Topics

Sorted by last update

Guyana Community Discussion ForumsPolitical Discussions
Oil money is flooding into Guyana. Who will benefit?
Demerara_Guy Oil money helping to ease impact of inflation, says government By OilNOW --- October 15, 2022 --- 0 --- Source --- OilNOW --- https://oilnow.gy/featured/oil...ion-says-government/ The Stabroek Market area downtown, Georgetown, Guyana. Following the passage of the Natural Resource Fund (NRF) legislation , the Guyana government has been able to authorise a US$607.6 million transfer to support the 2022 budget. The administration has said that the withdrawal would be used to invest heavily in... [ more ]
Mitwah Wonder if Vindhya will turn the spot lights on the Oligarchs that Dr. Ramaya exposed? [ more ]
Mitwah Do you think the recent action by the PPP turning the lights on the child beggars as if they are cockroaches will make them scurry off and hide? What do you think of the three schmucks in the below picture? Street Light Project launched to get child beggars off country’s roads Human Services Minister Vindhya Persaud and UNICEF representative, Irfan Akhtar (in fore ground) and an officer from CPA at the launch of the Street Light Project. (Ministry of Human Services and Social Security photo)... [ more ]
See all 21 replies...

Guyana Community Discussion ForumsSocial Club
What’s cooking?
Lynn Ps home-made pizza dough ..Wills hare reci[e if anyone needs [ more ]
Lynn Off to work now..have agreat evening ps 1 round pizza is vegetarian …for my co-workers..(some r vegetarian..others eat halal..others dont eat turkey) N Cut pieces for hubby n my younger daughter! Ie With turkey [ more ]
See all 2 replies...

Guyana Community Discussion ForumsReligion
Not a Sermon only a Thought
Keith Tuning In to God’s Will If you want to be sure you are hearing from God, spend time in His Word daily. Psalm 119:17-24 If you follow Jesus, you have likely heard the phrase β€œGod’s will.” It’s often mentioned in the context of His having a will for each believerβ€”or of our doing His will, walking in His will, and the like. If we love the Lord, then certainly we want to obey Him ( John 14:15 ). But let’s take a look at some of the reasons we might miss His plan for our life. Handling God’s Word... [ more ]
Keith Choosing Love God may at times ask you to lay down your rights in order to show someone His love. Matthew 5:38-48 There’s a lot about the kingdom of heaven that doesn’t make sense to our earthly way of thinking. For example, today’s passage says, β€œWhoever slaps you on your right cheek, turn the other toward him also” (v. 39). Who wants to do that? And while we learned yesterday that God loves us, we also saw there’s nothing we can do to earn or deserve His love. In fact, we’re now going to... [ more ]
Lynn ❀️
See all 2,592 replies...

Silence not making a decision with TIME

Happy Victoria Day

Guyana Community Discussion ForumsSports
FIFA WORLD CUP LOGO

Guyana Community Discussion ForumsSports
England's 15-man test team to play against Ireland

Guyana Community Discussion ForumsBollywood Talk
Mohd Rafi Evergreen top 50
Lynn As a child n young lady even to my young adult age, Mukesh n Asha B were my fave singers my sis loved Lata n Rafi..she used to say Rafi sounded like he was laughing as he sang!! (there was a local singer. Back then..young guy named Rocky Persaud, he sang Rafi’s songs well!! My sis liked his singing) anyway leaving GY, i lived in St Maarten for a little over a yr n met a Gy lady who was married to a Sindhi guy n she embraced the Indian culture 100% ..she even conversed in Hindi. We became... [ more ]
Lynn Never heard abt RK childhood !! he has been the most fave starbai for me..to this day! I have other faves but itis mostly because of the romance n family drama movies he acted in.. i didnt like the angry revengeful AB kinda of movies, so. I guess that is why I was crazy abt AB even though he is a good actor.. yeah man..sad story of RK..Anju Mahendru was his lady love.. superstar for sure..nowim hearing the hosts of rality shows calling every tom dick n harry superstar!! RK had back to back... [ more ]
Lynn I love Mahendra K songs..my most fave r β€œNamo chhupa ke jiyo n β€˜tum agar saath dene ka’ n of course Talat Mahmood is a legend n Manna Dey as well btw Suman Kalyanpur was a good singer too..it was very hard back then to differentiate between her n Lata (of course I can tell now) well ifu want to go further back..let me mention NOOR JAHAN n SHAMSHAD BEGUM i had audio cassette with all the songs from ANMOL GHADI … [ more ]
See all 13 replies...

Wedding anniversary/ day
Lynn Awwhhh..so sorry to hear? dem ole people believed in dem β€˜signs’..my Ma was very superstitious n used to to getmad with me whn i paid no attention or dismissed her interpretations. My dad used to teach us differently..he said β€˜belief is cure’!! Hahaha so being the smart laec..i used to say, i believe all dat is stupidness..’belief is cure’ for sure!! Well my Ma used to ask me think me education mek me more smart than her!! the sis before me used to wash bhartan n wet up she front part of her... [ more ]
Ramakant-P Were they happy? The marriage must have taken place in the rainy season, just like mine. [ more ]
Irfon Ali A friend had an arranged marriage and went home from NY for the wedding in 1981. On the wedding day, some friends went to bring the musicians to the girl's home, but terrible rain caused an accident, and there was no music at the wedding. The girl told her mom that the heavy rain and accident were bad signs, but her mom shut her up and sent her under the maro to marry the guy. I guess the girl had feelings of impending doom. The couple have a wonderful son, and that's the only good thing... [ more ]
See all 30 replies...

DUOLINGO
Ramakant-P You're welcome. [ more ]
Lynn Thank you … [ more ]
Ramakant-P Good for you. Having fun is really healthy. [ more ]
See all 3 replies...

India’s best dancer 2023

Movies ..
Lynn Hehehe..lang time ah didnt here bout β€˜dry-dry’!! Sat night we looked at Mrs Chattergie vs Norway with Rani Mukherjie. Well I must say she is impressive..i cried several times as her acting was so REAL! based on true story! I would nominate her for best actress for this role! [ more ]
cain Eh eh just so dry dry you stop? Gi' we more nuh, an leh we know how it end. [ more ]
Lynn Plot Captain Vikrant Khanna is an accomplished pilot, who is preparing for a flight from Dubai to Cochin . He drinks alcohol and parties the night before the flight, and feels tired on boarding it, where his co-pilot is Tanya Albuquerque. Later, a cyclone in Cochin leads to the flight being diverted to Trivandrum on Khanna's suggestion, despite objection from Albuquerque. Albuquerque says that Bengaluru has to be the second option, not Trivandrum, as the latter is near Cochin and has a high... [ more ]
See all 3 replies...

Happy Mother’s day

β€˜Play-tings’ aka TOYS back in our days
Lynn Maybe the tattoo wrappers was from chico chewing gums?? My bros made those parachutes.. we made paper boats n put them in the trench to float away .. [ more ]
cain I do recall the numbered caps..vaguely the tattoos. We made parachutes out of scraps of cloth or plastic for our army figures and tossed them in the air or dropped them from a height. I was just telling someone about the red rat sweeties hanging from their tails on a line running across the shop. [ more ]
Lynn Lol…nothing free these days!! Were in in Gy whn the inside of the sweet drink caps used to have numbers.. i dont quite rem clearly but i. Rem we used to collect the corks ..many times were duplicates but then u could have exchanged with other to get numbers u didnthave alos there used to be a lil iron-on stikcer in those laundry detergent(soap powder) boxes or was it in β€˜sweetie’ wrapper?? Or was it a wash-off kind of tattoo? I have this vage blurred image of that little piece of paper [ more ]
See all 12 replies...

Fighting at the Backdam
cain I deh here watching you [ more ]
Ramakant-P Criticism was labeled at Backdam and now I see that swamp is abandoned. It looks like I have to comeback and shake up the tree. Eh! [ more ]
Former Member 🀣
See all 33 replies...

Guyana Community Discussion ForumsReligion
How to become a Hindu
Ramakant-P Thanks! Mitwah. [ more ]
Mitwah Namaste Ramaji. This is a very wide subject. Please check your PM. Meanwhile you may research, Dharma, Kama, Artha and Moksha . You have already scratched the surface on some. [ more ]
Ramakant-P Mitwah, What is your take on this? I appreciate if you can let me know. I may have left out somethings. [ more ]
See all 3 replies...

Indian Indentureship and its causes
Ramakant-P These were the people we called wise old great-grandparents. [ more ]
Ramakant-P They were better off as indentured servants than begging and stealing in the streets of Calcutta. They were all homeless and naked. They slept at the railway stations and used the bushes to ease their bowels. [ more ]
See all 2 replies...

Charrandass Persaud axed by Pres. Ali over obscene outburst in India
Ramakant-P Irfon Ali https://demerarawaves.com/2022...-on-gender-equality/ Charrandass Persaud publicly apologises to India, Guyana for abusing animal rights activist; justifies action based on gender equality What a slimeball! The Indians were probably wondering how this thug got a diplomatic job to their country. Dr. Odeen Ishmael must be turning over in his grave at these imbeciles getting ambassador jobs; Jagdeo and his thug party should study the man and emulate him. emulate? or eliminate? [ more ]
Mitwah So what is Charandas up to deeze days? [ more ]
Irfon Ali https://demerarawaves.com/2022...-on-gender-equality/ Charrandass Persaud publicly apologises to India, Guyana for abusing animal rights activist; justifies action based on gender equality What a slimeball! The Indians were probably wondering how this thug got a diplomatic job to their country. Dr. Odeen Ishmael must be turning over in his grave at these imbeciles getting ambassador jobs; Jagdeo and his thug party should study the man and emulate him. [ more ]
See all 20 replies...

Hola!! Hello! Happy Sunday
Lynn Safe trip….pity im far away from frenno..she seh she bzbzbz with gran pickney.. plus she preparing yard for summer garden (pulling weeds) careful with d big truck!! [ more ]
cain Back in the ole days I would come on the forum and find a few night owls every night posting. Earlier hours when you made a post, a reply would hit ten secs later. I'm heading down to T.O by bus and a couple days later, bring up a big ass moving truck. I haven't driven a large truck in years but should be a slice. If I can find some time, I would slide by your freno an bug she lil bit. [ more ]
See all 2 replies...

Jagdeo and oil companies
Ramakant-P The editor of Kaieteur News is a joke. He didn't say what is Guyana's take on all this. He is grasping at straws. Approval of a deal or contract is no big deal. The Guyanese people are better off now than they were in 2020. [ more ]
See 1 reply...

Stewartville South, a developing little village
Mitwah Best wishes to Savitri Sooklall. [ more ]
See 1 reply...

Revised – Pandit Lakshman Prasad – Indentured in 1898
Mitwah I happen to know a Pandit who takes his Dakshna from performing poojas and use it to run the Mandir he created in his father's name in Brampton, ON. For Devotees who live in apartments and do not have the accommodation for their religious functions can come there and use the facilities. They are expected to make a donation and clean up afterwards and take away their garbage. [ more ]
See 1 reply...

Chopped No. 55 woman says still being threatened by attacker
Mitwah Is the Police force comatose? Why is President ignoring the death cries of these battered and terrorized women? He should fire the Minister(s) responsible to oversee the police. Where is the First Lady ? Too busy cutting ribbons and posing for pictures. What Shithole of a country. [ more ]
See 1 reply...

Guyana Community Discussion ForumsHistory Of Guyana
The Coolie His Rights , Wrongs - Jenkins 1871
Mitwah But you are a turncoat. [ more ]
Ali Khan Azad The coolie was a coolie then and he still is a coolie today in the minds of several anti koolies. [ more ]
Django The book is good read ,the oldest book detailing Indian Immigrants to British Guiana . There is an interesting part how they make up stories giving the magistrates difficulty to believe. Another part is about death from ruptured spleen caused by shock. [ more ]
See all 4 replies...

Phone of Permanent Secretary of Guyana’s Home Affairs Ministry seized by US immigration officials