Originally Posted by ksazma:

You are a very confused person. You do more harm to black people than you would ever know.

I see. I am confused because I object to black people apologizing to Indians when BOTH are equally guilty and so suggest that apologies are useless as the sins of each to the other are equal so erase the sin.

You endorse "black man bad...Indian good, so black man must apologize" and you aren't confused.  Hmmmmmm.

So tell me how does black people apologizing for thirty years ago, when the Indian elite are CURRENTLY jamming dirty rods about their collective behinds help them?

You are a very confused person. You do more harm to black people than you would ever know.

I see. I am confused because I object to black people apologizing to Indians when BOTH are equally guilty and so suggest that apologies are useless as the sins of each to the other are equal so erase the sin.

You endorse "black man bad...Indian good, so black man must apologize" and you aren't confused.  Hmmmmmm.

So tell me how does black people apologizing for thirty years ago, when the Indian elite are CURRENTLY jamming dirty rods about their collective behinds help them?

Actually you are bad news for black people because you see them as people who resort to street justice and mob mentality behavior to resolve their concerns. You also claimed that they thought that the PNC owned Guyana and they punished Hoyte because they believed he gave it to coolies. Don't be surprised if blacks tell you to gwan suh.

Alright, two days now and I cant get any answers. But I m happy to see GNI busy.   However, from what I am reading the PPP will RULE Guyana FOREVER.

You see who thinks that they own Guyana mr K, but no comments from you.

No where in Nehru's statement is a claim that the PPP owns Guyana. So why would I imagine that he stated it?

Actually you are bad news for black people because you see them as people who resort to street justice and mob mentality behavior to resolve their concerns. .

My comments are specific to certain garrison communities.   So what happened when some cops shot some kid in Agricola and they closed down the EBD?  Or LInden bridge closure?

If people feel that negotiations are closed to them who knows what they will.

And not just black people either.  If you forgot that Corentyne burnt down a police station not that long ago, and burned down cane fields and committed other acts of sabotage I will happily remind you.

Alright, two days now and I cant get any answers. But I m happy to see GNI busy.   However, from what I am reading the PPP will RULE Guyana FOREVER.

No where in Nehru's statement is a claim that the PPP owns Guyana. So why would I imagine that he stated it?

If you don't see it you are just as bigoted as he is.  The PPP is only entitled to rule until the next election and then the people will decide if they deserve to rule again, and if they prefer a split government, as they did in 2011. 

You and Nehru think that PPP rule forever is OK.

If you don't see it you are just as bigoted as he is.  The PPP is only entitled to rule until the next election and then the people will decide if they deserve to rule again, and if they prefer a split government, as they did in 2011. 

Thought you don't get involved in intellectual masturbations?

OK.  I see that you think that it is now "intellectual masturbation" to say that the PPP is only entitled to lead until the next election, and then the people will decide.

Most will say that it is their FUNDAMENTAL democratic right, but apparently you don't think so.

I say quit the idea of apologizing. Alot a crap went down on both sides for the 65 years we hustling one another to govern the country. Just leh some serious ppl start doing some meaningful works and leh the ppl see some cooperation.

Every ethnic group   suffered under the PNC. Many intelligent blacks had to run and some even lost their lives including Dr Rodney.

Typical PNC lover cop-out.  Blacks suffered due to the destruction of the Indian/other middle class which made the pie smaller, so all suffered.  However, make no mistake, PNC was/is about Afro first.

OK.  I see that you think that it is now "intellectual masturbation" to say that the PPP is only entitled to lead until the next election, and then the people will decide.

Most will say that it is their FUNDAMENTAL democratic right, but apparently you don't think so.

Twisting and turning things do harm only to yourself. But go right ahead if you must.

?

I say quit the idea of apologizing. Alot a crap went down on both sides for the 65 years we hustling one another to govern the country. Just leh some serious ppl start doing some meaningful works and leh the ppl see some cooperation.

I agree PPP apology= PNC apology, therefore PPP apology - pnc apology = 0

So its all a waste of time.

Twisting and turning things do harm only to yourself. But go right ahead if you must.

Got yourself all twisted in knots.  Sorry I cannot and will not help you.

Like I said, yuh prappa confused.

As usual you make accusations but lack the intelligence to back them.

Kari, Have you seen the behavior, attitudes and actions of the PNC on the Streets and in Parliament over the last few years??  What exactly makes the PNC a NEW, moral, caring and compassionate Group?? Is there something you are aware of that the rest of us are missing?  I asked these questions because many, many of us ARE aware of the PNC conduct and behavior both on the Streets and in Parliament.

Pavi yu went to picket granger too?

Prologue

Mark Cuban talks about walking on the other side of the road when seeing a black youth with a hoodie in the darkness of night. You then hear the retort that a white guy in a suit can be more harmful as well as a white bald-headed dude with a tattoo. We are all too familiar with racial distrust because of unfamiliarity, and the Korean/Black stand-off in LA and New York in the 80s is a case in point. Then of course Indians with Turbans felt it just after 9/11.

The point is that when we are unfamiliar with something we tend to have an instinctual distrust until we become familiar with it. Likewise we overcome skepticism with change once we experience it.

The problem with the PNC brand

Indians say that the PNC will revert to Burnham days when they hear the acronym APNU, and this is the case with unfamiliarity. Not that Indians are unfamiliar with the PNC, but unfamiliar with CHANGE within the PNC. The brand is toxic – both to Indians as well as Blacks. Winning Blacks is not the problem. It is winning over Indians. Indians will continue to distrust the APNU as long as they are unfamiliar with the new PNC and they are skeptical about the change in the PNC.

The PNC’s leadership issue

You either believe that Robert Corbin sold out the PNC’s change to Jagdeo’s charm offensive or he buckled under the relentless pressure of the FF/Phantom reality. You must know that a force for change Winston Murray was cut short early. Enter Granger.

David Granger is a decent man. He was a low-level officer during the 1973 elections. I trained as a QC Cadet at Timehri in the summer of 1973 and my recollection may be bad, but I believe he was stationed there. I also know that the low-level officer level had a disconnect with the upper Brass in Burnham’s clutches. He is a QC Old Boy and has a strong intellectual tradition. He is not a thug, to use the parlance of some on this GNI Board.

The PPP Free Pass

I believe that with a strong Opposition the PPP will be a better party – visionary leadership, professionalism and a flourish for technology, all of which a re lacking. We accept mediocrity because of a distrust of an opposition brand that refuses to have a do-over.

Hoyte had a wonderful opportunity. His trust of Indian professionals and Indian economic ethic was already recognized. All he had to do was to apologize to the country as a whole – to Blacks for impoverishing them, and to Indians for the denial of certain freedoms and to the country as a whole for bankrupting the economy. Hee demurred. Corbin was bought over. Granger needs the cahones to compliment his nice character and professionalism.

Here’s the rub. The PNC is not monolithic. There are factional rivalries. Hoyte may have been thrown out of the PNC, even after banishing Hammy Green. Oh, how little did Hoyte capitalize on the economic liberalism, freedom from the Burnham shackles and the lethal assault on the kick-down-0the-door banditry.

Granger can call on liberals in the party – like Carl Greenidge, himself a respected Economist – to rebrand the PNC. Maybe internal PNC politics dooms APNU.

Meanwhile Jagdeo grasped the PPP by the scruff of the neck while Moses was on sabbatical – forced and unforced – and remade the PPP. He can make the PPP an autocratic, oligopolistic party and stifle economic advancement, and he gets a free pass. The PNC guarantees that.

Granger's visit to Richmond Hil

Yesterday I couldn’t make time to see Granger at Ritchie Rich or the private dinner later – had other pressing commitments. We have come a long way where any Guyanese can go to any political party function abroad and not be vilified. Of course there are those antiquarian folks on this Board who would demonize anyone  who would think of doing that – but they are a vanishing majority. From the feedback I’ve gotten so far, the point was made to Granger that his ROI (Return on Investment) for reaching out to the Indian polity will not pay dividends until the PNC apologizes to the nation – to Blacks, Indians, Indigenous and other races. The PPP needs this investment Granger. It will make them a better party. Heck, we may even have a governing party and Presidency other than the reckless meandering one we are forced to subscribe to.

Kari agree with you 100%.  Mr. Granger is a decent man.  TOO decent for politics against the PPP.  That is why the PPP continues to crush him politically.

The records show that he was a low level officer in 1973 and had no part to play in the murder of the Ballot Box Martyrs.

Hey Hey Hey. Bai meh guess abie gat foh tek brive and hssle dem lil gyal and abuse de wife. Dat is good quality foh be president. Hey Hey Hey

For a long time we did not had a thread that ran so many pages.

XXXXX Because our Learned Friend Mr Karimulla asked a simple and easy question....... xxxxxxx When will the PNC gain the trust of Guyanese?
XXXXXKari stumped all the PPP & PNC Pundits.....and Skillfully Proved PPP = PNC. XXXXXDe Professor and our friend "J" tried to answer for and represent their party of interest....the PNC XXXXX The Crab Louse who claim to speak and represent the PPP of today jumping up and making the issue a Racial one..... XXXXXXX Kari was very careful to lay all his cards on the table in a long opening statement at the top of this thread.....and no where did he say Blacks must apologize to Indians in Guyana.....this if far from what Kari is addressing...... XXXXXX Mr Kari is SIMPLY asking the Question, What will it take ....or When will the PNC (note Kari did not say Blacks) gain the Trust of the Guyanese???? (Note ...Kari said "GAIN THE TRUST OF THE GUYANESE")
.....and no where did he say Blacks must apologize to Indians in Guyana.....this if far from what Kari is addressing

Kari is either naÃŊve or deceptive.  Our politics is racial.  The two main parties are in power because of RACE.  Kari framed the apology in a RACIAL context saying that the PNC must apologize to get Indian votes. 

So basically Kari was putting the whole thing within the context of "black man bad, Indian good, so black man has to apologize".  Then he expanded by basically saying that Indian voters hold the country hostage, because they are the largest bloc, and that they are doing fine under the PPP, because they are "survivors".

If you make comments within a tribal context you will get a tribal response.

And please don't hide behind the term "Guyanese".  We have Vishnu here parading Richmond Hill as the "center for GUYANESE activity", when he knows full well that its focus is on Indo Guyanese". In today's Guyana some people think that "Guyanese" and "Indo Guyanese" are interchangeable, and they can ignore Afro Guyanese.   I guess soon they will be calling us Bajans and Lucians and claim that we aren't true Guyanese.

Continue to ignore Afro Guyanese, or make wrong assumptions about us and we will CORRECT you!

CaribJ and Redux are saying that once you are black you are PNC.

hOW MUCH DUMB CAN THEY BE!!

Indians and Africans have grievances against each other.  They use the PPP and the PNC as vehicles of their fears.  Kari asked that the PNC apologize to get the Indian vote.

He specified INDIANS!  When he expanded his position he ranted about all the fears that Indians have because of what the PNC supposedly did to them in 1973, and so must apologize to get their vote.

Now you all are caught in a trap you are trying to pretend that this isn't another episode of the "black man bad, indian good, so black man has to apologize".

You cannot ask one party to apologize when BOTH parties have been equally destructive albeit in different ways!

You make remarks in a tribal context and now are shocked that the other tribe puts you in your place.

THERE IS NO WAY THAT I AM GOING TO ACCEPT A FOCUS ON THE ETHNIC INSECURITIES OF INDIANS UNTIL THERE IS EQUAL FOCUS ON THE ETHNIC INSECURITIES OF AFRICANS!

WHY!  Because it wasn't that long ago that YOU were denying that black people had concerns, and indeedf called me a racist for highlighting THEIR concerns.

So given that there is yet to evidence that people accept that Africans have the SAME rights to feel insecure within Guyana's political and economic environment as do Indians then I will NOT support any demands for any apologies!!!

Indians and Africans have grievances against each other.  They use the PPP and the PNC as vehicles of their fears.  

More nonsense!!!

The fact of the matter is both the  PPP and PNC exploit the two major races to create fear!! And they did not had to travel far as long as their are folks with your mindset. You guys drowned the voices of decent people who do not see race but think for  the benefit of all Guyanese 

a

Last edited by Chief

Indians and Africans have grievances against each other.  They use the PPP and the PNC as vehicles of their fears.  

More nonsense!!!

The fact of the matter is both the  PPP and PNC exploit the two major races to create fear!! And they did not had to travel far as long as their are folks with your mindset. You guys drowned the voices of decent people who do not see race but think for  the benefit of all Guyanese 

a

You repeat the same thing that I said and then you think that you are saying different.  Guyana is a "democracy".  The AFC has contested TWO elections and ha sfailed miserably TWICE.  While they aren't perfect neither is either the PNC or the PPP.

Guyanese rejected the AFC TWICE.  Why?  RACE!

So don't come to me whining that Guyanese are mere victims of the PPP and the PNC.  Indians and Africans created and sustain those DEMONS and we ought to take the responsibility for that.

For a long time we did not had a thread that ran so many pages.

XXXXX Because our Learned Friend Mr Karimulla asked a simple and easy question....... xxxxxxx When will the PNC gain the trust of Guyanese?
XXXXXKari stumped all the PPP & PNC Pundits.....and Skillfully Proved PPP = PNC. XXXXXDe Professor and our friend "J" tried to answer for and represent their party of interest....the PNC XXXXX The Crab Louse who claim to speak and represent the PPP of today jumping up and making the issue a Racial one..... XXXXXXX Kari was very careful to lay all his cards on the table in a long opening statement at the top of this thread.....and no where did he say Blacks must apologize to Indians in Guyana.....this if far from what Kari is addressing...... XXXXXX Mr Kari is SIMPLY asking the Question, What will it take ....or When will the PNC (note Kari did not say Blacks) gain the Trust of the Guyanese???? (Note ...Kari said "GAIN THE TRUST OF THE GUYANESE")

after all the unctuous huffing & puffing, and nuff nuff ass smoke blanketing, neither mr Kari nor mr jalil can explain to us how the "learned" mr kari figure that 41% of the electorate voting for APNU doan trust Granger and/or are asking the "PNC" for an apology

the rest of your nonsense post duly evaporates like morning dew when sunlight hits am . . . nah suh bai?

alyuh keep tap dancing; i gat plenty mo music to play

after all the unctuous huffing & puffing, and nuff nuff ass smoke blanketing, neither mr Kari nor mr jalil can explain to us how the "learned" mr kari figure that 41% of the electorate voting for APNU doan trust Granger and/or are asking the "PNC" for an apology

the rest of your nonsense post duly evaporates like morning dew when sunlight hits am . . . nah suh bai?

The joke is that Granger most likely comes from the more moderate, more middle class wing of the PNC.  The ones who don't like him tend to be more militant, many the residue of the Burnham era.  They aren't demanding that the PNC apologizes for anything.

kari will likely not address the issue directly . . . he fully understands that i am FULLY aware of his TRIBAL, malicious, smartman intent when he oh so carefully constructed his loaded 'question': 

"WHEN WILL THE PNC GAIN THE TRUST OF GUYANESE"

the wicked and fallacious predicates are clear as day for all who have eyes to see

all tribal smartman, please come in

kari will likely not address the issue directly . . . he fully understands that i am FULLY aware of his TRIBAL, malicious, smartman intent when he oh so carefully constructed his loaded 'question': 

"WHEN WILL THE PNC GAIN THE TRUST OF GUYANESE"

the wicked and fallacious predicates are clear as day for all who have eyes to see

all tribal smartman, please come in

Kari isn't coming back, at least not with anything coherent.  He stirred up a bees' nest and is now trying t recover from the stings.

Pity because he could have simply stated that he didn't think through the issue properly, under estimated how his request would have been seen by large numbers of black people, and that, given that both the PPP and the PNC have done bad things, their sins cancel each other out, so no apology is necessary.

He would have then suggested that the PNC take a more active role OUTSIDE of parliament, and reposition itself from merely trying to block the PPP for engaging in bad behavior to aggressively promoting implementable solutions to the problems faced by Guyanese.  And in doing so taken care to move BEYOND its core support base, even into "hostile" territory, like sugar and rice farmers.

The AFC has contested TWO elections and ha sfailed miserably TWICE.  While they aren't perfect neither is either the PNC or the PPP.

So don't come to me whining that Guyanese are mere victims of the PPP and the PNC.  Indians and Africans created and sustain those DEMONS and we ought to take the responsibility for that.

CribMan, you're making my point for me. The AFC cannot crack the PPP/PNC Indian/Black polling divide. So try something different bannaz.

Interesting race bait tred. Theme of tred. Blackman bad have to apologise. Indian good and entitle to apology. 

This is the best post on this topic.

Says you?

JB should go debate with her uncle Nehru as that contribution of hers betray a lack of political smarts. The PNC in this context dis bad not Blacks. Blacks are the majority base of the bad PNC therefore the object of the PNC is Black. That is not saying Blacks are inherently bad. And where in the question posed does it say that because the Indians are among the important category of Guyanese that the PNC has to make good to that make Indians good? JB has reduced a simple logic to a soundbite that CribMan shows as racism by Indians because the PPP has not been called out to apologize. We don't want the PPP to apologize....we want them out or change them.

Kari isn't coming back, at least not with anything coherent.  He stirred up a bees' nest and is now trying t recover from the stings.

Pity because he could have simply stated that he didn't think through the issue properly, under estimated how his request would have been seen by large numbers of black people, and that, given that both the PPP and the PNC have done bad things, their sins cancel each other out, so no apology is necessary.

He would have then suggested that the PNC take a more active role OUTSIDE of parliament, and reposition itself from merely trying to block the PPP for engaging in bad behavior to aggressively promoting implementable solutions to the problems faced by Guyanese.  And in doing so taken care to move BEYOND its core support base, even into "hostile" territory, like sugar and rice farmers.

I'll get a more meaningful response from a fire hydrant.

You are too obtuse, too opaque, too dense.

You whiney little piece - Kari get sting, Kari can't come back, Kari didn't think it through; Kari should have said this and that.

The AFC has contested TWO elections and ha sfailed miserably TWICE.  While they aren't perfect neither is either the PNC or the PPP.

CribMan, you're making my point for me. The AFC cannot crack the PPP/PNC Indian/Black polling divide. So try something different bannaz.

Indians vote PPP even though they think its corrupt, because they fear black man rule, and they insist that the PPP panders to black people (Cheddi Blackman, you might recall).

Africans vote PNC, even though they are self serving, potential soup lickers, and possibly corrupt because they feel that they are punishing under "collie rule".  And now Granger goes and apologizes to get Indian votes.  This in an era where some are resurrecting Burnham as a "hero" and damning black people like me who detest him. as being destructive to black people.  I am told this by 30 something year olds who LIVE in Guyana.

So let Granger apologize and see what happens.

Note to you. The 41% who voted PNC aren't asking for an apology, so it will be obvious who is, even though you disguise it with the euphemistic "Guyanese".

Kari even David Hinds, who was highly critical of the PNC up to a mere 5 years ago, is now an active member of APNU.  As a man who was almost killed by Burnham, he is a prefect candidate to demand an apology, and yet he is more concerned about the plight of poor young Africans, and the festering danger that this group potentially presents, if their concerns aren't addressed.

David Hinds has said that all (poor) black people have now is the PNC. This to illustrate the African dilemma, with a deep tone of regret. This a man who was an enemy of that party a scant 20 years ago!

I'll get a more meaningful response from a fire hydrant.

You are too obtuse, too opaque, too dense.

You whiney little piece - Kari get sting, Kari can't come back, Kari didn't think it through; Kari should have said this and that.

The fcat that this is your response is indeed illustrative of the fact that you got stuck in a swamp, stung by bees, and are now at a loss.

Kari, ask yourself why David Hinds isn't demanding an apology from APNU, and is indeed VERY INVOLVED with them?  If there is one man who suffered under Burnham, far more than most Indians, it was him.

Interesting race bait tred. Theme of tred. Blackman bad have to apologise. Indian good and entitle to apology. 

This is the best post on this topic.

Says you?

JB should go debate with her uncle Nehru as that contribution of hers betray a lack of political smarts. The PNC in this context dis bad not Blacks. Blacks are the majority base of the bad PNC therefore the object of the PNC is Black. That is not saying Blacks are inherently bad. And where in the question posed does it say that because the Indians are among the important category of Guyanese that the PNC has to make good to that make Indians good? JB has reduced a simple logic to a soundbite that CribMan shows as racism by Indians because the PPP has not been called out to apologize. We don't want the PPP to apologize....we want them out or change them.

Guyana reality. Not me. Get your facts about Guyana right. 

Author’s second book targets racism in Guyana

June 2, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

“The peoples of Guyana sit on top of a known, restless, threatening volcano. It is called RACE. There is no way to sugarcoat, ignore, or dismiss this prowling, mindless monster in the midstâ€Ķ This nation has endured its share of the occasional racial eruption, the rush of consuming lava, the sweep of threatening peril; but these have been explosions in miniature, and only a precursor of greater dangers currently harnessed, and still ahead. Still, the burns and scars and memories are painful to the flesh, and irremovably embedded.” Gabriel H. K. Lall, exposes the dangerous manifestations of racism in all its parts in his second publication titled, Sitting on a Racial Volcano (Guyana Uncensored).

Gabriel H. K. Lall hoists a copy of Sitting on a Racial Volcano (Guyana Uncensored)

His first publication, Guyana: A National Cesspool of Greed, Duplicity & Corruption (A Remigrant’s Story) had been unashamedly truthful about the deep-rooted issue of corruption in Guyana from prominent institutions. This one is no different. The publication, which was launched at a simple gathering at Marian Academy on Friday last, introduces the subject of race and its repercussions on modern day Guyana. Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman, at the launching stated that “our colonial predecessors effectively manipulated and used the issue of race and competition and rivalry to divide the Government. However, while we are not guilty of starting this rivalry, we are certainly to be condemned for continuing it”. Lall asks in his book, “Who are we? Where are we? Where are we going? As a society, as a nation, as a people?” According to the author, racism has long since caused people to retreat, to shelter and even to hide rather than to bring the issue to full public view. He described the issue as a volcano, with a future that “threatens” and “endangers”. The unashamedly scrutinising Lall brings to the fore the relationship existing between the two major races in Guyana; the East Indians and the Africans, identified in the book as “Indian” and “Black”, underlining the differences in perceptions between the two groups and mixing the preferences in political factions, primarily on the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) and the People’s National Congress Reform (PNC/R). The publication made reference to tragic events in Linden and Agricola as “manifestations of the bubbling, heaving volcano.” Guns were referred to as “the final solution in Guyana”, the determining factor of peace, the only option to equilibrium. Evidently, change is emphasized as “the only way left”, the needed element to eradicate the deeply entrenched root of separation between the people of our nation. More importantly, change must come from the “top”, change that has thus far been involuntary. Essentially, unless the issue of race has been dissolved, progress will be obscured. Lall said that change has to come from those who are willing to tread in new and different paths and to inculcate hope. He urged all to put their heads together and stand up for each other, to take back our society and to look for the common good. The publication is now available for purchase at the Austin’s Book Store. (Tiffanne Ramphal)

I'll tell ya one thing....the status quo is not winning the Presidency for APNU, and the party with the most seats IS the PPP.

So blast a PNC apology for the Burnham years but do come up with an electoral strategy to make the PPP a true minority party. Emigration and demographic change will get you there but not for another 2 cycles or so. therefore we're left with another generation of useless rantings and ravings on this here forum.

Right Cainsta?

The PPP is already a minority party. One does not have to win more than 50% plus one.

Indeed the PPP can hold the government with 34% But the reality is if they lose by anything broaching 60 percent and they want the same autocratic prerogatives, they re asking to be booted from office by popular revolt.

No one can come up with a strategy for winning if the are not involved in the planning. However, one can proffer a generalized list of things that needs to be done that makes one worthy of winning. At this point, the PNC  is winning because the PPP are such corrupt and barefaced bastards.

. They have not denied any party the free right to replace them in government. The PNC record is the opposite.

That is because up to now the Indian vote has been large enough to guarantee them victory.

But now that they have lost control of the parliament, the Indian vote continues to shrink, and the black/mixed vote remains hostile rigging is a distinct possibility.  The PPP feels that they have a god given right to have power, and will not accept defeat!

The point here is we are seeing the adverse effect of dependencies on racial demographics rather than good sense, good management style and in general good government.

The  PNC will inevitably do exactly what the PPP is doing. That they will has nothing to do with racism or genetic disposition but it is what anyone would do given the kinds of electoral dictatorship our system produces.

The only mediating force is the AFC and the next elections will make them even more indispensable as people see their emerging role as the final arbiter. Theirs is a large responsibility to which they must be prepared to respond.