have been made in the Constitution for an Integrity Commission in clear recognition and acknowledgement of the fact that Guyanese are no longer living in the age when men were born gentlemen, but rather in the age when efforts are being made to make gentlemen by laws and regulations. Yet the regime has not been forthright with the nation in allowing the Integrity Commission to function independently of PPP control.
The dictum that a man’s word is his bond has clearly lost all its intrinsic value and significance under this regime, hence the promulgation of the Integrity Commission. This law was passed, no doubt with the expectation of halting the escalation of corruption and dishonesty on the part of those in public life and those exercising public functions, but it has, it would seem, proven to be neither a palliative nor a panacea to reducing or eradicating corruption, except perhaps, to adorn our statute books with yet another law.
It is significant to note, however, that while the law is one which primarily constitutes an invasion of one’s right to privacy, the enactment of the law has been justified on the ground of public interest, as opposed to the right of the individual. This is the message we want the PPP cabal to hear.
The word integrity clearly connotes persons of unblemished character and strong moral principles and persons who are held in high esteem as exemplars and worthy of becoming persons in public life, such as Members of Parliament and those holding public office.
However, empirical evidence has established that persons of such calibre are clearly scarce commodities in our society, especially in the PPP, and this conclusion may receive some support in a statement made some time ago by President Hoyte when he said that “selection of members of the Commission is not a matter to be rushed as these persons must be of the highest calibre and integrity.”
Integrity is therefore not a commodity that can be taken off a shelf as this regime has done. The value and concept of the importance of integrity has to be nurtured and developed during a person’s formative years, failing which, the word becomes meaningless to those who are strangers to it.
As human beings we are basically and fundamentally the product of our environment, so that a person born, nurtured and developed in an environment destitute of those intrinsic values would clearly be devoid of them.
While we address our ministers in the PPP as “Honourable” (righteous and incorruptible), the personal honour to which the word owes its genesis or origin would seem to have lost much, if not all of its value and significance, since it has become imperative to enact laws and regulations, the purport and intent of which are to subject such persons to the submission of their incomes, assets and liabilities to the Integrity Commission on an annual basis for scrutiny, and for the purposes of declaring them to be persons of integrity.
This constitutional mechanism has been predicated on the fact that Ministers and parliamentarians in the PPP regime have so misused and abused their powers and authority for personal gain and aggrandizement, that they should be found guilty of criminal offences.
As a consequence, the question that has arisen from time to time is whether these PPP ministers and Parliamentarians should continue to be addressed as “honourable” or whether they should be addressed simply as Mr. or Ms. or just by their first names. Most Guyanese seem to have lost confidence and respect for the PPP cabal.
One of the mind-boggling questions is therefore, whether legislation per se will stem the tide of the growing escalation of bribery and corruption on the part of those in public life or whether there should be put in place a comprehensive and intensive educational programme, designed to create an environment in which our children, who would be the adults of tomorrow, could be nurtured, developed and sensitized of the intrinsic value and significance of the principles of honesty and integrity.
Since bribery and corruption would appear to be irrefutably endemic and pervasive in the regime and in the society, non-governmental organizations such as the Transparency Institute of Guyana, the Private Sector Commission, the Georgetown Chamber of Commerce and Industry and the trade unions, among others, ought to collectively consider speaking out against and condemning the PPP regime for its failure to stop the growing escalation of corruption and bribery at all levels of government. And there is no better place to begin than with the contracts in which major kickbacks are offered in return for them.
Dr. Asquith Rose and Harish S. Singh

Bribery and corruption have blighted

Guyana

Ed Ahmad probe leads FBI to former NY senator – NY Post

January 4, 2013 ·

The New York Post today said that

the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) is probing former

New York State Senate Majority Leader, John Sampson

following its investigation of convicted Guyanese

mortgage fraudster Ed Ahmad.

Sampson is of Guyanese parentage

and has visited Guyana on several occasions.

He is the latest high-profile official to come under scrutiny

in a web that also ensnared Queens democratic congressman Ed Meeks

and convicted Ponzi artist Allen Stanford.

John Sampson & Ed Ahmad

The Post today said that

the FBI has launched a criminal probe

of Senator Sampson of Brooklyn.

The report said that the inquiry focusing on

Sampson’s campaign fund-raising

arises from a broader federal probe into Meeks.

According to the report,

Ahmad is the common link

drawing the FBI from Meeks to Sampson.

Ahmad had been embroiled in a congressional ethics probe

for giving Meeks a secret US$40,000 loan

believed to have been a gift.

Ahmad pleaded guilty in October

in a separate, US$14 million mortgage-fraud scheme.

His sentencing date has not been scheduled

and the report said that

Ahmad is now cooperating with the feds.

Ahmad faces more than 10 years in jail

for submitting bogus information

on mortgage applications to lenders

and using straw buyers to hide his role in the scam.

He also faces more than

US$15 million in fines and restitution, the report said.

It added that like Meeks,

Sampson has strong ties to Ahmad.

Sampson was Ahmad’s lawyer in real-estate dealings

and had gotten into trouble over this representation.

The report added that the New York Department of State,

which licenses real-estate brokers and other corporations,

had admonished Sampson

for “notarizing a statement by one of Ahmad’s workers

without a valid notary license, which had lapsed.”

Details were sketchy about what the federal investigators

are looking for in Sampson’s campaign records, the report added.

Ahmad was a Sampson donor,

contributing at least US$2,000

to the senator’s campaign, records show.

FBI spokesman Martin Feely

said he could neither confirm nor deny

the existence of an investigation into Sampson or Meeks.

The report said that Sampson

was questioned by two FBI agents

who stopped him on a Brooklyn street

outside his gym late last summer.

The Post said that Sampson has repeatedly

declined its requests for comment.

Through a spokesman,

he declined to comment yesterday

when asked again about the probe.

Queens Borough President Helen B. Marshall is flanked by (l - r)

NY State Senator John Sampson,

NYC Council Member Leroy Comrie, 

Jagdeo business Partner Ed Ahmad

and Guyana's Consul General to New York The Hon. Brentnold Evans.

The FBI is continuing to probe Meeks

even though the House Ethics Committee

cleared him for failing for two years

to report a US$40,000 loan from Ahmad

that appeared to have been an interest-free gift.

The report said that the panel last month

concluded that Meeks’ inaction was “inadvertent” and

declined to rule on whether the loan was in fact a gift.

The revelation of the federal probe into Sampson

comes two weeks after he was

dropped as the Senate’s Democratic leader in a 19-6 vote.

He was replaced by Sen. Andrea Stewart-Cousins of Westchester.

The Post report noted that in 2010,

the state inspector general criticised Sampson

for tainting the bidding process

in the award of a contract

to run the Aqueduct casino in Queens.

Sampson, then the majority leader,

was cited for leaking a confidential bidding document

to the lobbyist for the politically connected firm AEG,

which subsequently won the contract.

The state pulled the billion-dollar contract from AEG

when the Inspector General’s Office launched its probe.

In 2011, the New York Post had reported

that Meeks was trying to get a cricket invitation for

Ahmad to the VIP Box

of now disgraced Antigua-based banker Stanford

while he had been at the height

of his T20 cricket extravaganza in the Caribean.

Ahmad’s plight has also raised uncomfortable questions former President Bharrat Jagdeo and the ruling PPP as he was the supplier of goods to the President at State House and also occupies the former headquarters of the PPP-aligned paper, The Mirror.

These are the Exact words from the article......

In 2011, the New York Post had reported that Meeks was trying to get a cricket invitation for Ahmad to the VIP Box of now disgraced Antigua-based banker Stanford while he had been at the height of his T20 cricket extravaganza in the Caribean.

http://www.newyorkcricket.com/...ting_environment.htm

Ahmad’s plight has also

raised uncomfortable questions

former President Bharrat Jagdeo

and the ruling PPP

as he was the supplier of goods

to the President at State House and

also occupies the former headquarters

of the PPP-aligned paper, The Mirror.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

See the List of

PPP Crooks in New York

Now..we want everyone to Read 

the newspaper article and

See who is the Liar....

and how they covering up fuh

Jagdeo & His Poom-poom Cheese

Also when dem check de dictionary

and find out more about

Poom Poom Cheese......

let us see if them gon wan

show demself here on GNI again.

De Poom Poom Cheese cant hide.....

you can spot them easily...

De got one thing in common....

them trying to Cover up

Jagabattie Thiefing,

Crime, Narco Runnings,

Corruption & Mismanagement

#2 Link to Stabroek....

Ed Ahmad probe leads

FBI to former NY senator

– NY Post 

January 4, 2013 ·

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...-ny-senator-ny-post/

The struggle for accountability is still on – Granger

November 3, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

â€Ķ“We need to know what is happening with the tax dollars of the hardworking Guyanese”

Opposition Leader, David Granger has registered his firm belief that a basic change to a government that believes in accountability will make a difference for the betterment of Guyana.
Granger made that statement as he sought to hit home the dilemma of the Opposition in having to hound the government for information that should be readily available.

APNU Leader, David Granger

The politician said that Guyanese stand to benefit collectively from a type of scrutiny that will allow a government to be on its toes. “So the struggle needs to be pursued and all must join.”
He said that the People Progressive Party (PPP) administration needs to realize that accountability will make a people more confident in their government.
Granger noted that accountability is what makes the system work. He added, “That’s the need for the opposition,   and an accountable government will become a good government.”
According to A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) leader, his party has been engaged in a 21-month struggle to ascertain the source of funding for many projects and entities.  His immediate reference however, was to the Government Information Agency (GINA).
Granger said that it hard to figure how GINA still exists with the funding given to the entity by the National Assembly. He added, “There must be another source of funding and we need to find that out.”
He told Kaieteur News that there is too much going on that the Opposition doesn’t know about. He sought to make it clear that it is not a case where the Opposition is not trying to find out; he said that the Opposition’s inquires are just falling on deaf ears.
Granger had also told Kaieteur News, “It is a worry how the government can carry out these projects, like the Marriott, knowing that they are not best in the interest of the average Guyanese people.”
He said that the opposition, especially the APNU, will make it “our” interest to ensure that the tax dollar of the hard working Guyanese citizen is put to good use; “that is what we were put here for.”

nb when there is corruptions and thieving there can be no accountability

Asj ....JB has a right

to be in love with the

but history will show

from the same cloth.....

This topic is not about

JB this topic .....

while Jagan was in power

JB this topic ....

This Topic is about what

Sir, this is one of the better posts that you have made. It goes straight to the point and it does not have any references to vulgarity. I commend you and will try to respond when you ask what the PPP has turned out to be today.  

1. As I see it you, ASJ, and some of the others are not anti-PPP. I am guessing that you have an admiration for what the PPP used to be but you are unhappy with the way and manner in which things are done.In other words, is the PPP still the Party of Cheddi Jagan or has it been hijacked by some and taken in another direction?

2. The answer to this question has to do with whom you speak to in Guyana. The people higher up in the PPP ie the President and his cabinet and Mr. Jagdeo will say that the PPP is Jagan's Party and that it has not deviated one bit from dream of the founder Cheddi.

3. In reality this is not the case. One of the things that Cheddi did was to fashion the PPP into an electoral machine, capable of winning elections. The PPP under Jagan did not lose any elections. The fact that we have a split Parliament means that the PPP lost control of the ball. They let things slip. How did they do that?

4. The PPP took their supporters for granted and thought that they would turn up to the polls anyway. But this is only part of the problem. The other part is style of leadership. Some people feel that Mr. Jagdeo did not actively court the supporters and in many cases he alienated them. This is not something that Jagan would have done.

5. Jagdeo has a lot of responsibility for the PPP being in this situation. He cannot walk away and say that voter apathy resulted in the split parliament. As President you hand over to your successor a party in good shape. This did not happen here.

6. Jagdeo also had a lot to do with Moses leaving the Party. This should not have happened. Moses was a lifelong supporter of the PPP and when he left the PPP felt that 'good riddance' was the best response. The people would come out anyway and vote PPP. This did not happen as we know. Moses has hurt the PPP and Ralph can do the same. You do not treat your stalwarts with this kind of disrespect.

7. Unfortunately, President Ramotar has not so far proven to be his own man. He is too tied to the Jagdeo era. He has to answer questions about corruption,and do something about it after admitting publicly that there is corruption. Why for example, is a man from New Jersey running Guysuco and paid a fantastic salary when perhaps the brightest canecutter can do a better job?

8. The PPP said when it failed to get a majority that it did not do enough grassroot work. It should have done so starting the day after the last election but if you speak to the people in the estates and in other places they feel forgotten and neglected.

9. The present situation is that the PPP is boxed in a corner and unable to flex its muscles. It's like what Cheddi said after the 1961 elections, he was office but not in power. The irony is that if the PPP wants to remodel itself then there is a lot it can learn from APNU. Who would have thought that?  I will deal with this another time.

10. In summary the PPP is in poor shape if an election were to be called today. It will struggle to get a majority. The spirit and also the energy that Jagan put into the struggle have waned. There are those in the PPP that know what needs to be done. But who will bell the cats?      

Another Good Sign for the PPP:

Georgetown sees biggest Diwali motorcade in recent history –with youths dominating this year’s festivities

LIKE a solid wall stretching into the distance, spectators lined several city streets and roadways leading to the Georgetown Seawall, and the seawall running along the East Coast of Demerara, as they sought to get a glimpse of the attractive floats and the beautifully made up men, women and children from the Hindu community participating in the Dharmic Sabha’s annual Diwali motorcade.

This Edward Beharry Float, designed by Andrew Art, was one of the largest floats among those on show last evening

Last evening, the floats assembled at the Shri Krishna Mandir in Campbell Avenue, Campbellville, Georgetown before making their way in a procession through several city streets and on to the Rupert Craig Highway, along which they travelled, wending their way to the La Bonne Intention (LBI) Community Centre Ground for the cultural programme put on by the Guyana Hindu Dharmic Sabha.
Hundreds of cameras, smart-phones and other gadgets were used to capture the spectacular displays of lights and devotees ensconced in low-bed trucks, canters, open back pickups and other vehicles from which blared the sweet religious melodies usually associated with Diwali celebrations.
There were individual floats, even as mandirs and other religious grouping were well in evidence in the parade.
Speaking with the Guyana Chronicle last evening, Culture Minister Dr. Frank Anthony said the event is now tradition in Guyana, and last evening’s motorcade was the largest of its kind for this season.

This Diwali float parked on Campbell Avenue last evening did not cease to amaze the scores of spectators gathered at the Shri Krishna Mandir

Dr. Anthony said the Diwali motorcades are always events that persons would look forward to witnessing, and while there are many mythical meanings to the origin of Diwali, the salient message is that good triumphs over evil – a message all Guyanese can relate to in everyday life. He said that once a person does good, good will follow that person.
He said that keeping the focus and the meaning of Diwali alive will eventually see persons making themselves better individuals, and by extension their country a better place.
Speaking with the Guyana Chronicle before the procession departed from Campbell Avenue, President of the Guyana Hindu Dharmic Sabha, Dr Vindhya Vasini Persaud described the event as one of the biggest motorcades witnessed in recent times.

A float from the Success Mandir on the East Coast of Demerara which joined the convoy at Campbell Avenue

She commended the various mandirs and other persons and groupings who took time to be part of the historic moment, and said that one of the hallmarks of this year’s celebration, like last year’s, is the fact that young people and their youth groups have dominated the celebrations, and are working to take the activity to another level with their fresh and brilliant ideas.
Last evening’s event saw more than twenty floats taking part in the motorcade, and according to Dr. Persaud, the event has now become somewhat of a source of national pride, since it is being emulated in the rest of the Caribbean and other countries further afield.DSC_0136
Last night’s parade was described as spectacular, with floats coming from the East Bank of Demerara, West Coast of Demerara, East and West Banks of Berbice as well as from Georgetown.
Dr Vindhya Persaud said that while the motorcade is a competition, those taking part are always encouraged to work together, thus allowing the light of unity to glow unchallenged.
Today, Hindus around the world celebrate the Festival of Lights; and, over the past week, there have been several activities to mark the occasion.
The Guyana Chronicle will feature a more detailed and colourful story on last evening’s celebration in tomorrow’s edition.

(By Leroy Smith)

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

Asj ....JB has a right

to be in love with the

but history will show

from the same cloth.....

This topic is not about

JB this topic .....

while Jagan was in power

JB this topic ....

This Topic is about what

Sir, this is one of the better posts that you have made. It goes straight to the point and it does not have any references to vulgarity. I commend you and will try to respond when you ask what the PPP has turned out to be today.  

1. As I see it you, ASJ, and some of the others are not anti-PPP. I am guessing that you have an admiration for what the PPP used to be but you are unhappy with the way and manner in which things are done.In other words, is the PPP still the Party of Cheddi Jagan or has it been hijacked by some and taken in another direction?

2. The answer to this question has to do with whom you speak to in Guyana. The people higher up in the PPP ie the President and his cabinet and Mr. Jagdeo will say that the PPP is Jagan's Party and that it has not deviated one bit from dream of the founder Cheddi.

3. In reality this is not the case. One of the things that Cheddi did was to fashion the PPP into an electoral machine, capable of winning elections. The PPP under Jagan did not lose any elections. The fact that we have a split Parliament means that the PPP lost control of the ball. They let things slip. How did they do that?

4. The PPP took their supporters for granted and thought that they would turn up to the polls anyway. But this is only part of the problem. The other part is style of leadership. Some people feel that Mr. Jagdeo did not actively court the supporters and in many cases he alienated them. This is not something that Jagan would have done.

5. Jagdeo has a lot of responsibility for the PPP being in this situation. He cannot walk away and say that voter apathy resulted in the split parliament. As President you hand over to your successor a party in good shape. This did not happen here.

6. Jagdeo also had a lot to do with Moses leaving the Party. This should not have happened. Moses was a lifelong supporter of the PPP and when he left the PPP felt that 'good riddance' was the best response. The people would come out anyway and vote PPP. This did not happen as we know. Moses has hurt the PPP and Ralph can do the same. You do not treat your stalwarts with this kind of disrespect.

7. Unfortunately, President Ramotar has not so far proven to be his own man. He is too tied to the Jagdeo era. He has to answer questions about corruption,and do something about it after admitting publicly that there is corruption. Why for example, is a man from New Jersey running Guysuco and paid a fantastic salary when perhaps the brightest canecutter can do a better job?

8. The PPP said when it failed to get a majority that it did not do enough grassroot work. It should have done so starting the day after the last election but if you speak to the people in the estates and in other places they feel forgotten and neglected.

9. The present situation is that the PPP is boxed in a corner and unable to flex its muscles. It's like what Cheddi said after the 1961 elections, he was office but not in power. The irony is that if the PPP wants to remodel itself then there is a lot it can learn from APNU. Who would have thought that?  I will deal with this another time.

10. In summary the PPP is in poor shape if an election were to be called today. It will struggle to get a majority. The spirit and also the energy that Jagan put into the struggle have waned. There are those in the PPP that know what needs to be done. But who will bell the cats?      

Sugrim, what you have written here is Mother Lakshmi's Darshan to me.

Happy Diwali to you and your family.

Another Good Sign for the PPP:

LIKE a solid wall stretching into the distance, spectators lined several city streets and roadways leading to the Georgetown Seawall, and the seawall running along the East Coast of Demerara, as they sought to get a glimpse of the attractive floats and the beautifully made up men, women and children from the Hindu community participating in the Dharmic Sabha’s annual Diwali motorcade.

Last evening, the floats assembled at the Shri Krishna Mandir in Campbell Avenue, Campbellville, Georgetown before making their way in a procession through several city streets and on to the Rupert Craig Highway, along which they travelled, wending their way to the La Bonne Intention (LBI) Community Centre Ground for the cultural programme put on by the Guyana Hindu Dharmic Sabha.
Hundreds of cameras, smart-phones and other gadgets were used to capture the spectacular displays of lights and devotees ensconced in low-bed trucks, canters, open back pickups and other vehicles from which blared the sweet religious melodies usually associated with Diwali celebrations.
There were individual floats, even as mandirs and other religious grouping were well in evidence in the parade.
Speaking with the Guyana Chronicle last evening, Culture Minister Dr. Frank Anthony said the event is now tradition in Guyana, and last evening’s motorcade was the largest of its kind for this season.

Dr. Anthony said the Diwali motorcades are always events that persons would look forward to witnessing, and while there are many mythical meanings to the origin of Diwali, the salient message is that good triumphs over evil – a message all Guyanese can relate to in everyday life. He said that once a person does good, good will follow that person.
He said that keeping the focus and the meaning of Diwali alive will eventually see persons making themselves better individuals, and by extension their country a better place.
Speaking with the Guyana Chronicle before the procession departed from Campbell Avenue, President of the Guyana Hindu Dharmic Sabha, Dr Vindhya Vasini Persaud described the event as one of the biggest motorcades witnessed in recent times.

She commended the various mandirs and other persons and groupings who took time to be part of the historic moment, and said that one of the hallmarks of this year’s celebration, like last year’s, is the fact that young people and their youth groups have dominated the celebrations, and are working to take the activity to another level with their fresh and brilliant ideas.
Last evening’s event saw more than twenty floats taking part in the motorcade, and according to Dr. Persaud, the event has now become somewhat of a source of national pride, since it is being emulated in the rest of the Caribbean and other countries further afield.DSC_0136
Last night’s parade was described as spectacular, with floats coming from the East Bank of Demerara, West Coast of Demerara, East and West Banks of Berbice as well as from Georgetown.
Dr Vindhya Persaud said that while the motorcade is a competition, those taking part are always encouraged to work together, thus allowing the light of unity to glow unchallenged.
Today, Hindus around the world celebrate the Festival of Lights; and, over the past week, there have been several activities to mark the occasion.
The Guyana Chronicle will feature a more detailed and colourful story on last evening’s celebration in tomorrow’s edition.

(By Leroy Smith)

i wonder how much n-****** indians was in that parade diwali is not about the government or no policial party its about all hindu and the guyanese people 

Asj ....JB has a right

to be in love with the

but history will show

from the same cloth.....

This topic is not about

JB this topic .....

while Jagan was in power

JB this topic ....

This Topic is about what

Happy Diwali to you and your family as well and Peace for the coming year.

Quote "Most Guyanese seem to have lost confidence and respect for the PPP cabal. One of the mind-boggling questions is therefore, whether legislation per se will stem the tide of the growing escalation of bribery and corruption on the part of those in public life or whether there should be put in place a comprehensive and intensive educational programme." unquote

STOP THE BRIBERY AND CORRUPTIONS NOW:

Bribery and corruption have blighted Guyana

November 2, 2013 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor, Ever since 1999 this country has been plagued with bribery and corruption. It was not surprising, therefore, that provisions have been made in the Constitution for an Integrity Commission in clear recognition and acknowledgement of the fact that Guyanese are no longer living in the age when men were born gentlemen, but rather in the age when efforts are being made to make gentlemen by laws and regulations. Yet the regime has not been forthright with the nation in allowing the Integrity Commission to function independently of PPP control. The dictum that a man’s word is his bond has clearly lost all its intrinsic value and significance under this regime, hence the promulgation of the Integrity Commission. This law was passed, no doubt with the expectation of halting the escalation of corruption and dishonesty on the part of those in public life and those exercising public functions, but it has, it would seem, proven to be neither a palliative nor a panacea to reducing or eradicating corruption, except perhaps, to adorn our statute books with yet another law. It is significant to note, however, that while the law is one which primarily constitutes an invasion of one’s right to privacy, the enactment of the law has been justified on the ground of public interest, as opposed to the right of the individual. This is the message we want the PPP cabal to hear. The word integrity clearly connotes persons of unblemished character and strong moral principles and persons who are held in high esteem as exemplars and worthy of becoming persons in public life, such as Members of Parliament and those holding public office. However, empirical evidence has established that persons of such calibre are clearly scarce commodities in our society, especially in the PPP, and this conclusion may receive some support in a statement made some time ago by President Hoyte when he said that “selection of members of the Commission is not a matter to be rushed as these persons must be of the highest calibre and integrity.” Integrity is therefore not a commodity that can be taken off a shelf as this regime has done. The value and concept of the importance of integrity has to be nurtured and developed during a person’s formative years, failing which, the word becomes meaningless to those who are strangers to it. As human beings we are basically and fundamentally the product of our environment, so that a person born, nurtured and developed in an environment destitute of those intrinsic values would clearly be devoid of them. While we address our ministers in the PPP as “Honourable” (righteous and incorruptible), the personal honour to which the word owes its genesis or origin would seem to have lost much, if not all of its value and significance, since it has become imperative to enact laws and regulations, the purport and intent of which are to subject such persons to the submission of their incomes, assets and liabilities to the Integrity Commission on an annual basis for scrutiny, and for the purposes of declaring them to be persons of integrity. This constitutional mechanism has been predicated on the fact that Ministers and parliamentarians in the PPP regime have so misused and abused their powers and authority for personal gain and aggrandizement, that they should be found guilty of criminal offences. As a consequence, the question that has arisen from time to time is whether these PPP ministers and Parliamentarians should continue to be addressed as “honourable” or whether they should be addressed simply as Mr. or Ms. or just by their first names. Most Guyanese seem to have lost confidence and respect for the PPP cabal. One of the mind-boggling questions is therefore, whether legislation per se will stem the tide of the growing escalation of bribery and corruption on the part of those in public life or whether there should be put in place a comprehensive and intensive educational programme, designed to create an environment in which our children, who would be the adults of tomorrow, could be nurtured, developed and sensitized of the intrinsic value and significance of the principles of honesty and integrity. Since bribery and corruption would appear to be irrefutably endemic and pervasive in the regime and in the society, non-governmental organizations such as the Transparency Institute of Guyana, the Private Sector Commission, the Georgetown Chamber of Commerce and Industry and the trade unions, among others, ought to collectively consider speaking out against and condemning the PPP regime for its failure to stop the growing escalation of corruption and bribery at all levels of government. And there is no better place to begin than with the contracts in which major kickbacks are offered in return for them. Dr. Asquith Rose and Harish S. Singh

Corruption

By Stabroek staff  |  2 Comments  
Editorial | Thursday, January 27, 2011 

On Monday last, the first day of the 2011 budget debates,

Alliance For Change Chairman, Mr Khemraj Ramjattan MP,

provoked a strident outburst in Parliament

when he referred to

a lack of transparency and accountability by the government

and drew a parallel between that

and Minister of Housing Mr Irfaan Ali

being hauled before the House Privileges Committee last year

over a $4 billion supplementary allocation

for work in the housing sector that was sought in 2010,

after it would have been already spent the previous year.

So raucous were the cries of the government MPs

in defence of their colleague that

Speaker of the House Mr Ralph Ramkarran

was forced to suspend the sitting for some 15 minutes.

What may have incensed

those occupying the government benches even more,

was the fact that Mr Ramjattan

took to the House and read from,

Improving Public Accountability:  The Guyana Experience 1985 – 2007,

a book by former Auditor General Mr Anand Goolsarran,

whose rows with government officials

over their constant deviation from standard

and acceptable accounting practices were common knowledge.

Mr Goolsarran’s annual reports

on the audits of government accounts

complete with recommendations were refreshingly straightforward

and often highly anticipated by citizens

who opposed underhand business.

But it was his public, often scathing,

commentary of the way the country’s accountability

was being handled that rankled, apparently.

It may be recalled that it was under Mr Goolsarran’s watch

that the misappropriation of some US$2.5 million

in the sale of Guyana’s gold overseas

through the manipulation of the daily spot rate was unearthed.

And who can forget the $50 million Wildlife Department fraud or

the illegal sale of dolphins by a government functionary.

Mr Goolsarran’s methods were –

to put it mildly – unappreciated;

he found himself out in the cold,

so to speak,

and subsequently accepted employment

with the United Nations as executive secretary

to the UN Board of Auditors.

Today, five years after Mr Goolsarran’s departure

from the Guyana Public Service

government agencies still deviate

from the accounting norms built into the system

that would ensure accountability;

not much has changed.

What is a pity is that the government ministers

and their colleagues in Parliament

don’t seem to take the same approach

to the workings of their respective ministries and agencies.

We don’t hear them shouting and screaming

when frauds are unearthed or

when the Public Accounts Committee questions

an untendered contract that may be kosher

but could very well have not been.

Instead, they or their permanent secretaries or

other accounting officers go quietly

before the committee

and defend what is clearly inexcusable.

In October last year,

Transparency International (TI)

published its annual corruption index

which gave Guyana a rating of 2.7,

with 10 being very clean

and 0 being highly corrupt;

Guyana was also ranked at 116 out of 178 countries.

At the time the administration

had also slammed the TI report,

calling it suspect and trying to deride its sources

which included the Economist Intelligence Unit,

the World Bank and Freedom House –

an internationally renowned NGO based in WashingtonDC,

which is an advocate

for political freedom, democracy and human rights.

As TI had stated in its report,

which gleans data from over a dozen sources,

“with governments committing huge sums

to tackle the world’s most pressing problems,

from the instability of financial markets

to climate change and poverty,

corruption remains an obstacle

to achieving much needed progress.”

The PPP administration should know

that it ought to be doing much more

than stamping and screaming in Parliament

like a two-year-old throwing a tantrum

to reduce and remove not just corruption

but any perception that it exists,

to ensure that true progress and development

are underway in this country.

Asj ....JB has a right

to be in love with the

but history will show

from the same cloth.....

This topic is not about

JB this topic .....

while Jagan was in power

JB this topic ....

This Topic is about what

#2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #7, #8, #9, #10.   

Happy Diwali to you and your family as well and Peace for the coming year.

De Fella posting as Sugrim,

you know I have nothing personal against you

or any Other GNI poster.....I speak the truth.

There are others like yuh good Friend Rev....

who will say they speak the truth...

and on a few occasions he will

Cuss up Jagdeo & Ramotar Lil bit...

but would still tell you to

support Jagdeo & Ramotar ....

and Burnham Bad because he thief,

PNC Bad because them rig election and

AFC Bad because them mek

Jagdeo & Ramotar a Minority in Parliament.

then yuh Friend

Stink Mouth Rev & Auntim@n Kwame...

will hook-up and

gon tell we Moses is not a Working Class Leader

because eeee tek Bribe

& eee driving a New Bentley in Guyana...

Rev will never admit 

Kwame get caught begging a lil boy  name Julius

fuh lil B@tty from Jagdeo office phone.

Kwame will never lell you

if eee knak Rev before Julius

Ewe-geee will never admit

Guyana had A B@tty Boy as President

and he was not Burnham,

Arthur Cheong, Hoyte,

Cheddi, Sam or Janet.

De_Ole guy will never tell yu

Jagan never like B@tty -Boy,

Thiefman or House-of-Israel Thugs.

Big_Seed will never tell yu

Guyana today has the Most Crime, Narco Trafficing & Corruption

in the history of this country.

Then you Sugrim.....Yes You...

will Join with these Funny Fellas

and try to tell us

the Guyanese People Stupid and Backward.

Sugrim ....yes you

will join with those Crab Louse

to condone Jagdeo & Ramotar

Mismanagement, thiefing & Corruption.

Pandit which Religious Book tell dem thing right?

THE PPP/C JUST CANNOT STAY AWAY FROM THIEVING AND CORRUPTIONS

CANU officers sent on leave to

facilitate probe

Friday, 01 November 2013

Several officers of the Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit (CANU) have been sent on leave in connection with a case about a shipment of cocaine in star apples, a senior official said Friday.

CANU’s Head, James Singh declined to name or provide the exact number of anti-drug agents who were sent on administrative leave two weeks ago. “I want to assure that the investigation is being done to ensure the transparency and integrity of CANU’s operations,” Singh told Demerara Waves Online News (www.demwaves.com).

He, however, confirmed that the decision to send the men on leave was linked to a cocaine trafficking charge against Charles Anderson.

Singh denied that two named officers were dismissed in connection with exchanging information with others as regards a drug bust at Soesdyke in which cocaine was found in several loges earlier this year.

When Anderson was arraigned on October 11, his defence lawyer Mark Waldron had told the court that two CANU officers were disciplined because they had allegedly communicated to the supplier of the cocaine that Anderson had been cooperating with the investigators.

He said that while Anderson was being interviewed in the presence of the Head of CANU, the accused man’s phone rang and the caller expressed concern that he had been providing information. Waldron said he believed that CANU has since made efforts to trace the number.

Anderson is accused of shipping 20.56 kilogrammes of cocaine mostly in star apples to Canada between January 24 and January 25, 2012. The drugs were not found here but were unearthed by Canadian authorities.

WHY IS IT THAT THE PPP/C BRAINCHILD IS ALWAYS IN TRUOBLE WITH THE LAW WHEN THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO BE REPRESENTING THE LAW: WELL WITH THE PPP/C ANYTHING IS EXPECTED

This is what happens when the PPP/C dishes out contracts to their cronies and friends like crazy:

Thirteen-day-old Cane Grove Bridge

sinks

November 4, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

Recently completed bridge constructions at Strathaven, Cane Grove, East Coast Demerara have begun to raise the eyebrows of villagers.
This comes even as one of the recently constructed bridges, leading out of the western side of the community, almost caved on Saturday, less than two weeks after its completion.

The 13-day-old Cane Grove bridge that sank after an excavator used it as pathway.

Residents explained that the community hosts three gateway bridges, two providing access to the western side and one leading into the eastern side.
They said that only recently, works were undertaken by authorities to rebuild some of the bridges, as they were visibly aged, after having served the community for approximately two decades.  As it turned out, however, and much to the villagers’ dismay, the two bridges on the western side were the only ones to undergo reconstruction while the bridge leading into the eastern half remains untouched.
More than that, it was one of the gateway bridges on the western side of the community that sank under the weight of an excavator. Fortunately, villagers on that side have the option of using the second bridge as the other “cannot serve its purpose anymore”.
This has now become a cause for worry among the villagers as some expressed concern that “a bridge that cost millions of dollars did not even last two weeks”.
One resident, stationed close to the site, noted that “sloppy work” is to be blamed as reconstruction works were completed in “only a day and a half”.
Moreso, the resident noted that while arguments of the excavator “being too heavy for the bridge” were used to defend the substandard construction, bridges in that area ought to be built to hold heavy vehicles.
He informed that the community houses primarily families engaged in agriculture and, as such, the use of heavy vehicles to traverse the roadway and bridges would be a norm.
In further discrediting the recent construction works, the resident noted that the previous bridges have served comfortably for more than two decades, with minimal maintenance. He said that had the previous bridges undergone regular maintenance, they would have “lasted longer”.
“What’s the sense repairing two bridges on one side? Rebuilding a bridge on both sides would have been the common sensical approach to the situation,” one resident posited.
Residents noted that in order to upkeep the bridge on the eastern side of the community, residents had taken to conducting repairs through self help. It was noted that the Cane Grove Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC) had provided materials while the residents contributed labour to repair the bridge temporarily. Still, the “patches” are not enough.
They are therefore calling on the authorities to adjust their plans to accommodate the rebuilding of the eastern bridge as well as conducting repairs to the new bridge that almost caved in. According to residents, the contractor responsible for the “sloppy work” should “face the consequences”.

IF GUYANA WAS SOME OTHER COUNTRY, THESE CROOKS WITHIN THE PPP/C WOULD HAVE BEEN LINED UP IN FRONT OF A FIRING SQUAD AND GOTTEN RID OF BECAUSE OF  THEIR RAMPANT CORRUPTIONS

Anti-money laundering Bills in

limboâ€ĶWestern diplomats fail to

budge APNU

October 30, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

By Leonard Gildarie
Western diplomats yesterday met with the main Parliamentary Opposition as worry continues over an ongoing stalemate regarding critical anti-money laundering legislation.

APNU leaders [right) and top diplomats meeting yesterday.

APNU leaders (right) and top diplomats meeting yesterday.

It is unlikely that a November deadline can be met, with the faction making it clear that it will not support the legislation when it comes before the National Assembly next week.
Failure to pass the legislation could see international bodies, tasked with guiding countries into introducing measures to reduce dirty monies being transferred through the financial system, recommending almost certain sanctions.
Already the private sector, banks and insurance companies have warned of severe implications for money transfers, payments for goods and delays in business if Guyana is blacklisted by trading partners for being non-compliant.
There have been reports from businesses that bank transfers have been held up by overseas banks as questions arose over the transactions.
The issue has sharply divided the Government and Opposition.
Government had tabled the legislative changes at the last Parliamentary session, but the Opposition, despite protests over the deadline by the Government, sent it to a special select committee to be fine-tuned. The problem was that the committee’s work suffered a number of delays.
An exasperated Government, in the absence of the Opposition members, completed work of the special committee last week and announced that the legislation was going to be sent back to the National Assembly, in a race against time to meet the November deadline.
However, the Opposition, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance For Change (AFC), which effectively control the House by a one-seat majority, have both signaled intentions not to lend outright support.
Yesterday, senior Parliamentarian for APNU, Joseph Harmon, who was among the delegation that met the diplomats, made it clear that nothing has changed.
“We have said it before. We are unhappy with the legislation in its current format. We cannot support it.”
APNU will more likely recommend that the legislation be sent back to a special select committee to be fine-tuned.
The AFC, on the other hand, has tied any support of the legislation to the appointment of members of the long-awaited Public Procurement Commission. The Opposition has been clamouring for the commission to be operationalised soonest to address concerns of Government contracts. There have been accusations that contracts, to the tune of millions, are being manipulated, with the aggrieved parties not having timely recourse.
According to APNU,the meeting yesterday with its leadership involved ambassadors and high commissioners from the United States of America, Great Britain, Canada and the European Union. The meeting was held at the Office of the Leader of the Opposition, Hadfield Street.
“The main concern of the diplomats was the status of the Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Bill. APNU used the opportunity to restate its concerns about the short comings of the current legislation and the fact that the work of the Select Committee was brought to an abrupt end without the benefit of significant input from the Partnership and other interested parties.”
APNU, a coalition of 10 parties that contested the 2011 General and Regional Elections, said in a statement that it assured the western diplomats that the partnership is desirous of legislation that is not flawed; that restructures and strengthens the capacity of the Financial Intelligence Unit and addresses all of the deficits of the current one.
Present at the meeting were US Ambassador D. Brent Hardt; British High Commissioner, Andrew Ayre; Canadian High Commissioner, Dr. Nicole Giles and European Union Representative, Derek Lambe. APNU was represented by Leader of the Opposition, Brigadier (Ret’d) David Granger; Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine; Basil Williams; Carl Greenidge, Joseph Harmon, and Ronald Bulkan.
The current Parliament has been the administration’s toughest in its 21-year hold on power.
Several Bills, including two critical ones for the Amaila Falls hydro project, have been rejected by the Opposition. There have also been two years of cuts to the National Budget.
Several projects including the airport expansion remain stalled.

THE PPP/C BALLS IS IN APNU

HANDS AND EVERY TIME THE

CORRUPTED PPP/C OPEN THEIR

KEERAH APNU APPLIES SOME

PRESSURE

THE PPP/C WILL NOW HAVE TO GO

DOWN ON BENDED KNEES AND BEG

AND EVEN SHED TEARS

Anti-money laundering Bills in

limboâ€ĶWestern diplomats fail to

budge APNU

comments:

It seems to me that the Diplomatic Corp. is always trying to advise the opposition to fall on their swords whenever there is a stalemate on a governmental decision, I have yet to see them confront the PPPC government when they screw up, like everytime and everyday.
Why haven't the Dipolmatic Corp. see fit to tell the PPPC government about the human rights violations that they commit daily, about the FILTH that surrounds them in Georgetown, the rampant "CRIME WAVE" that affects the daily lives of the guyanese people, simply because these things don't affect them.
They are only concerned with the amendment to the Anti Money Laundering bill simply because it will affect their respective countrymen's investments in Guyana, this meeting is not about the guyanese people this is about foreign investors and the shady deals that they have with the guyana government.
I commend the opposition on their stance against the Diplomatic Corp, we are tired of taking orders from the White People.

Only fresh elections will break current

political impasse – former Speaker

The only way to break the current political stalemate in Guyana is through Constitutional reform and new elections.
This is the view held by Former Speaker of the National Assembly, Ralph Ramkarran, who in his most recent writings for his blog conversationtree.gy, said that instead of seeking the kind of unity that would have ensured political stability and development after the 2011 elections, the PPP/C opted for a minority government.

Former Speaker of the National Assembly, Ralph Ramkarran

According to Ramkarran, there is nothing wrong in principal with such a decision, once the Opposition permits such a situation on the basis of some form of agreement about major policy directions.
“This did not happen and the Opposition is allowing the government to hold office on sufferance, not on the basis of agreed policiesâ€ĶThe result is that there is political gridlock and a stalemate on legislation and developmental projects, with potential investors being warned.”
This situation, Ramkarran predicts, will continue until the next elections, due in 2016, and is unfair to the Guyanese people and is not what they voted for.
According to Ramkarran, during the past week there were two news items of political interest.
“One is that, contrary to popular belief and an undertaking from the President, no budget discussions are taking placeâ€ĶThe other is that the Opposition is unlikely to support the anti-money laundering legislation in its present form unless the Public Procurement Commission is established.”
Ramkarran said that he believes that, “these developments are surely connected.”
According to Ramkarran, for compromise to be achieved on anything, discussions must take place.
He said that in its absence, “Guyana can expect no developments whatsoever in or out of Parliament, except in those areas of the economy which do not depend on agreement between these forcesâ€ĶWe are seeing it in rice, mining and construction.”
According to Ramkarran, the failure of the Amaila Hydroelectric Project, the Opposition’s warning to potential investors in the Marriott, the possibility of the Airport Expansion Project and the Specialty Hospital being derailed, “and now the anti-money laundering legislation being held up, which will negatively impact on Government, Opposition and the entire country, indicate that our political impasse is growing to intolerable proportions.”

This is what happens when you have incompetent cronies with no brains is such responsible positions.

Minister to be blamed if Guyana loses US$20M from Norway

– APNU MP  

The government this past week admitted that it could lose an estimated US$20M from its forest-saving deal with Norway and according to A Partnership for National Unity’s Joseph Harmon, Minister of Natural Resources, Robert Persaud is to be blamed. The possible loss of the funds comes as a result of increased deforestation in Guyana.

Minister of Natural Resources and Environment, Robert Persaud

In laying the blame at the feet of Minister Persaud, Harmon said that it is his Ministry that is responsible for the issuance of the various licences to log and mine in Guyana’s vast forest. According to Harmon, it is Persaud’s responsibility to ensure that lawful mining and logging activities are kept within sustainable and agreed criteria. He said too that when it comes to illegal mining or logging, it is also Persaud’s responsibility to ensure that the laws are enforced and measures put in place in order to curb it, “so, yes, it is his fault.” Under the five-year forest-saving deal with Norway, Guyana needed to monitor the amount of the forest cut down, and to keep it at a level agreed to by the two countries. Once Guyana kept its end of the deal, it would bank US$250 million, but now a chunk of that could be lost. The reason is that under the agreement with Norway, the number of trees being chopped down, or what is called deforestation, was set at 0.07 per cent, but a monitoring and evaluation exercise found that last year, the level of deforestation was 0.079 per cent, more than allowed under the agreement between the two countries. When that percentage is converted into actual forest loss, it means that more than 36,000 acres of forests were cut down in 2012 and that was about 9,000 acres more than that cut down the year before. In announcing the possible loss of money from Norway, Persaud said, “If what we have is accurateâ€Ķsomewhere in the range of about US$20M or thereabouts could be lost.” The Minister said that a University contracted by the Guyana Forestry Commission, plus an independent team from Norway has to verify the report and the increased level of deforestation has to be confirmed before it could be said with certainty that the Norwegian funds could be lost. Jagdesh Singh, Deputy Commissioner of the Guyana Forestry Commission, said that those two verification processes could be completed by the end of this month. The new deforestation figures are contained in Guyana’s third national report on deforestation rates under the Monitoring, Reporting and Verification (MRV) system – a mechanism under REDD+, the UN programme for saving the world’s rainforest.

APNU’s Joseph Harmon

ANOTHER GIVE AWAY BY THE CORRUPTABLE PPP/C: I WONDER WHO TOOK THE BRIBE THIS TIME?

Guyana gears to grant Chinese

multiple fishing licences

October 31, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

â€Ķreiterates calls for meeting with Agriculture Minister
The government is prepared to allow multiple deep sea fishing and trawler licences to Chinese state companies, but the initiative isn’t sitting well with the local fishing industry; especially when they have been asked in recent months to reduce the number of their fishing vessels.
The excuse given is that the government is seeking to conserve depleting fishing grounds. The foreign nationals, according to the government, may be getting permission to fish species which locals are not catching.
It was announced recently that the government was considering at least 40 fishing licences for the Chinese nationals. In an attempt to secure their trade and territory, the Guyana Association of Trawler Owners and Seafood Processors (GATOSP) President, Leslie Ramalho, dispatched a letter for an audience with the Agriculture Minister.
Ramalho had related having knowledge of the potential licenses and thus requested from the Agriculture Ministry a full run down on the stipulations of the licenses and the areas that it covered. While the meeting with the fishing stakeholders was never held, Agriculture Minister Dr. Leslie Ramsammy denied the issuance of the license and contended that the cause of the “unnecessary panic” was a “false alarm”.
However, in light of recent developments which allege that a letter of intent has been signed off by the Agriculture Minister, the Fishing Association has reiterated calls for the Fisheries Minister to meet with members of the fishing fraternity.
Ramalho told Kaieteur News that, “the Association would be disappointed if there has or will be any signing off of the letter of intent, especially when the fishing community has not been engaged.”  He said they are also prepared to oppose the initiative.
Minister Ramsammy told media persons yesterday that the government plans to grant more than 40 fishing permits to Chinese companies, but the licenses will restrict Chinese boats to species not being fished by local operators. “No announcement soon and no license given as yet. We are just studying species and will not give any license for species presently being fished,” Dr. Ramsammy said.
The Authorities had also denied plans to allow Chinese vessels to operate in waters either in the 12-mile Guyana territorial limit or in the 200-mile Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ). Dr. Ramsammy however confirmed that talks are ongoing about plans to allow the Chinese vessels to work in local waters despite demanding that the local fleet be maximized at about 100 vessels to avoid over fishing.
GATOSP when questioned said that they, too, “understand that they want to harvest red snapper, trout and other species that we fish for now.” The President is adamant that, “fishing for other species cannot be monitored and enforced out there in the sea.”
The rising contention comes at a time when tensions are rising over the granting of huge contracts to Chinese State-owned companies, which in some cases allow for only Chinese employment. These contracts include that construction of a 197-room Marriott Hotel which sees the employment of only Chinese nationals and the $150M airport runway expansion project at the country’s international airport.
The fishing industry is however, concerned that their businesses could be significantly affected by the potential competition. Stakeholders pointed out with example, that the custom of Chinese vessels in foreign territories is to set up fully loaded operations which entails fishing, cleaning and processing right on the sea top, before export.
They are convinced that such mega set ups spell worries for local operators and especially the successful continuance of locals in the fishing industry.

ANOTHER GIVE AWAY BY THE CORRUPTABLE PPP/C: I WONDER WHO TOOK THE BRIBE THIS TIME?

October 31, 2013

COMMENTS:

That is pawning Guyana... there is zero economic benefit to this nation from this act by the PPP.
The price for fish will inevitably rise in the local market, sea-bob and prawns shortage will affect local exporters.
Sea Foods Inc. sold out their 100 trawlers because of the scarcity of produce (sea-bob and Prawns) on the sea-bed because of overfishing - So why give our national sea-bed to China? Has to be for personal gain nothing else!

When will Guyanese realize that the ppp Do Not Represent Guyanese only their own personal bank accounts, When?

When Guyanese wake up one day they will see " PAYE tax to be remitted to China."

October 31, 2013

COMMENTS:2

Is this what the PPP/C supporters wanted when they voted en mass to have the PPP govern this country? You have all been stabbed in the back. The PPP is now selling out the entire country to the Chinese. You are nothing but FODDER to feed their insatiable greed. Leslie has done it again. How much has he and others collected to fill their pockets from this deal? The people who continuously vote for the PPP TRULY HATE THEIR COUNTRY AND THEIR FUTURE GENERATIONS. These people are the true enemies of Guyana.

THEY ARE WORSE THAN ENEMIES.......THEY ARE THE SCROUGE OF GUYANA