Yesterday's historic APNU-AFC pact must have given some PPP functionaries a sleepless night.

The spectre of a PPP defeat on May 11 is haunting them.

What to do with their ill-gotten wealth, their mansions, their stash of cash, etc.

As Dem Boys Seh in today's Kaieteur News, β€œSome people smell de rat already and start to panic. Dem selling out dem property. One lady transfer she big houses to she daughter and to she son. Another man planning to go to France suh he sell he house in Pradoville. All of dem frighten David and Moses.”

It means a full 5 year term for Ramotar and a working PPP/C majority in Parliament.

I wish I could be more hopeful for the cause of ousting the PPP/C but the facts no matter how generously interpreted still fall short of hopes.

Why the change of face?  The Muslim question wasn't answered in the deal..

I think you know chap. Indian people ain't voting PNC anymore than Black people are gonna vote PPP.

There is no Muslim Question. On May the 11th, they will whip out their Indo Card to be stamped as it must be at least once ever five years.

An alliance with the PNC does not mean that the people will follow their former party.   When they vote on May 11th, It will be the PNC they are voting for.

When they vote on May 11th, they will be voting for Democracy, National Unity and changes to the Constitution.

They will be voting for the PPP.

Amerindians weren't included in the deal. 

a buckman will be incharge of the jail that will hold the ppp  

Right now, the PPP has the key and they are not giving it up...

thats the hold problem the ppp think guyana belongs to them so they treat the people like peasant its too late for the ppp maybe if people like you was raising your voice when they start screwing up the country they will still have the people vote but you supporters encourage them by staying silent 

Yesterday's historic APNU-AFC pact must have given some PPP functionaries a sleepless night.

What to do with their ill-gotten wealth, their mansions, their stash of cash, etc.

As Dem Boys Seh in today's Kaieteur News, β€œSome people smell de rat already and start to panic. Dem selling out dem property. One lady transfer she big houses to she daughter and to she son. Another man planning to go to France suh he sell he house in Pradoville. All of dem frighten David and Moses.”

Keep on dreaming Gil.

The PPP is headed for a 54 Percent majority. 

AFC made the biggest political blunder. They are finished. 

Rumjattan is a dunce, he cannot negotiate or he is just desperate after seeing a dying AFC. Only an AFC Presidential Candidate of Moses could have posed a threat to the PPP.

Spin Gil, Spin. Yuji's election prediction of victory for the PPP is one hundred percent accurate.

Keep on dreaming Gil.

Rumjattan is a dunce, he cannot negotiate or he is just desperate after seeing a dying AFC. Only an AFC Presidential Candidate of Moses could have posed a threat to the PPP.

Spin Gil, Spin. Yuji's election prediction of victory for the PPP is one hundred percent accurate.

You are into numerology or an example of innumeracy as the Rev is. Where will the PPP pick up 14 percent outside their base? That is their dilemma. They will have to hold the Amerindians and that is not possible. At best they can maintain here. They will have to poach at least 10 percent from the mixed vote and that is impossible. They will have to get and hold 90 percent of the new voters some 60 percent of the electorate and that is not happening. They cannot win with the dog whistle politics and the PNC are the incompetent. They have to sell the illusion that good is to come and since the people know it does not exist. They are all living on the edge, see the corruption, know the impossibility of getting things done procedurally and grasp well the PPP patronage system in the form of payola and bribes. The PPP will do the usual and try to bribe their ways to promising new roads, better water, cheaper electricity etc but that is not going to work. The people are in need of some karma payback from the crooks in the local areas who take advantage of them.

As being discussed in another thread. The new formed party has to get to the young voters and let them see they are the ones needed if change is necessary. They have to show the youth where they stand on youth policies. The youth don't give give a dam about the history of any flipping party, they would more care for their future.

It is the old ones who's lives have been however changed because of the political landscape in Guyana. But let's be real, the changes we personally made were mostly for the better.

Keep on dreaming Gil.

You are into numerology or an example of innumeracy as the Rev is. Where will the PPP pick up 14 percent outside their base? That is their dilemma. They will have to hold the Amerindians and that is not possible. At best they can maintain here. They will have to poach at least 10 percent from the mixed vote and that is impossible. They will have to get and hold 90 percent of the new voters some 60 percent of the electorate and that is not happening. They cannot win with the dog whistle politics and the PNC are the incompetent. They have to sell the illusion that good is to come and since the people know it does not exist. They are all living on the edge, see the corruption, know the impossibility of getting things done procedurally and grasp well the PPP patronage system in the form of payola and bribes. The PPP will do the usual and try to bribe their ways to promising new roads, better water, cheaper electricity etc but that is not going to work. The people are in need of some karma payback from the crooks in the local areas who take advantage of them.

Storm, why yuh bother wid yuji and he 54%?

yuji pick da number outa brown paper bag.

I don't argue with him on that point.

May 11 coming and out goes yuji's 54.

Chronicle gone to an all time low.......

Educated and intelligent Berbicians will draw the correct conclusion from this Chronicle insensitive mischief.

Another sign that dem PPP people panicking.

Not everyone who suffered a heart attack was panicking. Many people die of a heart attack during their sleep.

Chronicle gone to an all time low.......

Educated and intelligent Berbicians will draw the correct conclusion from this Chronicle insensitive mischief.

Another sign that dem PPP people panicking.

Not everyone who suffered a heart attack was panicking. Many people die of a heart attack during their sleep.

Skelly them na got no hospital to save the people

when this happens,GY need to boost the health

sector.

A lot of people that promise the Peoples Progressive Party/Civic that they could help stem the tide watched their efforts get washed away with the Coalition. The PPP don't learn though - they will just turn to another set and double the money for even more ineffective postures. Watch out for the swift-boats, the overnight PR gurus, the Astro-turfs, the Road to Damascus union people, the media 'responsibility' watchdogs...

[Ruel Johnson's Facebook page]

When they vote on May 11th, they will be voting for Democracy, National Unity and changes to the Constitution.

Interesting given that you scream that the PNC are bloodthirsty racists.  Did you tell Granger this?

Carib, give Mits a chance. He on de national unity bandwagon and I'm fine wid dat.

Interesting given that you scream that the PNC are bloodthirsty racists.  Did you tell Granger this?

Times change bai. Now that de AFC is in de camp, de PNC cyant be so bad after all. Politics make strange bedfellows.

Carib, give Mits a chance. He on de national unity bandwagon and I'm fine wid dat.

De unity wukking bai. Three years ago, Granger didn't think Moses was good enough tuh be Speaker, Now he thinks he is good enough to be Prime Minister.

In 2012 the PPP won 49% of the vote with precious little help from the mixed voters.  While they won maybe 60% of the Amerindian vote, voter turn out in the interior is abysmally low, so this 60% isn't as important as it appears.

And they lost about 10% of the Indian vote to the AFC.

So it does appear that the Indian % of the voters is a good deal higher than that 40% number which people use.

I suggest that folks estimate an ethnic break down of the REGISTERED voters before they assume that the APNU/AFC can take a leisuredly stroll to victory.

And really it doesn't matter whether the PPP gets 51%, or 54%.  They will take back parliament if they get 51%.

Here is a fact Stormy.  If the PPP increases its votes by 5k, assuming that the 2015 turnout is the same as 2011, it gets back the majority.  What has yuji and the other PPP thugs overjoyed is if they get back 60% of the votes which they lost to the AFC in region 6 they get the majority.

So I suggest that APNU and the AFC get to work and stop behaving as if they are entitled to support just because "de PPP baaaad".

So let us stop looking at census numbers, which show the overall population, and understand that the registered voter population has a very different ethnic composition. 

The Indian vote is more important than it appears in the overall census numbers because Amerindian voter turnout is low, and it is a very young population as well.  Region 9, with 50% of the population of Region 5 (a PPP stronghold) turned out only 30% of the voters.  This suggests that Amerindian voter turnout is 40% lower, so instead of assuming that they are 10% of the votes, a 6% number is more appropriate.

Similarly voter registration in PNC strongholds is lower than in PPP strongholds, as the  PPP was effective at registering their voters while the PNC, under Corbin wasn't.  Region 10 with 80% of the population of Region 5 only had a vote count at 60%.  Indians and Africans have a similar age structure, so this can be fully explained by lower registration and lower turn out.

So the Indian voter base might be as high as 47-50% of the total, even though their overall population is only 40% of the total.

So factor this in before you start celebrating the end of the PPP regime.  Indians are still by far the largest voting bloc.   The key will be to boost voting in PNC strongholds to levels of the PPP strongholds, and to chip away at the PPP dominance in Regions 1 and 2 where, even in the disastrous 2011 election, they scored almost 70% of the votes.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

De unity wukking bai. Three years ago, Granger didn't think Moses was good enough tuh be Speaker, Now he thinks he is good enough to be Prime Minister.

I made some statistical calculations in my post above.

People need to quit being emotional and start facing facts.

1.  In 2011 the AFC increased its votes in Region 6 by 8,500.

2.  The PPP only lost control of parliament by 5,000 votes.

3.  They only need to win back 60% of the votes which they lost to the AFC in 2011, all other things being the same.  

4.  The Indian vote might be as high as 47-50% if one adjusts for age structure and voter turn out based on 2011, a year when PNC turnout was better than in 2006, but still below where it was in 1997 and 2001.

APNU needs serious work in Georgetown and in Region 10 to woo back those who stopped voting, and to register those who never bothered to do so.

It is not inevitable that the PPP will win back the majority, but the odds are a little bit more tilted to them than before.  Unless I see evidence of hard work on the part of the AFC and APNU, I will no longer refute claims by the PPP thugs of a 51% win, though anything above that starts to look ridiculous.

Carib banna you is a argue rass. You could show figures why the PPP would kick ass and yet in another thread or if we lucky...same thread you got the PPP gettin the boot with more fancy numbers dem.

Exactly what would be the best scenario for Guyana? Let's say you are the Prez, go for it.

When did I say that the PPP will get the boot?  Has to be before the AFC APNU stunt.

As of now I reserve judgment on the election results.  I merely state what the environment looks like and how challenging it will be for APNU/AFC.  Both parties are renowned for being quite lazy, so they will have change their behavior, or they will be begging the PPP for the men's room key on May 12th, because the PPP is going to be murderously vindictive if they win back parliamentary control.

In 2012 the PPP won 49% of the vote with precious little help from the mixed voters.  While they won maybe 60% of the Amerindian vote, voter turn out in the interior is abysmally low, so this 60% isn't as important as it appears.

And they lost about 10% of the Indian vote to the AFC.

So it does appear that the Indian % of the voters is a good deal higher than that 40% number which people use.

I suggest that folks estimate an ethnic break down of the REGISTERED voters before they assume that the APNU/AFC can take a leisuredly stroll to victory.

And really it doesn't matter whether the PPP gets 51%, or 54%.  They will take back parliament if they get 51%.

Here is a fact Stormy.  If the PPP increases its votes by 5k, assuming that the 2015 turnout is the same as 2011, it gets back the majority.  What has yuji and the other PPP thugs overjoyed is if they get back 60% of the votes which they lost to the AFC in region 6 they get the majority.

So I suggest that APNU and the AFC get to work and stop behaving as if they are entitled to support just because "de PPP baaaad".

So let us stop looking at census numbers, which show the overall population, and understand that the registered voter population has a very different ethnic composition. 

The Indian vote is more important than it appears in the overall census numbers because Amerindian voter turnout is low, and it is a very young population as well.  Region 9, with 50% of the population of Region 5 (a PPP stronghold) turned out only 30% of the voters.  This suggests that Amerindian voter turnout is 40% lower, so instead of assuming that they are 10% of the votes, a 6% number is more appropriate.

Similarly voter registration in PNC strongholds is lower than in PPP strongholds, as the  PPP was effective at registering their voters while the PNC, under Corbin wasn't.  Region 10 with 80% of the population of Region 5 only had a vote count at 60%.  Indians and Africans have a similar age structure, so this can be fully explained by lower registration and lower turn out.

So the Indian voter base might be as high as 47-50% of the total, even though their overall population is only 40% of the total.

So factor this in before you start celebrating the end of the PPP regime.  Indians are still by far the largest voting bloc.   The key will be to boost voting in PNC strongholds to levels of the PPP strongholds, and to chip away at the PPP dominance in Regions 1 and 2 where, even in the disastrous 2011 election, they scored almost 70% of the votes.

I am quite certain there is nothing rosy in the PPP future if those numbers are correct. Amerindians vote matter because in region 8, 200 votes give the AFC a seat. It is one they will retain. The PPP has a chance of losing another in region 9. If the numbers are correct, the PPP loses another 2 to natural attrition from immigration in region 6. There is hardly any hopeful news for them. High turnout they  definitely lose, low turnout has to be asymmetrical with more non Indians staying home and that is not likely this time.

If those numbers are correct then the APNU simply have to hold turf. If I was running the campaign I would have shape files of the region and simply go after those who already voted AFC from PPP areas and focus on voter education in ones districts

Exactly what would be the best scenario for Guyana? Let's say you are the Prez, go for it.

Probably because I have spent almost all of my adult life outside of Guyana, and I tend not to mix with the rumshop Guyanese who chat nonsense and don't engage in analysis of the facts I am not an armchair prognosticator.

I look at the political environment in Guyana and offer an opinion.  the party which wins isn't the one which is Godly and virtuous.  It will be the one most successful at coming up with reasons and mechanisms to motivate its base to get to the polls. 

Guyanese are very basic people who demand very basic things from their politicians.  They have only known authoritarian gov'ts so have no idea how a proper democracy is supposed to function. 

In 1997 408k people voted.  In 2011 342k did.  60k non voters. While migration will explain some of this loss the real reason is that many people are just plain bored with politics.  The population in 1997 was probably the same as it was in 2011.  So as people migrated the youth who replaced them aren't voting.

The party which excites is the one which brings back the bored folks to vote, and registers those who never bothered to do so.  This is where the APNU/AFC might have an opportunity.  The folks who are still voting aren't going change who they have been supporting.

Originally Posted by Mars:

When did I say that the PPP will get the boot?  Has to be before the AFC APNU stunt.

How exactly were the PPP going to be booted before the APNU/AFC merger? You're dreaming.

They have a better chance of unseating the PPP by going into this elections as a joint opposition party.

The AFC could have aimed to split and depress the Indian vote, as large numbers are angry with the PPP.  Now many of these are confused.

Was never a surety that the PPP would have been beaten, but it looks less likely now unless APNU and the AFC mobilize like they have never mobilized before.

How exactly were the PPP going to be booted before the APNU/AFC merger? You're dreaming.

They have a better chance of unseating the PPP by going into this elections as a joint opposition party.

The AFC could have aimed to split and depress the Indian vote, as large numbers are angry with the PPP.  Now many of these are confused.

Was never a surety that the PPP would have been beaten, but it looks less likely now unless APNU and the AFC mobilize like they have never mobilized before.

A number of Indians will leave the AFC and go back to the PPP. There is no way for the PPP to go from 49% to 45% and the PNC getting more than 45% at the same time. Just will not happen. The result will be the same as it is now with the PPP as a minority government. There is a much better chance of the opposition unseating the PPP by merging.

I am quite certain there is nothing rosy in the PPP future if those numbers are correct. Amerindians vote matter because in region 8, 200 votes give the AFC a seat. It is one they will retain. The PPP has a chance of losing another in region 9. If the numbers are correct, the PPP loses another 2 to natural attrition from immigration in region 6. There is hardly any hopeful news for them. High turnout they  definitely lose, low turnout has to be asymmetrical with more non Indians staying home and that is not likely this time.

If those numbers are correct then the APNU simply have to hold turf. If I was running the campaign I would have shape files of the region and simply go after those who already voted AFC from PPP areas and focus on voter education in ones districts

Stormy we had an election a mere 4 years ago.  I doubt that there is this drastic transformation that you are chatting about.

The rest is pure conjecture based on the work that APNU and the AFC do.  It is not automatic that Indians will stay home, or that Africans will suddenly get excited, or for that matter the Amerindians will start voting, other than those who vote because the tochao tells them to.

The raw vote roughly mirrors the seat allocation so I suggest that you look at that and not at the mathematics involved in allocation of the regional seats.  That no one can control until the ballots are counting. Raw votes based upon turn out is what is more determinable by the political parties.

The PPP has the resources of the state and of the elites to lavish, and have given themselves ample time to do so.  I will give you an example of this.  St Kitts Nevis announced elections around the same time as Guyana did.  Their elections are today (Monday).  The PPP gave themselves 4 months to buy votes with the resources of the state.  Now why couldn't elections have been on March 3?

If you think that elections are won on goodness and virtue I will show you a US Senate which clearly wasn't.

And a narrow focus is the reason why the AFC only got 11% of the votes. They spent their entire campaign in Regions 5 and 6 and so lost ground in the other regions, other than 8 where the remnants of the UF campaigned for them, giving them a princely 900 votes.  Region 8 being a place where apparently almost no one votes.

A number of Indians will leave the AFC and go back to the PPP. There is no way for the PPP to go from 49% to 45% and the PNC getting more than 45% at the same time. Just will not happen. The result will be the same as it is now with the PPP as a minority government. There is a much better chance of the opposition unseating the PPP by merging.

Why are you debating about this when the whole environment has changed?

Nagamootoo has to sell his "enhanced" role to his rural Indian base, and not just Regions 5 and 6, but to the very angry rice farmers in Regions 2 and 3, and to others in the very populous Region 4.  Will they buy it?  We will start finding out soon.

Granger will have to mount a very aggressive registration drive in Regions 4 and 10, and excite people who have completely become alienated from the political process.

And then there is the interior which the PPP only has because of a small Amerindian turn out.  There are many angry Amerindians in the interior and the challenge will be to get them out to vote.

But I have my doubts about APNU and the AFC.  They like to campaign in front of TV cameras, now they can no longer sit in parliament and pontificate.

Why are you debating about this when the whole environment has changed?

Nagamootoo has to sell his "enhanced" role to his rural Indian base, and not just Regions 5 and 6, but to the very angry rice farmers in Regions 2 and 3, and to others in the very populous Region 4.  Will they buy it?  We will start finding out soon.

Isn't the forum one where we're supposed to have debates? All I'm saying is that your sit and do nothing strategy is a guarantee for failure. There is a better chance of getting the PPP out by merging. There will not be a major shift in votes from 2011 and that to me gives the opposition a better shot of winning. The aim is to remove the PPP not to have them back as a minority government. If you have a better plan to get them out, let us know but so far you haven't proposed anything better.

You do know that only 5k votes makes a difference and that isn't a major shift, even though it will have major consequences.

The PPP need only take back 60% of the votes that it lost to the AFC.  And you know that many of them aren't too happy with any arrangement which includes the PNC, which they will swear engaged in "beat and kill collie" up to a scant 10 years ago.

I suggest that you focus on the fact that Nagamootoo telling Indians to vote PNC is a good deal harder than asking them to vote for him as an alternate to the PPP.

Here is the deal.  Blacks aren't voting PPP.  Amerindians aren't voting PERIOD.  So the election will be largely determined by what those Indians who are no longer hard core PPP supporters do.  Will they vote PNC?

Focus on that instead of fooling yourself that a bunch of armchair GNI posters, none of whom are going to vote or even campaign, are going to have any impact.  The most that might happen is that some one glances on GNI and picks up and idea or 2. And they do look at GNI.

You do know that only 5k votes makes a difference and that isn't a major shift, even though it will have major consequences.

The PPP need only take back 60% of the votes that it lost to the AFC.  And you know that many of them aren't too happy with any arrangement which includes the PNC, which they will swear engaged in "beat and kill collie" up to a scant 10 years ago.

I suggest that you focus on the fact that Nagamootoo telling Indians to vote PNC is a good deal harder than asking them to vote for him as an alternate to the PPP.

Here is the deal.  Blacks aren't voting PPP.  Amerindians aren't voting PERIOD.  So the election will be largely determined by what those Indians who are no longer hard core PPP supporters do.  Will they vote PNC?

Focus on that instead of fooling yourself that a bunch of armchair GNI posters, none of whom are going to vote or even campaign, are going to have any impact.  The most that might happen is that some one glances on GNI and picks up and idea or 2. And they do look at GNI.

Stick to what I'm telling you instead of making up nonsense that I never even said. Where did I ever claim that armchair GNI posters will have any impact on the elections? 

All I'm asking from you is a better strategy from the opposition than merging. You have none because there is none. Save me the drivel.

You are always sitting on a sick and arguing to your own demons. Who care where the five percent of the ppp voters go if the demographics has shifted as the numbers seem to indicate. While none of us have the exact data, we can extrapolate from the information available. It shows Indians at a 39% of the population. This will not deviate greatly from the elections list so it means even if the retain all their numbers ( an impossibility) they still lose because you know the APNU base is hardened and their loss will be due to apathy. Even with some 80K differential in those not voting, the PPP barely broke the majority. Africans are going to turn out this time because of the sense of the inevitable. There is a very good chance of defeating the PPP.

By the way, it is downright ignorant to call us armchair whatever. We are certainly more informed than the average Guyanese. Further, having an opinion is not contingent on voting in Guyana.

All I'm asking from you is a better strategy from the opposition than merging. You have none because there is none. Save me the drivel.

You can waste your time pontificating as if any one in Guyana will listen to you while you are living it up OUTSIDE of Guyana.

I already told you that debating about alternatives is a waste of time.  What is done is done and cannot be undone.  AFC=PNC as the PPP has been saying all along.

The PPP will try to scare 5,000 Nagamootoo voters (they voted Nagamootoo and NOT AFC) simply by telling them about PNC violence towards Indians a scant 10 years ago.  Knowing that how many will vote PNC?

YOU need to figure out how to deal with that mess, and by pretending that 60% of the population isn't Indian, so that you can ignore Indian sentiments, will be the height of foolishness when it is clear that there are more Indians among the voting population, than there are in the population at large.  You can argue whether it is 47% or 45% but one thing you know is that it isn't 40%.

You can waste your time pontificating as if any one in Guyana will listen to you while you are living it up OUTSIDE of Guyana.

I already told you that debating about alternatives is a waste of time.  What is done is done and cannot be undone.  AFC=PNC as the PPP has been saying all along.

The PPP will try to scare 5,000 Nagamootoo voters (they voted Nagamootoo and NOT AFC) simply by telling them about PNC violence towards Indians a scant 10 years ago.  Knowing that how many will vote PNC?

YOU need to figure out how to deal with that mess, and by pretending that 60% of the population isn't Indian, so that you can ignore Indian sentiments, will be the height of foolishness when it is clear that there are more Indians among the voting population, than there are in the population at large.  You can argue whether it is 47% or 45% but one thing you know is that it isn't 40%.

I'm not pontificating about anyone in Guyana listening to me. This is just classic Caribj making up arguments from something which I never said. 

You're the one saying that the opposition merger is a terrible idea. Tell me what is better. I guess since you're just dancing around aimlessly without any alternative solution that means you have none that makes any sense.

The Indian voting population might not be 40%. None of us know for sure right now but to make up numbers like 47%-50% like you're doing just to boost your argument is simply you dreaming up numbers in your head.

Where did you get that 60 percent of Guyana is Indian? You also got it wrong the last time so you should not be arguing too hardly from your base assumptions, They are the same long held and wrong headed belief system you had last time.

You are always sitting on a sick and arguing to your own demons. Who care where the five percent of the ppp voters go if the demographics has shifted as the indications seem to indicate. While none of us have the exact data, we can extrapolate from the information available. It shows Indians at a 39% of the population. This will not deviate greatly from the elections list so it means even if the retain all their numbers ( an impossibility) they still lose because you know the APNU base is hardened and their loss will be due to apathy. Even with some 80K differential in those not voting, the PPP barely broke the majority. Africans are going to turn out this time because of the sense of the inevitable. There is a very good chance of defeating the PPP.

By the way, it is downright ignorant to call us armchair whatever. We are certainly more informed than the average Guyanese. Further, having an opinion is not contingent on voting in Guyana.

So let us use YOUR data.  Indians at 38%.  PPP gets 35% of the vote based on Indians, and another 14% based on non Indians.  That crushes your argument that racial voting will kill them because they would have won 25% of the non Indian vote.

Looking at the interior vote it isn't likely that Amerindians are more than 6% of the vote, so 12% of the voters will be PPP African/mixed using your numbers, so here comes the PPP with 25% of the African and mixed vote.  Quite good in a country mired by racial voting.

Your argument ironically works best if you use a higher number for the Indian vote.  Then one can argue that the PPP performance depends mainly on Indian behavior.  You can then calculate that exciting the African/mixed vote is what you must do, not woo them from the PPP.  Ditto for the Amerindian vote where many aren't voting.

I have stated elsewhere my thoughts about how the AFC/APNU can snatch victory out of the jaws of defeat, but complacency and the PPP wins as they are already spraying poor communities with vote buying projects, as we all predicted would happen.

And why will Africans vote, when many haven't voted since 2001?  How often does Granger bother with them?  Why will they assume that a Granger win will benefit them? 

Like every other segment of the voting population they will need to be convinced that they should vote.  So don't count their vote unless APNU does something to deserve it.

Stormy unless you are down in Guyana campaigning, fundraising,  and planning to vote you are an armchair prognosticator. ALL of us are, some just more practical than others.

You are always sitting on a sick and arguing to your own demons. Who care where the five percent of the ppp voters go if the demographics has shifted as the indications seem to indicate. While none of us have the exact data, we can extrapolate from the information available. It shows Indians at a 39% of the population. This will not deviate greatly from the elections list so it means even if the retain all their numbers ( an impossibility) they still lose because you know the APNU base is hardened and their loss will be due to apathy. Even with some 80K differential in those not voting, the PPP barely broke the majority. Africans are going to turn out this time because of the sense of the inevitable. There is a very good chance of defeating the PPP.

So let us use YOUR data.  Indians at 38%.  PPP gets 35% of the vote based on Indians, and another 14% based on non Indians.  That crushes your argument that racial voting will kill them because they would have won 25% of the non Indian vote.

Looking at the interior vote it isn't likely that Amerindians are more than 6% of the vote, so 12% of the voters will be PPP African/mixed using your numbers, so here comes the PPP with 25% of the African and mixed vote.  Quite good in a country mired by racial voting.

Your argument ironically works best if you use a higher number for the Indian vote.  Then one can argue that the PPP performance depends mainly on Indian behavior.  You can then calculate that exciting the African/mixed vote is what you must do, not woo them from the PPP.  Ditto for the Amerindian vote where many aren't voting.

I have stated elsewhere my thoughts about how the AFC/APNU can snatch victory out of the jaws of defeat, but complacency and the PPP wins as they are already spraying poor communities with vote buying projects, as we all predicted would happen.

And why will Africans vote, when many haven't voted since 2001?  How often does Granger bother with them?  Why will they assume that a Granger win will benefit them? 

Like every other segment of the voting population they will need to be convinced that they should vote.  So don't count their vote unless APNU does something to deserve it.

Stormy unless you are down in Guyana campaigning, fundraising,  and planning to vote you are an armchair prognosticator. ALL of us are, some just more practical than others.

Your numbers from poop chute are meaningless. The real numbers would on May 11th and not sooner. Stick to herding and takeing stock of  your cockroaches.

Dude if someone told you your mama was a virtuous woman, just for argument sake you would tell them she was a tramp. The point here is this is a monumental decision taken with full belief t here is some core of virtue in our racial mud and here you come with all your mud gear on asking who dare trample in your mud pile.

If sitting in my chair, taking care of my business and at the same time addressing salient issues about my country; I am doing my part. I wonder if anyone called Voltaire an arm chair revolutionary. You are still embracing the benefits of his caustic wit because the french revolution inspired this. It engendered the aphorism that the pen is indeed mightier than the sword.

Ksazma, if that looks strange to you, I have known "stranger" things in my long association with active politics and my extensive reading of international affairs.

So now all the AFC supporters that were PNC bashers have seen the PNC light? Should I say "Ow bhagwan"?

Kaz, You have to understand that when one is not sincere and honest their objective and standards change to help their position of the day.  This is how they have been operating for years.

That's Moses's challenge, one which I don't think 3 months is enough time to dissipate fears of the PNC.

=================================================

While Caribny's assessment of the electoral environment is one that I share I must add the element of time. It's in the PPP's favor.

Also while the 60% swing in Region 6 is achievable for the PPP with its stronger machinery of getting out the votes and talking advantage of vulnerabilities provided by the coalition, we have to not lose sight of the 10 Regional seats. This is why Caribny's comments on the voter turnout are worth noting.

Let's have an adult conversation about electoral prospects and not get wrapped up in emotions. Most everyone on this Board want to see the PPP lose. That's not a question. However answers provided by the coalition strategy and the tactics of campaigning that puts the AFC and APNU behind the 8-ball are what we're trying to put our 2cents worth on. So far Caribny and Shaitaan have advanced the more believable commentary.

Stick to what I'm telling you instead of making up nonsense that I never even said. Where did I ever claim that armchair GNI posters will have any impact on the elections? 

Isn't it obvious? Have the AFC continue its momentum from the 2 previous election cycles and now with Moses in full bloom it can take 12 to 15 seats. Granger has been a better prospect than Corbin and he has room to up his total - by increased voter registration. That's what Caribny argues. Instead the coalition takes the AFC back 2 seats and the APNU at best (if it campaigns better and Granger is better than Corbin) is likely to get plus one. What that does is still leave the PPP with one more seat than the combined opposition and a majority in Parliament. The Presidency has never been in question as the PPP will have the votes.

Now for answers. Give this election cycle to a minority government and make it harder for ther PPP to get its way, with the threat of another motion of no confidence hanging. The combined opposition will have chairmanship of Boards and Parliamentary committees. Work the Pparliamentary way to reign in the PPP excesses. Then you build for the next election and send these PPP into oblivion. That would be my approach - work for the longer term.

I will state again - the coalition is a strategic mistake. Let's hope I'm wrong.

I got news for you Stormy - they vote; you (more informed) don't.

BTW, if the Indian registered voters in the last election was 39% and let's say with so many of them voting AFC then say PPP only got 90% of the Indian votes. That means that over 13% to 15% of their votes came from Blacks, mixed and Amerindian. That's giving a lot of credit for the PPP's electoral prospects.

That's Moses's challenge, one which I don't think 3 months is enough time to dissipate fears of the PNC.

While Caribny's assessment of the electoral environment is one that I share I must add the element of time. It's in the PPP's favor.

Also while the 60% swing in Region 6 is achievable for the PPP with its stronger machinery of getting out the votes and talking advantage of vulnerabilities provided by the coalition, we have to not lose sight of the 10 Regional seats. This is why Caribny's comments on the voter turnout are worth noting.

Let's have an adult conversation about electoral prospects and not get wrapped up in emotions. Most everyone on this Board want to see the PPP lose. That's not a question. However answers provided by the coalition strategy and the tactics of campaigning that puts the AFC and APNU behind the 8-ball are what we're trying to put our 2cents worth on. So far Caribny and Shaitaan have advanced the more believable commentary.

Caribj and Shaitaan have advanced the theory that the merger of the opposition parties is a failure. They have no viable alternative strategy for the opposition which makes any sense. My point is that while the coalition may yet lose to the PPP, the option with the best chance of unseating the PPP is a Granger led coalition.

What is your strategy for an opposition victory that will produce better results than the Granger led merger? 

Your numbers from poop chute are meaningless. The real numbers would on May 11th and not sooner. Stick to herding and takeing stock of  your cockroaches.

Mits, your rejoinder should have more substance than the responses more associated with Redux and Mars. You're better than that.

Dude if someone told you your mama was a virtuous woman, just for argument sake you would tell them she was a tramp. The point here is this is a monumental decision taken with full belief t here is some core of virtue in our racial mud and here you come with all your mud gear on asking who dare trample in your mud pile.

If sitting in my chair, taking care of my business and at the same time addressing salient issues about my country; I am doing my part. I wonder if anyone called Voltaire an arm chair revolutionary. You are still embracing the benefits of his caustic wit because the french revolution inspired this. It engendered the aphorism that the pen is indeed mightier than the sword.

Ii am so much more educated now.........

Isn't it obvious? Have the AFC continue its momentum from the 2 previous election cycles and now with Moses in full bloom it can take 12 to 15 seats. Granger has been a better prospect than Corbin and he has room to up his total - by increased voter registration. That's what Caribny argues. Instead the coalition takes the AFC back 2 seats and the APNU at best (if it campaigns better and Granger is better than Corbin) is likely to get plus one. What that does is still leave the PPP with one more seat than the combined opposition and a majority in Parliament. The Presidency has never been in question as the PPP will have the votes.

Now for answers. Give this election cycle to a minority government and make it harder for ther PPP to get its way, with the threat of another motion of no confidence hanging. The combined opposition will have chairmanship of Boards and Parliamentary committees. Work the Pparliamentary way to reign in the PPP excesses. Then you build for the next election and send these PPP into oblivion. That would be my approach - work for the longer term.

I will state again - the coalition is a strategic mistake. Let's hope I'm wrong.

Giving the PPP a minority victory again is accepting defeat without even putting up a fight. Only cowards do that. It is basically reverting back to square one and makes the no confidence motion a farce. Then they should have just sat on their asses and accept the tiefin and general mismanagement by the PPP government forever.

"While Caribny's assessment of the electoral environment is one that I share I must add the element of time. It's in the PPP's favor."

This could be further from the truth. In three months as I have stated in another thread,the PPP will shoot themselves in the feet numerous times. They will expose themselves to the voters in the most despicable way...as usual.

Caribj and Shaitaan have advanced the theory that the merger of the opposition parties is a failure. They have no viable alternative strategy for the opposition which makes any sense. My point is that while the coalition may yet lose to the PPP, the option with the best chance of unseating the PPP is a Granger led coalition.

What is your strategy for an opposition victory that will produce better results than the Granger led merger? 

A Joinder of Lists! Not a merger in one List.

Mits, your rejoinder should have more substance than the responses more associated with Redux and Mars. You're better than that.

The only substance your responses have is what comes directly out of your a-hole.

So the MAJORITY of the Population thinks the PPP doing a GREAT Job and the Power Seekers want to use any and every thing to TRY and unseat them. Is that what you are alluding to?

In effect, yes. Popular majority is not an idol to be worshipped blindly in a republic.

The majority at times must be restrained and if necessary defeated.

You think the opposition have not already explored that avenue and discounted it? What does the constitution say about the coalition of parties? First you wanted Nagamootoo to lead the coalition and when that didn't happen, you came up with this hare brained scheme. The PNC base will not vote for Nagamootoo as president. They will say that Granger sold them down the river and stay away from the elections. So there goes the largest base of the coalition. 

No. If a majority of the population thought that the PPP was doing a good job, they would have voted that way to show their appreciation and confidence in the PPP. They did not. A majority of the votes went against the PPP in the last elections.

masturbatory nonsense!

The typical educated response..........

we are so much more informed now..........

I for one feel just stupid about reaching into my ass (where apparently I usually store my copy of the Representation of the People Act) and pulling out nuggets of truth

The only substance your responses have is what comes directly out of your a-hole.

I'm much better educated now and my humor quotient just went up.....

Well if you believe that a man never stops learning, then there is still hope for a dunce like you. On the contrary, you can never teach an old dog (or goat) new tricks.

You think the opposition have not already explored that avenue and discounted it? What does the constitution say about the coalition of parties? First you wanted Nagamootoo to lead the coalition and when that didn't happen, you came up with this hare brained scheme. The PNC base will not vote for Nagamootoo as president. They will say that Granger sold them down the river and stay away from the elections. So there goes the largest base of the coalition. 

I don't know why people always assume politicians are all knowing and all brilliant. They aren't. We don't know if they explored it at all. We don't know if the AFC asked for this and was shot down and instead told "merger or nothing."

What pray tell makes this perfectly lawful idea provided for in the Constitution and statute "hare brained"?

Well, if the PNC base thinks the august and lofty position of "Presidential Candidate" is worth more to them than that worthless "elected President" post then more power to them. I'm not against stupid people being punished for their stupidity. Maybe the PNC support base just likes the wonderful excitement of election campaigns and aren't so hung up about minor things like "winning."

I don't know why people always assume politicians are all knowing and all brilliant. They aren't. We don't know if they explored it at all. We don't know if the AFC asked for this and was shot down and instead told "merger or nothing."

What pray tell makes this perfectly lawful idea provided for in the Constitution and statute "hare brained"?

Well, if the PNC base thinks the august and lofty position of "Presidential Candidate" is worth more to them than that worthless "elected President" post then more power to them. I'm not against stupid people being punished for their stupidity. Maybe the PNC support base just likes the wonderful excitement of election campaigns and aren't so hung up about minor things like "winning."

shaitaan doubling down on ignorance!

So why the need for the PNC/KFC Union.

Well, it is like this ....

1964 -- PNC joined solidly with the United Force.

PNC then got rid of the United Force and rule until 1992 when they were defeated in a free and fair election.

2015 -- PNC joined solidly with the AFC.

After the May 11, 2015 free and fair elections, AFC will be discarded by the PNC when they-PNC/AFC failed and the PPP/C elected again as the government.

Coming from an ex politician, I guess you would be experienced enough to know that politicians are not all knowing and all brilliant. Is this a sad commentary about yourself? 

Dude, you were all for the coalition with Nagamootoo as the presidential candidate. Once Granger was awarded the presidency, your opinions changed. I still want you to show me how you were going to get the PNC supporters to vote for Nagamootoo if he was chosen ahead of Granger. In case you don't realize it, the voting public in Guyana is still polarized along racial lines. The same argument that you are using which states that Indians will not vote for the PNC holds true in that Blacks will not vote en masse for Nagamootoo. It's just the way it is. Granger had a falling out with the Linden PNC faction and is just managing to woo them back into the fold. What do you think would happen if he sold them out and asked them to vote for Nagamootoo? That would be the death of the coalition before it even got off the ground. Besides that, the PNC is bringing the largest voting base to the table by far so they deserve to have the presidency. There was never a thought in my mind that they would give that up.

Coming from an ex politician, I guess you would be experienced enough to know that politicians are not all knowing and all brilliant. Is this a sad commentary about yourself? 

Dude, you were all for the coalition with Nagamootoo as the presidential candidate. Once Granger was awarded the presidency, your opinions changed. I still want you to show me how you were going to get the PNC supporters to vote for Nagamootoo if he was chosen ahead of Granger. In case you don't realize it, the voting public in Guyana is still polarized along racial lines. The same argument that you are using which states that Indians will not vote for the PNC holds true in that Blacks will not vote en masse for Nagamootoo. It's just the way it is. Granger had a falling out with the Linden PNC faction and is just managing to woo them back into the fold. What do you think would happen if he sold them out and asked them to vote for Nagamootoo? That would be the death of the coalition before it even got off the ground. Besides that, the PNC is bringing the largest voting base to the table by far so they deserve to have the presidency. There was never a thought in my mind that they would give that up.

It is indeed a commentary on all politicians and wannabe politicians. Present interlocutor included.

I am in favor of a coalition that can win. Not a coalition for the sake of having a coalition. And certainly not one grounded in dreams of unicorns and pixie dust.

I certainly do realize the voting public is still polarized along race. I'm not convinced that Blacks wouldn't vote for a Nagamootoo led PNC-coalition because frankly what choice would they have? Vote PPP?

The problem that the PNC has historically failed to grasp and which apparently still informs their thinking is that they are a minority party because they represent a minority race. 100% of the black vote does not make for a winning strategy in Guyana.

Indians are clearly a majority of the electoral rolls. Therefore, it is incumbent on any party who wants to win to appeal to them.

I'm sorry that reality is unpleasant for you but it tis what it tis.

P.S...the "largest voting bloc" doesn't mean a goddamn thing without enough Indians to turn said bloc into a Government.

. . . I am in favor of a coalition that can win. Not a coalition for the sake of having a coalition. And certainly not one grounded in dreams of unicorns and pixie dust.

you are an inartful liar with convenient short-term memory issues

dude, u have been quite articulate on this BB in [personally] favoring a coalition ONLY if led by an Indian Guyanese

if it is simply about "winning" as you now claim . . . why throw all your efforts into re-electing the PPP? especially since, as u say, the coalition committed political suicide by having David Granger as its Presidential candidate

Jai Hind! . . . no?

It is indeed a commentary on all politicians and wannabe politicians. Present interlocutor included.

I am in favor of a coalition that can win. Not a coalition for the sake of having a coalition. And certainly not one grounded in dreams of unicorns and pixie dust.

I certainly do realize the voting public is still polarized along race. I'm not convinced that Blacks wouldn't vote for a Nagamootoo led PNC-coalition because frankly what choice would they have? Vote PPP?

The problem that the PNC has historically failed to grasp and which apparently still informs their thinking is that they are a minority party because they represent a minority race. 100% of the black vote does not make for a winning strategy in Guyana.

Indians are clearly a majority of the electoral rolls. Therefore, it is incumbent on any party who wants to win to appeal to them.

I'm sorry that reality is unpleasant for you but it tis what it tis.

P.S...the "largest voting bloc" doesn't mean a goddamn thing without enough Indians to turn said bloc into a Government.

The entire opposition is looking for a coalition that will win. However, one that has your horse in the race as the presidential candidate is not a winning formula.

In 2011, approximately 87% of Indians voted PPP and around 13% cast a protest vote and voted for the other parties AFC and APNU. Same for the black vote, with somewhere close to 87% voting for APNU. This formula led to a majority of votes for the opposition and left the PPP with 49% of the vote. All the opposition coalition has to do is to hold serve and maintain those 13% who are willing to cast a protest vote against the PPP and turn out their base in solid numbers.

Anyone with a bit of common sense will see that it is lot easier to hold onto the 13% PPP Indian protest votes (who have already voted against the PPP) than to have 87% of blacks vote for an Indian president in Nagamootoo. If you think that the only choices blacks have would be to vote for a Moses led APNU or the rotten PPP, you're dead wrong. They will stay home. See Dr. Hinds' commentary which basically says the same thing - "The APNU, on the other hand, got the top leadership spot, which some of us felt is critical for mobilizing a large turn out to the polls by the African Guyanese electorate."

I'm not saying that the coalition as it's comprised is a lock to win the elections, but it gives the opposition the best chance of unseating the PPP. The other two options of a Moses led opposition coalition or no coalition guarantees the PPP at least returning as a minority government. The present coalition gives the opposition a fighting chance to win. 

I don't find it strange at all Gilly. I do find it amusing. That is why I think there is a fine line between diplomacy and hypocrisy.

others.

OK so piss off anti PPP voters because you don't like them, and wait for May 11th before you do anything.

I the next 3 months the PPP will be engaging in racial panic, vote buying and voter suppression.  You need EVERY vote that you can get, and this attitude of yours suggest that you will not.

Its a good thing that Nagamootoo doesn't inhabit the same latrine that you do so there might be hope yet.

I got news for you Stormy - they vote; you (more informed) don't.

BTW, if the Indian registered voters in the last election was 39% and let's say with so many of them voting AFC then say PPP only got 90% of the Indian votes. That means that over 13% to 15% of their votes came from Blacks, mixed and Amerindian. That's giving a lot of credit for the PPP's electoral prospects.

You are as daft as that fellow Caribj. Here we are, expressing our opinions as to outcome, speculating from tenuous data and coming up with scenarios and you cone heads are speaking about who vote or not as the necessary ingredient to having an opinion!

And where in the hell do you get the idea that the PPP got 15 percent of their votes from blacks and others? Even so, does not this 15 percent makes them vulnerable since these people would be once again expected to vote against their own interest? Why do you place more emphasis on these folks remaining loyal and yet insist the 5k of the defectors from the PPP ( you said you agree with caribj) will be gleefully running home given the AFC and APNU decides to tie bundle?

The Indian voting population might not be 40%. None of us know for sure right now but to make up numbers like 47%-50% like you're doing just to boost your argument is simply you dreaming up numbers in your head.

Suck on this.

1.  the coalition is done and cannot be undone.  Some of us have reservations about it, but we have two choices.  Either accept it or accept the PPP.  So those of us who are anti PPP must work with it. 

I have already offered my opinions as to how it might work, and I note that David Hinds, whose influence exceeds that of ANY one on this forum, has said just about the same things.  Like me he has his concerns, but like me he feels that anti PPP forces will have to work with what is there, and that is the APNU/AFC coalition.

So why are you still screaming that I must have another strategy?  The folks in Guyana have done what they wish, and there is NOTHING that you and I can do with it.  Its a new day,  Get on with it.

2.  The demographics haven't shifted that much in 3 years.  Regardless as to how many Indian votes exist, the PPP only lost the majority by 5k.  Given that they have vast resources at their disposal it isn't that hard for them to get that by playing to racial panic (ensuring that the anti Indian violence of 1997 and 2001 is replayed), by vote buying, and by voter suppression.  These guys are desperate and will stop at nothing to win.

So you can rant about who didn't like what alliance and then turn them into your enemy, or you can recognize that the APNU/AFC alliances lacks the resources that the PPP has, and so needs to do its utmost to mobilize all anti PPP people out to get registered, and out to vote.

Now unless you tell me that you will go down to Guyana to campaign, you will help raise the millions of dollars that they will need, or that you will go down to vote, you, caribj,Stormy, Shaitaan and the rest of us are IRRELEVANT.

So quit screaming your nonsense to some one, who like you, hates the PPP!

Where did you get that 60 percent of Guyana is Indian? You

You couldn't be referring to me because my suspicion is that the Indian vote is around 47%.

It is irrelevant what % of the overall population is Indian because children and unregistered people don't vote.  Indians are older than the average Guyanese, and are more likely to be registered because the PPP in the past did a better job at mobilizing its base than did the PNC.

You are as daft as that fellow Caribj. Here we are, expressing our opinions as to outcome, speculating from tenuous data and coming up with scenarios and you cone heads are speaking about who vote or not as the necessary ingredient to having an opinion!

And where in the hell do you get the idea that the PPP got 15 percent of their votes from blacks and others? Even so, does not this 15 percent makes them vulnerable since these people would be once again expected to vote against their own interest? Why do you place more emphasis on these folks remaining loyal and yet insist the 5k of the defectors from the PPP ( you said you agree with caribj) will be gleefully running home given the AFC and APNU decides to tie bundle?

????????????

(where is the scratching-my-head emoticon?)

????????????

(where is the scratching-my-head emoticon?)

I jut discovered why the PPP brigade aren't posting.  They are laughing at the fact that the hard core AFCites are too busy attacking other anti PPP posters to have time to bother with the PPP.

Thankfully the AFC people who matter, those in Guyana, are way more sensible.  I read Nagamootoo's comments and he is on the right track.  Let us hope that he is able to bring others up to his level of thinking.

You just lookin fuh frens but dem racists in the PPP always liked you J. You were helping each other.

You scratch my racist back I will scratch yours. Dat is not the game you fellas were playing forever? this coalition thing totally upset all yuh backsides.

Now lemme guess you gonna be a big coalition proponent bigger than the coalition itself....right?

. . . I am in favor of a coalition that can win. Not a coalition for the sake of having a coalition. And certainly not one grounded in dreams of unicorns and pixie dust.

you are an inartful liar with convenient short-term memory issues

OK yesterday we just got the news so the reaction was understandably based on our opinions as to whether it was a  good or not.

Today we have two choices.  We accept the APNU/AFC coalition, or we endorse the PPP.  Each will have his own reasons for doing so.

I assess Shaitaan as the type of Indian who can be brought over if people take the time to understand his concerns and attempt to address them.

The PNC for the first time ever has conceded quite a bit, and to a party considerably less powerful.  Those in the AFC, with PPP backgrounds, have also buried their animosity to the PNC.  There is a new experiment in the making that will indicate the degree to which coalitions can work in Guyana. Risky yes and with real challenges yes, but they have made the decision and there is nothing that a bunch of armchair prognosticators in North America can do about it.

So redux if you really want to be part of the process you really shouldn't be making me your enemy,  as we both resent the PPP.

You shouldn't be making Shaitaan your enemy either.  Yes Indians like him will recoil in shock at being asked to vote for a coalition headed by the PNC.  But then Nagamootoo has his work cut out. If he cannot woo people like Shaitaan, who hate the PPP, then he stands no chance with the type of Indian who is sitting on the fence, who sees the PPP as damaged, but who can live with them as they are.

So I suggest that you reserve your venom for the PPP.

You just lookin fuh frens but dem racists in the PPP always liked you J. You were helping each other.

?

Here is the deal HM. You know full well that the PNC has attracted support for almost all blacks, mainly for reasons of racial paranoia and angst about the Indian domination of Guyana.  These are the people who tell me what is going on in Guyana.

Continue to ridicule call them, and call them racist, and watch and see how many of them take time out, and don't vote.  So who benefits then?  The PPP of course.

Anyone with a bit of common sense will see that it is lot easier to hold onto the 13% PPP Indian protest win. 

Most of these people voted for Nagamootoo a PPP man, as they shared his view about how degraded the PPP had become under Jagdeo.  Many of them are hard core Jaganites and the notion of them voting for the PNC is like asking you to vote for the KKK.

So you cannot assume that you have this votes. Nagamootoo collected abut 10k of these in regions 5 and 6.  If the voter turn out and composition is like it was in 2011 all the PPP needs to is panic 50% of them with TV scenes of Indians getting beaten up in G/town in 1997 and in 2001.  Well within the memory of most voters.

I will suggest to you that the APNU/AFC cannot wait to see if these PPP Nagamootoo voters will give him another chance.  They need to woo them obviously, as they need to woo EVERY SINGLE voter or non voter of voting age in Guyana.

They CANNOT take any voter for granted.  Not Indian, not African, not mixed, not Amerindian, not urban, coastal or interior dweller!

Stormy. Are you going down to Guyana to campaign, ORGANIZING the raising millions of dollars for them, or planning to vote?  If you aren't then you are an armchair prognosticator. I will happily admit to being one.

Let's have an adult conversation about electoral prospects and not get wrapped up in emotions.

I agree.  This coalition will have real challenges and those who have childish rages when these challenges are being pointed out ought to get over it. 

Nagamootoo made comments which suggest to me that he is cognizant of the fact that many of his PPP base will be confused, and clearly he plans to set them at ease.  He will do so by pointing out that the Granger PNC isn't the Burnham PNC, nor is it the "mo fyah" PNC at a time when they were frustrated and so the hardline element condoned violence.

I assume that there are elements within the PNC who will tell Granger that he needs to shed his aloofness and bond with the urban grass roots of G/town and Linden, as well as the black villagers on he coast and the pork knocker communities of the interior.

Granger set the stage last year when he did outreach to rice farmers in Region 3.  Nagamootoo can build up on it.

In addition, given that voter turnout has dropped by 65k over the 10 year period between 2001 and 2011 (and no this isn't just due to emigration) it is obvious that many regular voters stay home, and many young voters never registered.  So outreach to these people will be important, conveying to them that a new political environment is about to be created, and that if they don't participate by voting, it will not come about.

The sight of anti PPPites arguing because some AFC fanatics are enraged that others didn't automatically follow, and might even today still has concerns, benefits the PPP.

Mitwah and HM_redux please feel free to continue to call me a racist, because I give voice to the concerns of ethnic exclusion that most Afro/mixed Guyanese fear. What you will do is to suggest to them that voting is not useful and that they ought to survive on their own devices, because the system doesn't acknowledge their concerns.

If you think that this coalition will win without a massive African/mixed turn out you are being ridiculous, so you need to tone down your nonsense.  Leave that to the PPP which wants to continue to abuse Africans.

Carib you align yourself with de right man deh what is his name now Shaitaan? oh shytes banna you gat serious problems deh.

That "active friend of the afc" you gat there.  

In my dialogue with Shaitaan I actually discovered that he is less disdainful towards blacks, and more concerned that many blacks in Guyana feel excluded than you are. 

He is presently going through his racial panic at the thought of the "mo fyah" PNC with its "beat down collie" violence which certainly hardliners condoned between 1997 and 2002. 

But he can be brought around.  Just assure him that the PNC has been tamed.  It has its hardliners under leash, and in any case Nagamootoo will have some influence over them.

This is how mature adults behave. Not that vulgarity typical of the HM-Redux, Mitwah and Jalil cohort.

Look at Kari. One of the most loyal Nagamootoo supporters on GNI, and yet even he had an initial reaction to it, and like many of us, has now decided that this is what anti PPP forces have to work with.

You are as daft as that fellow Caribj.

The PPP lost by only 5,000 votes.  Do the math and you will see, so don't take that fact for granted.

Stormy quit your histrionics and accept the fact that if most of the votes which the PPP and the PNC get are based on race, obviously there are more Indian voters than there are black/mixed voters.

The 40% Indian vote that you peddle is nonsense and I sincerely hope that APNU/AFC don't believe this as this will cause them to not devote the amount of attention to this bloc that they will need to.

This time;

1.  Indians need to be wooed, by allaying their concerns about the PNC and informing them that Nagamootoo will not be the do nothing PM that Sam Hinds is, so will be more effective at ensuring that the interests of Indians is included, whereas Sam Hinds is unable/unwilling to do this for Africans.

2.  Africans/mixed who aren't registered need to be, and the population needs to be informed that this is the best chance to defeat the PPP, but this will only happen if they vote.

3. Amerindians need to be told that they will be treated like adults with all the rights, privileges and obligations that other Guyanese have.  Interior turn out is very low, so there should be new votes to pick up, in addition to some old UF votes that drifted to the PPP.

I don't find it strange at all Gilly. I do find it amusing. That is why I think there is a fine line between diplomacy and hypocrisy.

Bai, truth be told, diplomacy is hypocrisy, plain and simple.

Suck on this.

1.  the coalition is done and cannot be undone.  Some of us have reservations about it, but we have two choices.  Either accept it or accept the PPP.  So those of us who are anti PPP must work with it. 

I have already offered my opinions as to how it might work, and I note that David Hinds, whose influence exceeds that of ANY one on this forum, has said just about the same things.  Like me he has his concerns, but like me he feels that anti PPP forces will have to work with what is there, and that is the APNU/AFC coalition.

So why are you still screaming that I must have another strategy?  The folks in Guyana have done what they wish, and there is NOTHING that you and I can do with it.  Its a new day,  Get on with it.

2.  The demographics haven't shifted that much in 3 years.  Regardless as to how many Indian votes exist, the PPP only lost the majority by 5k.  Given that they have vast resources at their disposal it isn't that hard for them to get that by playing to racial panic (ensuring that the anti Indian violence of 1997 and 2001 is replayed), by vote buying, and by voter suppression.  These guys are desperate and will stop at nothing to win.

So you can rant about who didn't like what alliance and then turn them into your enemy, or you can recognize that the APNU/AFC alliances lacks the resources that the PPP has, and so needs to do its utmost to mobilize all anti PPP people out to get registered, and out to vote.

Now unless you tell me that you will go down to Guyana to campaign, you will help raise the millions of dollars that they will need, or that you will go down to vote, you, caribj,Stormy, Shaitaan and the rest of us are IRRELEVANT.

So quit screaming your nonsense to some one, who like you, hates the PPP!

Dude, what a bunch of lying crapola you're coming to me with now. You stated that you were against the coalition and your strategy was for the AFC and APNU to go into the elections as separate parties. I am not screaming that you should have another strategy. That strategy came from your own lying mouth which is now trying to twist in another direction. You came up with this brilliant plan that the AFC should work on siphoning off more Indian votes from the PPP and that is a better strategy to bring down the PPP. Even if by some miracle, the AFC were somehow capable of reducing the PPP vote by another 4%, that would bring them down to 45%. The PPP votes would go to the AFC, not the PNC so the most the PNC are going to do is stay at 40% and no more than 43%. So how in heaven's name would the PPP lose? Contesting the elections as separate parties is a surrender to the PPP and is for cowards like you who can never take a stand. What would be the purpose of the No Confidence vote then? It would be a farce and a major waste of time.

So suddenly you read Dr. Hinds' commentary and you're now twisting your mouth to say that it's in line with your thinking. Stop the lying. You're a big man. You were totally against the coalition, whereas Dr. Hinds is supportive of the merger even though he has reservations about a winning outcome. I've said it several times that I know that there is no guarantee that the coalition will win but a Granger led coalition gives the opposition the best chance of kicking the PPP out. You obviously want the status quo to remain since nothing ventured is nothing gained.

Anyone with a bit of common sense will see that it is lot easier to hold onto the 13% PPP Indian protest win. 

Most of these people voted for Nagamootoo a PPP man, as they shared his view about how degraded the PPP had become under Jagdeo.  Many of them are hard core Jaganites and the notion of them voting for the PNC is like asking you to vote for the KKK.

So you cannot assume that you have this votes. Nagamootoo collected abut 10k of these in regions 5 and 6.  If the voter turn out and composition is like it was in 2011 all the PPP needs to is panic 50% of them with TV scenes of Indians getting beaten up in G/town in 1997 and in 2001.  Well within the memory of most voters.

I will suggest to you that the APNU/AFC cannot wait to see if these PPP Nagamootoo voters will give him another chance.  They need to woo them obviously, as they need to woo EVERY SINGLE voter or non voter of voting age in Guyana.

They CANNOT take any voter for granted.  Not Indian, not African, not mixed, not Amerindian, not urban, coastal or interior dweller!

Don't chop my sentence in half and make up arguments against half of what is said. You've in effect twisted the entire meaning and context of what I said.

Here's the entire sentence and the paragraph framing it -

Anyone with a bit of common sense will see that it is lot easier to hold onto the 13% PPP Indian protest votes (who have already voted against the PPP) than to have 87% of blacks vote for an Indian president in Nagamootoo. If you think that the only choices blacks have would be to vote for a Moses led APNU or the rotten PPP, you're dead wrong. They will stay home. See Dr. Hinds' commentary which basically says the same thing - "The APNU, on the other hand, got the top leadership spot, which some of us felt is critical for mobilizing a large turn out to the polls by the African Guyanese electorate."

You see what you want to see it is the tint in the lens and the warp in the lens.........u dig?

OK I see that we will have to leave you behind.  Cannot help you if you, Mitwah and Jalil behave like the AFC version of Nehru.

One thing for sure, I don't have blood on my hands. And I am not an ideological racist like you. Nehru is a good human being.

You see what you want to see it is the tint in the lens and the warp in the lens.........u dig?

OK I see that we will have to leave you behind.  Cannot help you if you, Mitwah and Jalil behave like the AFC version of Nehru.

One thing for sure, I don't have blood on my hands. And I am not an ideological racist like you. Nehru is a good human being.

Since when Nehru is a good human being?

An alliance with the PNC does not mean that the people will follow their former party.   When they vote on May 11th, It will be the PNC they are voting for.

True Rama but since OH PRIYA PRIYA cuss down the US Ambassador, is all man jack who is an East indian getting a visa.

People living in Richmond Hill do not vote.