@Lynn posted:

Slow gurlie.. go over the boil n fry chkn .. i dont  follow ..

LOL

so u put the big chunks ( drumstick, breast, thigh) in a pot add all u seasoning…garlic, basil etc and 1c milk, cover and let it simmer ( maybe half hr) turning once. Take chicken out and put in colander when fully cooked. Heat small amount of oil in frying pan, when oil is very hot place few pcs chicken in to brown/ crisp. Coat chicken in preferred sauce ( I like to mix some bbq sauce with mustard, lemon juice and hot pepper) or dip as u go

W

Today for lunch….karhee ( compliments of me mother) with paratha with peera for dessert…may have kheer later ( she made these things on Shivaraatri)

anyone know how to make karhee….ever made it?.  My mother-in-law used to make the best karhee…she was the one who taught me to make green apple curry

W

Omg i love karhee..i tried it once..plenty wuk as i used fresh soaked split peas to make d phulourie

n im getting the granny smith apple tomorrow to try YOUR green apple curry..pls inbox me if there is anything special or if it is just reg curry..

just last nite i sent msg to 2 of my gf asking for white rice..that i feel like eating sweet rice but i like mine creamy..no rice grain.  I only use parboiled rice so itshard to make that creamy..9 feel like eating sweet rice..omg..but i wont eat itif i see rice grains or chew it ..it must be like pudding..the real old time sweet rice.  I love to eat it with puri.  Girl n last nite i printed Asheana ( a lady who has youtube  channel) powder milk pera ..

n look story..u eating foods that were on my mind this week!! Im salivating just thinking abt yr meal now..so jealous!!  Hehehe..hopeu done eat so u nah get bad eye n mek yuh belly hutt

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Omg i love karhee..

n im getting the granny smith apple tomorrow to try YOUR green apple

n look story..u eating foods that were on my mind this week!! Im salivating just thinking abt yr meal now..so jealous!!  Hehehe..hopeu done eat so u nah get bad eye n mek yuh belly hutt

Lol @ bad eye

i have lots left…to bad you so far away. Summer or spring I will tek Drive to see u.

my hubby also liked his kheer smooth.

at least once per year I make milk powder peera ….since my son was small it’s the peera he prefers and requests every now and then.

one thing I must make one day is goojah

W

I tried baked gojha last yr using youtube recipe from a young man! It was good!!
i like the wrap very thin like my mom used to make .. ive had a couple of times here but its like stuffed bake.. too much dough . Im picky .. if it is not how i like., then i dont want (eg fat methai must b crumbly n not spongy. No grain in kheer, roat must b hard n crispy not like sada roti n my gojha must have thin wrap. Coconut choka must b like paste., dint want to chew coconut.  If not i wont eat.. rather do without lol)

Yeah gal.. dis country gal get plenty styles ..lol

like i dont drink regular tea if i dont have evap Milk n nuff too as tea must b whitish if not i will have water!! No 2%milk in my tea!! Thank God my cholesterol n triglycerides values  r normal ( but i limit 1 cup tea per day now not several like I used to have)

Lynn

Lynn, you a wan petspile piknee

I prefer my coffee and tea black and occasionally will have carnation or condense milk

i am fat because I am not picky LOL…as my dad used to say, abee two nah gat kinnah

now back to goojah…will try baking it

i baked my kankee (placed a bowl of water in the oven) and it came out really nice …that was almost 8 yrs ago

i will definitely make it again

W

Lunch today was one bbq drumstick, chicken curry n rice with 1/4 cuke and a glass of cranberry juice with orange juice and a bit of spritz up ( was thinking to add some green apple vodka but it was early o’clock 🤫)😁😁

W
@Wildflower posted:

Lynn, you a wan petspile piknee

I prefer my coffee and tea black and occasionally will have carnation or condense milk

i am fat because I am not picky LOL…as my dad used to say, abee two nah gat kinnah

now back to goojah…will try baking it

i baked my kankee (placed a bowl of water in the oven) and it came out really nice …that was almost 8 yrs ago

i will definitely make it again

Lol

im used to ‘milk tea’

i dont eat white rice or sugar .. also only brown eggs

i trued steaming conkie but the taste is in the banana leaves so no thanks to baked or steamed

Lynn

I made dinner tonight.. Jambalya rice..Spinach..with Bok Choy and Asparagus in a succulent butter sauce. For dessert couple hours later it was Fake crab (pollock) sangwitch and a ice block..no no thats wrong it was a fudge-ah-kle.

For late night snack..another fakecrab sangwith..six cookies..a banana.

I now feel like something movin round in the ole belly, is like I either pregnant or someting brewin.

@cain posted:

I made dinner tonight.. Jambalya rice..Spinach..with Bok Choy and Asparagus in a succulent butter sauce. For dessert couple hours later it was Fake crab (pollock) sangwitch and a ice block..no no thats wrong it was a fudge-ah-kle.

For late night snack..another fakecrab sangwith..six cookies..a banana.

I now feel like something movin round in the ole belly, is like I either pregnant or someting brewin.

Yummmm

i tried Chams’ green apply curry

it tastes so good , i had 4 slices immediately .. not sure if this is how it should look but um tasty!!

• 0660108C-F418-46C3-964F-94E694293801
Lynn
@cain posted:

You gaffa read it slower.

Lol

I usually make one very large ‘roti’ on the counter then oil the whole big thing, roll it up the break into 6 roti loi. I cooked 4 on Wednesday and just made 2 for me and my granddaughter. She ate hers with butter and I had bhajee

when I cook roti for me I don’t oil the outside

W
Last edited by Wildflower
@Wildflower posted:

Lol

I usually make one very large ‘roti’ on the counter then oil the whole big thing, roll it up the break into 6 roti loi. I cooked 4 on Wednesday and just made 2 for me and my granddaughter. She ate hers with butter and I had bhajee

when I cook roti for me I don’t oil the outside

I learnt this yrs ago froma GYese lady living in UK..Jameela , who had a video on youtube..i had never seen this method n it is so easy as i dont make more than 5-6 oil roti at 1 time

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Wildflower posted:

Today Manchurian chicken, butternut squash  with rice and pineapple for dessert with a cup of decaf cof with lions mane

Love manchurian chkn..ever had manchurian paneer? Or chili paneer?? I love those

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Love manchurian chkn..ever had manchurian paneer? Or chili paneer?? I love those

Lynn, I like muttar paneer and shahi paneer but never had manch or chili paneer …maybe I will get that food form your side of town

W
@Wildflower posted:

Lynn, I like muttar paneer and shahi paneer but never had manch or chili paneer …maybe I will get that food form your side of town

Never ate muttar paneer

my sikh coworker introduced me to chili paneer n manchurian too hakka restaurant by us sells (chop sticks )

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Wildflower posted:

Dinner was dhal rice spinach and stew salt fish with lots of garden tomatoes….since we moved and I got a garden I have not been out of tomatoes….only buy fresh for roasting to make choka.

Yummy

do u roast ur tomato in oven?

i never made it here

lol

i love roasted tomato in baigan choka !!

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Yummy

do u roast ur tomato in oven?

i never made it here

lol

i love roasted tomato in baigan choka !!

I double wrap tomatoes n garlic in foil and place on burners turning occasionally

baigan I make cuts and push garlic slices into cuts then place on plate with a cover n microwave for 15 mins then do same as tomatoes

W
@cain posted:

Word of warning. If I happen fo drop by yall place for lunch better doan gimme no darn 🍅...it only ok in ketchup or maybe as a spaghetti sauce.

If u taste tomato choka u will ask for more!

Lynn
@cain posted:

Word of warning. If I happen fo drop by yall place for lunch better doan gimme no darn 🍅...it only ok in ketchup or maybe as a spaghetti sauce.

So if I make a nice nice gilbaka or shrimp curry and throw in some 🍅 you will say no?

W

Dinner today was scrumptious….cassava egg ball, chicken curry n roti ( had a pc dhalpuri) gojah and gulgula ( from two different people so taste different) will probably have a pc more with my hot milk at 8:30

W

Yummy bhunjal granny smith apple with plenty wiriwiri.. Thanks Chams (my cuz n our gyese chinee friend couldn't stop raving abt this delicious curry)

..plus nice fat sada roti, boil egg n boil n fry channa

(Phagwah treats from my cuz .. pone, baked gojha, methai. Phulourie n aloo ball with mango sour)

N guavas from Costco ..I ate abt 8-10 in 2 days lol23ADE944-5D24-436C-A8AB-19A367CAF29002E07F56-4BA3-4D7B-B733-66CD57DDA1E7

Images (2)
  • 23ADE944-5D24-436C-A8AB-19A367CAF290
  • 02E07F56-4BA3-4D7B-B733-66CD57DDA1E7
Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Wildflower posted:

So if I make a nice nice gilbaka or shrimp curry and throw in some 🍅 you will say no?

I probably won't eat the fish..the shrimp yes but any chunks of 🍅 it gets flicked out the plate.

Wht’s in fridge for next 3 days..

dhal, bhaji, ochro, salmon cakes n chicken curry (hubby cooked this yest) , sada roti, rice

My healthy low carbs:-

black lentils soup ..with sweet potato n baby bok choy..

roasted eggplant rounds n zucchini sticks, sauteed green beans..

sauteed mixed veggies..carrots, onions, red peppers, caulifloer n broccoli

Mixed veg quiches

happy Monday to u all!  Here’s to a brand new week..n SPRING..yahoooo!!

Lynn
@Wildflower posted:

Oh gawd gyal u got me feeling hungry now. I will make roti to go with shrimp curry and baigan choka (boulanger for the town ppl)

N eggplant for dem ‘Canadian’

N aubergine for English/Aussies

Lynn

On the menu….lunch is  from me mother…boil n fry yam, eddoe and ripe plantains…no dumpling😖 with green papaya curry cooked with coconut milk.

Dinner will be dhal n rice with aloo choka and coconut choka ( from Guyana)

W

Where i get green papaya from?

hear this joke.. my mom used to always bring me green papaya from her yard. My hubby never ate it n turned up his nose..

whn he tasted the curry he started to ask my mom for it ie everytime she came to GT he would ask if she brought green papaya  

Lynn
@cain posted:

I starting to do up some brown rice...this dam ting does take about one an a half hrs fi cook right. This rice comes from California..wuderass honkies know about brown rice?

Omg gosh cainstah, u got to buy rice that says Guyana pride…prob grown in Mauritius just like the Demerara sugar that bedesee packages😁

btw I did not know Cali grew Rice…googled after I read your post

“California ranks as the second-largest rice-growing state in the United States. The majority of rice is grown in the Sacramento Valley, where hot days and cool nights—along with clay soil that holds on to virtually every drop of moisture—create the perfect conditions for growing California's distinctive japonica rice.”

W

For lunch today I cut up one skinny eggplant and a small potato, one onion and a tbsp crushed garlic with one green chili then I put a tbsp olive oil in a lil frying pan and add everything with some salt, stir it up and let it cook turning occasionally…had it with one roti ( no  🍅 )

W
@Wildflower posted:

For lunch today I cut up one skinny eggplant and a small potato, one onion and a tbsp crushed garlic with one green chili then I put a tbsp olive oil in a lil frying pan and add everything with some salt, stir it up and let it cook turning occasionally…had it with one roti ( no  🍅 )

Chinese eggplant? I Used to buy that kind whn i first came here as i didn't like the big fat kind.. but suddenly i started to puke after eating  it ( fried like yrs) n i stopped buying n started to buy the fat black ones

btw do U rem we used to b called “black balanjay’ .. i hated being teased at sch abt  that!! Apparently our place was known for the best black baigan years ago !!

Lynn