Sorted by last update
on Thursday night from cardiac arrest at 62 and didn't live to see another Father's Day. we're busy planning big funeral for next Monday. may his soul find peace
Guyana oil projects moving 2-3 times faster than any other in the world â Hess CEO
A module being lifted onto the hull of a Guyana-bound FPSO.
Guyanaâs offshore Stabroek Block developments have been outstanding performers when it comes to pace and efficiency. Hess Corporationâs Chief Executive Officer (CEO), John Hess said the projects come on two to three times faster than any other global offshore development.
During his participation on Thursday at Bernsteinâs 38th Annual Strategic Decisions Conference in New York, Hess reminded that the Stabroek Block has been an apt representation of industry-leading capabilities backed by the efforts of its operator, ExxonMobil with 45% working interest, Hess with 30% and Chinaâs National Offshore Oil Corporation with 25% percent.
Hess was pleased to inform attendees that in three years, the partners were able, from the time of investment decision, to add the Liza Unity floating production, storage and offloading (FPSO) vessel to the Stabroek Block that can add 220,000 to 250,000 barrels of oil per day in production capacity, while adding âour tie backs would be about 18 months.â
The CEO said, âIn Guyana, we are getting these big FPSOs and as we define more oil that is very low cost, high margin and low carbon footprint oil which makes it needed 20 years from now and gives us an advantage over other companies, it takes about three years from when you make the investment.â
Hess commits US$2.3 billion to Yellowtail development | OilNOW
âWe just got sanctioned on April 1, 2022, on Yellowtail which is our fourth development, and it will be 250,000 barrels a day ship with opportunity for upside and that oil will be on in 2025. So, for Guyana it is three years but for the Gulf of Mexico it is about five years,â he said.
Speaking to the desire and approach to have such record-breaking operations, Hess said it involves spending enough time doing the exploration and appraisal work to define for example, a 600-million-barrel resource to a billion-barrel resource to underpin a ship. The CEO said the partners are queued up now for the fifth ship which will hopefully get sanctioned by the end of this year and the sixth by the end of next year.
Exxonâs 5th project could produce up to 275,000 bpd, with first oil as early as 2026 | OilNOW
Hess said, âWhen we were fortunate enough to have our first discovery in 2015, I remember talking to Rex Tillerson [Exxonâs former CEO] about this and he said, âJohn we want to go as fast as we can with this, but we donât want any leakage.â And what was he saying? We must be capital efficient and operating expense efficient. Doing one ship a year is a huge task for project management, for execution, for yards to handle it and Exxon is probably the best in the business at doing this.â
Hess said ExxonMobilâs philosophy of âdesign one and build many,â which will result in one FPSO coming on board every year is industry-leading. He said too that his company has a page in its investor pack which actually shows how its development of oil production in Guyana is âtwo to three times faster than any other global offshore development.â
FPSO contracts surge; Guyana contributing to global total this year â Rystad Energy
The CEO concluded, âSo we are going fast but we are bringing value forward.â
Hess and its co-venture partners currently have four sanctioned developments in the Stabroek Block.
The Liza Phase 1 development, which began production in December 2019 utilizing the Liza Destiny FPSO with a production capacity of approximately 120,000 gross barrels of oil per day, recently completed production optimisation work that expanded its production capacity to 140,000 gross barrels of oil per day.
The Liza Phase 2 development, utilising the Liza Unity FPSO, began production in February 2022 and is expected to reach its production capacity of approximately 220,000 gross barrels of oil per day by the third quarter.
The third development at Payara is ahead of schedule and is now expected to come online in late 2023 utilising the Prosperity FPSO with a production capacity of approximately 220,000 gross barrels of oil per day.
The fourth development, Yellowtail, is expected to come online in 2025, utilising the ONE GUYANA FPSO with a production capacity of approximately 250,000 gross barrels of oil per day.
SBM Offshore confirms contract awards for âOne Guyanaâ Yellowtail FPSO
At least six FPSOs with a total production capacity of more than 1 million gross barrels of oil per day are expected to be online on the Stabroek Block by 2027, with the potential for up to 10 FPSOs to develop gross discovered recoverable resources.
Dutch floater specialist, SBM Offshore, has won contracts to build and operate the FPSOs for all the projects approved so far at the Stabroek Block.
If you were asked to use one word to describe the Christian life, which one would you choose? Many of us would pick faith because believing in Jesus is the foundation of Christianity. But did you know that the believerâs life should also be characterized by good works? While we arenât saved by anything good weâve done, genuine salvation always results in a changed life, complete with new thoughts, attitudes, and behaviors. Every Christian should be a living, walking example of good deeds.
When Paul wrote to the Thessalonians, he commended them for their âwork of faith and labor of love and steadfastness of hope in our Lord Jesus Christâ (1 Thess. 1:3). Everything we do should be motivated by faith, hope, and love, which are rooted in our relationship with Christ.
So now the question is, What qualifies as good work in the Christian life? Scripture is filled with examples: caring for others, meeting needs, giving our time and treasure, and engaging in activities like worship, prayer, and Bible reading. These are the activities that should characterize us as Godâs children and Christâs representatives in this world.
As we consider the topic of good works, we must remember four important truths. Otherwise we may assume that we are the ones who define whatâs good, what needs to be done, and how it should be accomplished.
First of all, God determines what He wants each of us to do. According to Ephesians 2:10, âWe are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them.â Since we belong to Christ, who purchased us with His blood, He has full authority over our life. There are specific tasks we are appointed to accomplish as we walk according to His will. If we think believing in Christ means attending church on Sundays but living as we please all week long, weâre wasting our life. Christians are the people through whom the Holy Spirit is carrying out the work of Christ here on earth. He redeemed us from sin and purified us for Himself so we could be people zealous for good deeds (Titus 2:14).
Second, God equips us for whatever He calls us to do. He âis able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within usâ (Eph. 3:20). In every opportunity God gives and every act of service He calls us to perform, He has already provided whatever we need to accomplish the task before us.
Just consider the many resources the Lord uses to empower us for good works. His indwelling Spirit gives us direction and strength to obey, as well as spiritual gifts that enable us to serve Him. He uses the Scripture to teach, reprove, correct, and train us in righteousness so weâll be adequately equipped for every good work (2 Tim. 3:16-17). And He uses our brothers and sisters in Christ to motivate us toward love and good deeds (Heb. 10:24). Even our wealth becomes a tool in His hands when we use it as He desiresââto do good, to be rich in good works, to be generous and ready to shareâ (1 Tim. 6:18).
Third, our good works are to glorify God, and not ourselves. In the Sermon on the Mount, Jesus called His followers âthe light of the worldâ and said they were to let their light shine so others would see their good works and glorify the Father (Matt. 5:14-16). But just one chapter later, He warned them: âBeware of practicing your righteousness before men to be noticed by themâ (6:1).
The difference is motivation. Although we should never seek the approval and praise of other people for what we do, our life should stand out and be characterized by good deeds in the midst of a dark, self-centered world. If commendations come our way, we need to remember that apart from Christ, we are nothing. Then we can simply pass the praise on to Him in a silent prayer of recognition and gratitude.
Fourth, God will one day judge our good works. What we do in this life will have a tremendous impact on our eternity. As believers, we will be called before the judgment seat of Christ to account for our deeds (2 Cor. 5:10). Some of our works will be worthless and burned up like wood, hay, and straw in the judgment. But we will be rewarded for the good works done in obedience to God, according to His power, and for His glory (1 Cor. 3:10-15).
Although we donât know exactly what these rewards will be, one thing is certain: They will signify a life of good deeds that glorified and pleased God. Nothing could be more valuable than receiving praise from our beloved Savior. So letâs each spend our life living for Him.
When it comes to good works, remember that these are not just religious activities. Christ takes into account whatever we do that flows from obedience to Himâat home, work, school, church, and beyond. Also, we must resist the temptation to compare our works with the achievements of others. Weâre responsible only for the tasks God has prepared specifically for us.
June 11, 2022
Chair of CARICOM, Prime Minister of Belize John BriceÃąo (CARICOM photo)
CARICOM Chairman, Belizean PM John BriceÃąo on Thursday hammered the United States over its exclusion of Cuba, Nicaragua and Venezuela from the Summit of the Americas and called the long-running American embargo against Havana âan affront to humanityâ.
Speaking at the plenary session of the 9th Summit of the Americas, BriceÃąo also appealed for urgent assistance to the Caribbean region on debt relief, climate change and access to concessionary funding.
The 9th Summit was hosted by the US in Los Angeles, California under the theme âBuilding a Sustainable, Resilient, and Equitable Futureâ but was marred by the exclusion of the three countries which led to several heads not attending including Mexicoâs President Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador. CARICOM member, St Vincent and the Grenadines also skipped the meeting over the exclusions. The Summit started on Monday and concluded yesterday.
In the presence of US President Joe Biden and Vice President Kamala Harris, BriceÃąo did not mince his words in expressing his and CARICOMâs displeasure over the exclusion, particularly of Cuba and Venezuela. The USA has premised its decision to exclude the countries, on concerns over human rights violations and the absence of democracy.
BriceÃąo said that the power of the Summit of the Americas is the space it provides for all the countries of the Americas to dialogue and agree on joint actions.
âThe Summit belongs to all of the Americas. It is therefore inexcusable that all countries of the Americas are not here, and the power of the Summit is diminished by their absence. It is incomprehensible that we would isolate countries of the Americas which have provided strong leadership and contributed to the hemisphere on the critical issues of our time,â the CARICOM Chair said.
Speaking on the contribution of the excluded countries to the region, BriceÃąo said that Cuba has provided consistent, unmatched cooperation in health to almost two-thirds of the countries in this hemisphere including Belize.
âThe illegal blockade against Cuba is an affront to humanity. It continues to cause untold suffering. It is inconsistent with our values. In fact, it is un-American. The time has come, Mr President, to lift the blockade and to build bonds of friendship with the people of Cuba. Similarly, Venezuela has done so much toward energy security for the Caribbean region through its innovative financing programmes. Venezuelaâs absence is unforgivable,â BriceÃąo said directly addressing Biden.
He added that at one of the most critical junctures for the hemisphere, the Americas stand divided and that alone should have been the premise for making the Summit inclusive. He further told Biden and Harris that it is geography and not politics that define the Americas.
The CARICOM Chairman said that the future of the Western Hemisphere is a responsibility of all the countries of the hemisphere noting that irrespective of their size, GDP or system of governance, they all have a shared interest in a sustainable, resilient and equitable future.
He related that the Belizean people, like people across Latin America and the Caribbean, are weathering successive and simultaneous crises. He said that Caribbean economies are in a precarious place because of their inherent vulnerabilities to external shocks, including exposure to climate change and devastating storms. That, he said, is further compounded by the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic and the ongoing war in Ukraine.
âNotwithstanding the 6% recovery in global growth in 2021, CARICOM member states, except for Guyana, recorded an average growth rate of 1%. A few member states experienced even further GDP losses ranging from -1% to -6.3%. Member states were expected to record a stronger growth performance in 2022 but the effects of the war, rising inflation, rising oil costs and further supply chain disruptions have led the IMF [International Monetary Fund] to downgrade the growth projection for the region. We cannot continue on this path.
âThis recession was not of our making. We have come to Los Angeles to agree on specific deliverables on climate change, debt relief, access to concessionary financing, and energy and food security. With firm commitments we can move forward,â the CARICOM Chair said.
He explained that for the issues facing the region to be adequately addressed then action must include equitable access to vaccines and treatment for COVID-19 to end the acute phase of the pandemic and a strengthened and sustainably financed global health architecture. He called for firm plans from developed countries for emissions reduction targets in line with the 1.5 degrees centigrade Paris temperature goal, a plan to scale up climate finance beyond the floor of the US$100 billion annually through to 2025, and doubling of adaptation finance in keeping with the Paris agreement.
âAction must include finalization and use of a multidimensional vulnerability index so that countries like ours can affordably finance our recovery and build resiliently. Action must include debt relief. Action must include a coordinated, multilateral response to the deepening food and energy crises including financing and technology transfer to support the acceleration to renewable energy.
âAction must include finding peace in Ukraine. Today Belize affirms the integral role of democratic governance. Let there be no doubt about our unshakeable commitment thereto. The confluence of crises of our times requires all the countries of the hemisphere to work together in a spirit of solidarity and cooperation,â he said.
Please use this thread to list crime in Guyana since the new administration took over.
TRANSLATIONS OF URDU POETRY:
1) AADMI AADMI KO KYA DEGAA:
POET: SUDARSHAN FAAKIR:
Aadamii aadamii ko kyaa degaa
What can one man gives to another?
Jo bhii degaa vahii Khudaa degaa
Whatever is given, it is given by God
Meraa qaatil hii meraa munsib hai
My judge is my murderer too
Kyaa mere haq mein faisalaa degaa
How can he give judgement in my favour
Zindagii ko qariib se dekho
If you look at this life closely
Isakaa cheharaa tumhein rulaa degaa
The face of this life will make you cry
Hamase puuchho dostii kaa silaa
Dont ask what I get for my friendship
Dushmanon kaa bhii dil hilaa degaa
As the enemies heart will be melted
Ishq kaa zahar pii liyaa "Faakir"
I can drink the poison of love "Faakir"
Ab masiihaa bhii kyaa davaa degaa
What medicine can a messiah now give?
Ok .. letâs do this!
deh deh deh.. or deh deh!
back to back
dress down
put on d light
skin yuh teeth
Yuh kill me dead dead
ah tru tru story da
belly wuk
last but not least âĶ,yuh tek yuh ra$$ n pass me
15 Infamous Celebrity MMS Scandal That Shocked Us!
Martini Shots, Bollywood, October 14, 2016, Authors: Arunita Tiwari (Editorial Team), http://www.desimartini.com/new...als/article38333.htm
Big names of the entertainment industry have to often face embarrassment when their names are tied to viral MMS videos which break the internet.
These mostly doctored videos are extremely shocking and made led celebs to even take legal aid to get them banned and save the name from defamation of any sort. Here are the most notorious MMS scandals that shook us!
June 4,2022
The incumbent Khemraj Ramjattan and David Patterson have both received nominations to be leader of the Alliance For Change (AFC) at the partyâs upcoming National Conference.
Ahead of the conference, which will be held next Saturday, the AFC yesterday announced that both men were the only nominees for the post of party leader. Each of them was nominated by eight groups.
Ramjattan has already said he would vie for the post if nominated, while Patterson, the partyâs current General Secretary, last week also told this newspaper that he was ready to contest for the post if nominated.
Ramjattan on Thursday evening told the Stabroek News that he was not afraid of the contest as the democracy of the party is what makes the AFC so great.
He admitted that some party members have told him that they felt that it was time for new leadership and he understood that âif that is what the people want then so be itâ.
Ramjattan has held the leadership on several occasions, rotating it with party co-founder Raphael Trotman. Trotman last week announced that he would not be accepting nominations as he does not plan to contest for any position at the conference. He said he believes the party needs new vigour and he also needs to focus on his health.
âIâm not planning on contesting for any positions. I attempted in 2019 not to run for any office, but was persuaded to stay on. This time my resolve is firmer to see my decision through. I believe the party needs refreshing and rejuvenating and even renewal, and having said so, I think I need to stand aside and act as a mentor. Additionally, I have my own medical recovery that I need to focus on,â he told this newspaper.
Those nominated for the post of party Chairperson are Ramjattan, Catherine Hughes, Sherod Duncan and Juretha Fernandes.
For Vice Chair, the nominees are Hughes, Duncan, Fernandes, Ricky Ramsaroop, Devin Sears, and Valerie Garrido-Lowe.
For position of General Secretary, Ramjattan is also nominated along with Duncan, Hughes, Fernandes, Ramsaroop, Neilson McKenzie and Michael Carrington.
The AFC said that in addition to the key Executive positions, some 55 members are vying to be the 12 elected members of the partyâs National Executive Committee (NEC).
The Conference will see 285 delegates representing the ten regions in Guyana, the USA, Canada, UK, the Caribbean, and the Women for Change (WFC) and the Youth For Change (YFC) in attendance and participating. Fifty observers are also due to attend.
Returning Officer for the elections will be former Minister of Agriculture Noel Holder
June 16, 2022
A 14-year-old girl died at the Port Mourant Hospital on Wednesday night days after she was reportedly raped by a hire car driver.
The child had consumed a poisonous substance shortly after claiming she was raped by Ameer Inshanally of Sand Reef, Albion, Berbice.
Inshanally, 30, was arrested on June 6 and appeared at the Reliance Magistrateâs Court on June 15 where he was charged with the rape of a child under the age of 16.
Inshanally appeared before Magistrate Rabindranauth Singh and was not required to plea to the indictable charge. He was remanded to prison and will return to court at Albion on July 13, 2022.
The victim had told police from her hospital bed that Inshanally had offered to take her to school and she agreed since she knew him as a hire car driver. She told police that while in the car, Inshanally drove past her school and took her down a dam in Albion on the Corentyne.
She disclosed that he then stopped the car and raped her in the back seat.
After committing the act, he dropped her off at the junction of her street.
The victim told police that after she got home, she spoke with her mother but was too scared to detail what had happened. She said she waited until her mother fell asleep to consume the substance.
June 12 ,2022
Tamesh Jagmohan
Prominent gold dealer and businessman Tamesh Jagmohan says that a letter dispatched to Minister of Home Affairs Robeson Benn asking that the authorities conduct an investigation of his business so that a âclean bill of healthâ could be issued had been done before.
The unorthodox move has raised eyebrows as Benn would have no mandate in initiating such a process and the authorities would be woefully ill-prepared to conduct such an examination of Jagmohanâs sprawling business interests, which lately include quarrying under the current administration.
Regulatory sources told this newspaper that âMr. Jagmohanâs request is unusualâ and âwriting to the police for an investigation to give a business public clearance is not required for compliance for gold or any other tradingâ.
Questions have been raised, in particular, about Jagmohanâs gold operations after the Royal Canadian Mint stopped taking his metal as questions were raised about the possibility that it was contaminated with smuggled Venezuelan ore.
In February of this year, Jagmohan wrote to Benn and copied the letter to the Guyana Police Force asking that an investigation be untaken of his business and on completion for him to be given a clean bill of health.
âDear Minister, as you are aware, I am a licenced gold dealer and exporter operating in this capacity for over two decades. I pride myself operating professionally during this time and having contributed significantly to Guyanaâs economy remitting billions in royalties and taxes to the consolidated fund annually. The Gold exporting business is a very competitive one and I have been singled out for systematic character assassination by unknown persons,â the letter to Benn states.
âBecause of the sensitive nature of my business which involved the movement of gold or money, I am fearful that these malicious attacks may have a detrimental effect on my business and the economy of Guyana. With this in mind, I would appreciate if the state and its external agencies and authorities could initiate a thorough examination of me and my business so that I could be issued with a âclean bill of healthâ. This will assist me greatly to officially dispel any malice directed towards me,â it continued.
When Acting Commissioner of Police Clifton Hicken was contacted on Friday, he told the Sunday Stabroek that police clearances are given by the Criminal Investigation Department of the GPF.
Hicken said that if Jagmohan had made his request to the Minister, then the Minister would be the best person to ask of the status. As from his end, Hicken said, âI donât know about thatâĶI am not investigating anything or anyone.â
Efforts to contact Benn were futile as several calls to his mobile number went unanswered.
Leaked
Jagmohan believes that the letter to Benn was leaked and said that it was not the first time he had written for similar clearance as it was a common practice over the years.
âThe letter is authentic but it was leakedâĶwe would do that to get a clean bill of health to clear me up,â he said.
âWe were specific in what we wanted. Every couple of years, we would write, in keeping with international compliance. We chose to do that to add to our profile,â he added.
There has been no public reportage of any such previous request to the authorities by Jagmohan.
He told the Sunday Stabroek that being successful in his business, âthere is a lot of hatersâ and some competitors who are jealous spew libelous and derogatory things about him and his establishment.
The police investigation and report, he said, would give the public transparent insight into his operations and let the business community and prospective businesses know that his operations are above Board.
The request to Benn and the police would appear even more inappropriate as Jagmohan and his brother donated vehicles to the police force last month â just weeks after he had applied for the clearance probe.
Jagmohan says the gifting of the vehicles should not be seen as coercing the law enforcers in any way since the recipients are police in Essequibo and the investigation and clearance would be directed from Georgetown.
âBeing a private sector member and my brother also, we thought it best to take advantage of the concessional access and help. We had attended a meeting where it was highlighted that there was a lot of crime in Essequibo and the police needed vehicles. We are from Essequibo, too, so we heeded the call to assist in the region,â he noted.
âIt was specific to the region to help in its crime fight. Region 2 police donât have anything to do with clearanceâĶ,â he added.
Last month, ten new vehicles were handed over to the police force by Jagmohan and his brother, Suresh Jagmohan.
Then, both the Minister of Home Affairs and acting Police Commissioner were present and had thanked the businessmen for their donation.
âWe have to respond to domestic violence, assaults, robberiesâĶ we have to respond to those issues with alacrityâĶwe should have no problem now that we have 10 or more new vehicles and I think the (Police) Commissioner is talking about bringing up a few more pickups to go in the rough areasâĶso we canât call up the police stations and hear that it does not have vehicles or the vehicle donât have gasâ, Benn had warned.
Both the government and the police force have been criticised in the past for accepting donations from the private sector which could carry the appearance of seeking favours.
Minerals Grievance Platform
Last year, Stabroek News reported that the Guyana Gold Board (GGB) had been investigating allegations made to the international Minerals Grievance Platform (MGP) that the local large-scale gold trader is connected to illegally sourced Venezuelan gold, a claim Jagmohanâs El Dorado Trading has vehemently denied.
Following the allegation, the Royal Canadian Mint (RCM) told the Gold Board that it had suspended the intake of El Dorado gold from the GGB until further notice.
El Dorado has rejected the allegations, which were filed with the MGP, saying that there is not âan iota or ounce of truth to the claimsâ and that the investigations will not only vindicate it, but show how easy it is for not only a companyâs name to be tarnished, but a countryâs entire sector put in fear of blacklisting because of âhaters or fear of competition.â
El Dorado Trading is a Guyana Gold Board client while the GGB is a customer of RCM. As such, complaints from the Mint have to be registered with the Gold Board here.
It has been noted that El Dorado Trading is the only local company which sells gold to the Gold Board that is then supplied to the Royal Canadian Mint.
Jagmoghan had told this newspaper that he was not worried and that anyone could file a grievance but that when such action is taken, it not only puts a business establishment under a negative spotlight but the country could be impacted.
He said he would hope that when the investigation is completed and his companyâs name is cleared, a lesson would be learned by the person or persons who filed the grievance about the implications it could have.
There has been no word on the outcome of this investigation.
Citing the sensitivity of the issue as well as a confidentiality clause that governs executive meetings, Bank of Guyana Governor and current Chairman of the Guyana Gold Board, Dr Gobind Ganga had in May of last year declined to comment on allegations made by former GGB Chairman GHK Lall that he [Ganga] had in 2019 said that there was evidence of gold smuggling from Venezuela which could have led to blacklisting of this country.
However, Ganga said that Lallâs assertions do not paint a true picture of the issues then but he doesnât want to be âcaught upâ in a back and forth with the former Chairman.
He was asked about a probe by the Royal Canadian Mint that a supplier here sold smuggled gold from Venezuela. He said that the supplier in question, Jagmohan, had not sold gold to the Gold Board since that point.
âSince then, the Gold Board has not purchased any gold from Mr. JagmohanâĶ I think it was in September to now, no gold from him,â he said.
Asked if the issue with Jagmohan was cleared up, he replied, âI think the issue was not just that, but other issues.â
However, this newspaper understands that Guyana no longer sells to RCM and instead supplies other brokers.
The local Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU) had recommended in 2019 that a high-level team be established to conduct a comprehensive review of the trading of gold, amid concerns that Venezuelan gold was filtering into the local market in 2019 and causing the Guyana dollar to depreciate.
Both current and former Attorneys General, Anil Nandlall and Basil Williams had said last year that they were unaware of the FIUâs recommendation for a high-level probe of gold trading. There has since been no word of any probe of the trade.
One regulatory agency official told this newspaper that âissues like gold smuggling are serious allegations for a countryâs imageâ and that they were not aware of âany legitimate cases here in Guyanaâ.
MERA DIL YE PUKARE AJAA: "MY HEART IS CALLING OUT TO YOU"
Hauntingly a beautiful song easily recalled during rains when the pangs of separation is more acutely felt between lovers: Today we take a look at one of the many Lata Mangeshkar's Gem of Yesteryear: Sit back and enjoy this one that is dated back some sixty two years ago: A Classic Revisited:
MOVIE : NAGIN 1954
SINGER: LATA MANGESHKAR
MUSIC : HEMANT KUMAR
LYRICS: RAJENDRA KRISHAN
1) MERA DIL YE PUKARE AJAA
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mr_n9R3E_w4
Aaaaa jaaaaa Aaaaa jaaaaa
(Meraa dil ye pukaare aa jaa,
My heart is calling out to you to come
Mere gam ke sahaare aa jaa
Please come and comfort me in my grief
Bheegaa bheegaa hain samaan,
This weather is dewy
Aye se mein hain too kahaa?
Where are you at this time?
Meraa dil ye pukaare aa jaa,)2
(Too naheen to ye rut ye hawaa (kyaa karu?)
If you are not here, what are the cool winds for?
Door tuz se main rah ke bataa (kyaa karu?)
Sunaa sunaa hain jahaan, ab jaaoo main kahaa
Tell me how do I live without you? Where shall I go?
Bas itanaa muze samazaa jaa
Just tell me this, the world is desolate
This weather is dewy
(Aandhiyaan wo chalee, aashiyaan (loot gayaa)2
There were storms that destroyed the home
Pyaar kaa muskuraataa jahaan (loot gayaa)2
The smiling world was robbed
Ek chhotee see jhalak, mere mitane talak
Just a glimpse of your smile, o my beloved
o chaand o chand mere dikhalaa jaa
This weather is dewy
NB will try for another translations: not pleased with this one
Vice News had a purpose to attack Guyana-China cooperation â Ambassador
Chinese Ambassador to Guyana Gou Haiyan
Chinese Ambassador to Guyana Guo Haiyan has strongly condemned the Vice News feature on alleged corruption between the Guyana Government and Chinese businessmen, noting that the report was purely malicious and intended to smear the image Chinese companies in Guyana and the Guyana-Chinese relations.
âThis so-called journalist, the undercover journalist, came with predetermined agenda and I think the purpose is clear, to smear the Chinese companies here and to attack the Guyana-China cooperationâĶitâs quite clear its content was edited with malicious purpose,â the Chinese diplomat told reporters on the sidelines of an event today.
She made it clear that Chinese business operating in the country follow the local laws and that those who are in violation would be dealt with by the Guyana Government in accordance to those laws.
Guyana and China are currently celebrating 50 years of bilateral relations.
On February 9, the Chinese Embassy based in Georgetown, Guyana, had slammed the distortion of the facts on Guyanaâs bilateral relations with China, making it clear that relations with the two countries, inclusive of business relations, are founded on the law and international practices.
According to the statement from the Chinese Embassy, âChina-Guyana friendly cooperation, featuring equality, mutual benefit, innovation, openness, and benefits for the people, is in accordance with the interests of the two countries and two peoples, not against any third party, nor should it be influenced by a third party.â
From a business perspective, the Chinese Ambassador was adamant that Chinese companies operational in Guyana adhere to all applicable laws. From a foreign policy perspective, she also expressed Chinaâs appreciation for Guyanaâs support for the One China principle.
In the wake of the airing of a VICE News feature titled âGuyana for Saleâ that contains allegations against Vice President Bharrat Jagdeo, sources indicate that legal action is likely to be taken against the parties involved in Chinese businessman Su Zhi Rong being caught on camera by the news agency making these allegations.
Social media commentary on an episode on Guyana by United States-based media outlet, VICE News, which aired on Sunday evening, was dismissed by senior officials within the Government since the interview was released on February 5, 2022.
The full interview was aired February 5 following the two-hour interview with Vice President Bharrat Jagdeo by a journalist of VICE Media Group, which was conducted on February 1, 2022.
In the interview aired on Sunday by Showtime television network, which is now only 16 minutes, Su Zhi Rong, who operates in Guyana, claimed to be close friends with Guyanaâs Vice President, Bharrat Jagdeo.
In the same breath, however, he also made clear in the undercover interview that Jagdeo does not take bribes. In the preview released ahead of the full airing, Su Zhi Rong is also heard referring to Jagdeo saying, âhis hands are very clean.â
At no point in the full recording of the episode did VICE News present any evidence of wrongdoing or corruption on Jagdeoâs part. In the full recording, however, Su Zhi Rong was recorded using Jagdeoâs name in trying to negotiate a payment from the undercover VICE operator posing as a Chinese investor.
When the Vice President was visited at his house by Su Zhi Rong and the undercover VICE crew (the journalist posed as the secretary of the undercover investor), Jagdeo in the secretly recorded conversation did specify that he can assist with investment deals but made it clear that he will not get involved in any financial dealings.
âNo no, Iâm not getting involved with businessâĶ my thing is that Iâm in Government. So, I assist from the Government side. Thatâs it,â Jagdeo said, after which Su Zhi Rong spoke to the Chinese âinvestorâ in Mandarin to further solicit the bribe, so that the Vice President could not realise that he was being used.
Persons falsely using Jagdeoâs name to solicit money from investors is nothing new and in fact Jagdeo had cause to publicly warn investors during a press conference last month, not to fall for this scam.
During his press conference, Jagdeo had given a recent example of someone being arrested right at Office of the President, for this very offence. The Vice President recalled that the man, who was a complete stranger to him, took a photo next to him and then later used this photo to collect money from companies on the false promise that he knew Jagdeo and could act as a liaison between them and the Vice President.
âHe then showed up here, because my secretary called and arranged a meeting. He showed up with another person he was conning, bringing to the meeting. And he was arrested right here,â Jagdeo had said.
âSo, this is going on, it has become almost like an industry, where people claim they are representing companies and I donât know what they are representing to these people. So, if anyone is stupid enough to lose your money by thinking you will get any preferences, because someone arranged a meeting with some policymaker, itâs your loss.â
In February, the Vice President in response to the interview had said: âI help a lot of people but without considerationâĶ I see lots of companies, but is not for money or a bribeâĶ She asked me about the laws we are changing to help the contractorsâĶ she then went on to say that Su said we have changed the Constitution of Guyana so we can give them contractsâĶ I donât know that I have the power to change the Constitution of Guyana to give contracts to people.â
The Media Group has been on a downward spiral in recent years and is clearly trying desperately to survive by inventing âexposÃĐsâ of corruption in developing countries to feed the old colonial narratives in its North American markets.
In May 8, 2019, Disney had told investors that it had wiped out US$353 million of the money it had previously put into VICE. A month later, on June 10, 2019, HBO cancelled Vice News Tonight, putting an end to its seven-year relationship with VICE.
A year later, the downward spiral continued when VICE laid off 155 employees in May 2020. Finally, in August 2021, they launched a new wave of layoffs, reflecting the youth-culture media companyâs ongoing financial struggles and need to realign toward profitable areas of the business â amid a broader shift toward video and visual content.
During the interview, after asking innocuous questions about the policies of the Government on investment in light of the massive oil find, the reporter suddenly alleged that based on âinformationâ she had received, a Chinese logger named âSuâ claimed that the only way to do business in Guyana was to pay incentives.
These allegations were immediately rebutted. The reporterâs line of questioning suggested that Guyana was taking financial incentives from the Chinese hence most of the contracts that are being awarded were given to Chinese contractors.
The Vice President had previously said that he knew âSuâ, who was a tenant at his property, but he cannot respond to questions on hearsay that either the reporter or the claimed informant could have concocted.
He said that if there is evidence that âSuâ was using his name for financial gain then he will have to take legal actions against the businessman.
Ranjish hi sahi dil hi dukhaanay kay liyay aa
Let it be anguish, come still to torment my heart
aa phir say mujhay chhorr kay jaanay kay liyay aa
Come, even if to leave me again
GHAZALS
'El Chapo': Drug boss's son accidently reveals fugative's location on Twitter
The Independent, Alexandra Sims, 18 hrs ago, 06 September, 2015, Source
Mexican drug lord JoaquÃn "El Chapo" GuzmÃn may be in hiding in Costa Rica, after the fugitive's son appeared to reveal his location on Twitter by accident.
Jesus Alfredo Guzman Salazar tweeted a photo of himself and his father eating at a restaurant, but seemed to forget about Twitterâs location function which automatically tags where an image is taken.
Guzmanâs 29-year-old son, who regularly writes about his father on social media, posted the picture on Monday with the caption âAugust here, you already know with whomâ.
The image shows Salazar eating at a table with two other men who have their faces obscured by cartoon emoticons; however the figure on Salazarâs left bears a strong resemblance to the infamous drug lord.
The tweet which clearly shows the location has been retweeted and favourited nearly 1,500 times.
Costa Ricaâs Judicial Police have announced that they are investigating the Twitter post, according to local media.
However, the post remains the first piece of evidence to suggest that Guzman is in the country.
Guzman, who has appeared on the USâs most wanted list, was the leader of the Sinaloa cartel which is known for smuggling large amounts of illegal drugs into the US.
Considered to be the worldâs wealthiest and most powerful drug trafficker, Guzman escaped from Mexicoâs Altiplano prison in July by digging an elaborate mile-long tunnel with ventilation and lighting.
The Mexican authorities have offered a $3.8 million reward for his recapture. Last week the US added a further $5 million to the reward and created a âtip lineâ for people to give up information about the drug boss.
INDIANNESS defined
Jun 07, 2022 Letters
Dear Editor,
As a diaspora Indian Hindu growing up in Trinidad, my Indianness is defined by the social constructs that cultivate my mind and shape my Atma [Soul), i.e, how to think, behave and how to assimilate by keeping the Vedic culture intact and alive.
Indians originating out of Bharat and domiciled in Trinidad, Guyana, Suriname and other places have become more sensitised to their identity than those Bharat Indians due to their social construct.
Indianness is having a feeling for oneâs own music, sports, politics, cuisine and dress codes. Indianness is defined by behaviour and thinking and pride in every facet of life.
In politics when the Indian based party DLP lost the Trinidad elections, I felt upset feelings that cannot be explained.
As I recall getting up in 6am in the morning and turning that radio dial to hear Indian music and bhajans is like, I drank a booster vitamin. Having my Vedic flag and offering jal [spiritual water]; I feel reenergised for the day.
In sports, I remember climbing up a tree with my radio to listen to Rohan Khanai bat for the West Indies Team and that brings a certain pride and joy to my Indianness.
On weekends in years gone by, many others and I usually look forward to going to an Indian movie or show that added a personal Indianness to me.
My Indianness becomes stronger when threatened by enemy forces who want to define my ethnicity or my identity. When I celebrate Diwali, Phagwah and Indian Arrival Day, the Atma is satisfied.
The wearing of a sari is as beautiful in making a statement for the Indian race and Indian womanhood.
When an Indian is insulted because of their race and way of life and does not feel upset then that is a cloned Indian who is grounded in someone elseâs roots. Since this article was provoked by Freddie Kissoon who wants to know what is Indianness, it reveals to me that his upbringing was more âCreolised than Indianisedâ from growing up in Georgetown. Freddie may find it difficult to feel Indianness as his ATMA is compromised. This does not mean that he is unretrievable.
Case in point is the Honourable Kamal Mohammed of Trinidad who was one of the main founding fathers of the Black based party [PNM] in Trinidad and who was next in line to become
Prime Minister upon the death of Dr. Eric Williams.
The honourable gentleman was told by PNM â affiliates and specifically by the President of Trinidad, Sir Ellis Clarke: âYOU CANNOT BE THE PRIME MINISTER OF TRINIDAD, THE COUNTRY IS NOT READY FOR AN INDIANâ. Kamal was hurt as his ATMA was affected. All his political life he was a strong supporter of the PNM. Kamal retaliated by telling Muslims that they must support the Indian based party [UNC].
If the 1964 WISMAR MASSACRE does not affect Freddie Kissoon as an Indian, he cannot feel Indianness.
Most importantly, my name also defines my Indianness.
Vassan Ramracha
I try not to read or watch too much TV or movies.
I recently watched WATER FOR ELEPHANTS ( took me 3 days)
I like period pcsâĶmaybe itâs the costumes
of course I watch frivolous shows like 90 day fiancÃĐ and all itâs franchises
also watch bachelor and all that follows
i watch Kelly Clarkson, The Social and Ellen
not all episodes and never in one night. I donât watch lots of screens in the day
wahderass . . .??

Bollywood's former style diva turned recluse, Sadhana, met Maharashtra Home Minister RR Patil for unbiased mediation in her property dispute. A local court had summoned the actress earlier this month to record her statement in connection with a private complaint filed by builder Yusuf Lakdawala charging her for making defamatory statements against him.
Back in the 1960s, the stunning beauty had ruled the silver screen. With bumper hits like Mere Mehboob in her impressive resume, she was the 'mystery girl' of Hindi cinema. Embroiled in controversy, this is Sadhana's latest appearance.