Guyana Community Discussion ForumsReligion
Not a Sermon only a Thought
Keith Tuning In to God’s Will If you want to be sure you are hearing from God, spend time in His Word daily. Psalm 119:17-24 If you follow Jesus, you have likely heard the phrase “God’s will.” It’s often mentioned in the context of His having a will for each believer—or of our doing His will, walking in His will, and the like. If we love the Lord, then certainly we want to obey Him ( John 14:15 ). But let’s take a look at some of the reasons we might miss His plan for our life. Handling God’s Word... [ more ]
Keith Choosing Love God may at times ask you to lay down your rights in order to show someone His love. Matthew 5:38-48 There’s a lot about the kingdom of heaven that doesn’t make sense to our earthly way of thinking. For example, today’s passage says, “Whoever slaps you on your right cheek, turn the other toward him also” (v. 39). Who wants to do that? And while we learned yesterday that God loves us, we also saw there’s nothing we can do to earn or deserve His love. In fact, we’re now going to... [ more ]
Lynn ❤️
See all 2,592 replies...

Guyana Community Discussion ForumsSocial Club
Guyanese words /phrases/slangs/terminology
Lynn De place smell stink stink.. or d place dark dark or bright bright rIver watah rough rough low low high high oh boy! talking abt low low …this mek i rem how my gf laff mek me laff whn i lived in st maarten u see-my gf is GYese but married to Indian guy..Sindi n they owned a lil clothing shop beneath our apt. Soi sed to visit her home n watch how she prepared Indian dishes ( she came to my place to eat Gyese food ..she didnt cook it at her home) So she mek a kinda pancake roti thing where she... [ more ]
Lynn Me clean d house clean clean an dem lil picknee mess am up ahready!! [ more ]
Lynn U gat fuh seh..me new-new sweet homan. BM lol u leff de ole-ole wan?? [ more ]
See all 277 replies...

Shows, movies etc that you guys watch
Lynn Ive heard abt Dynasty..never looked at it before.. lately hubby has been looking at CHEERS on CMT ..n Seinfeld [ more ]
Amral I downloaded Pluto TV on my computer and have been watching back Dynasty, the old TV series from the 80's. Not sure if you all remember it. It is nostalgic to see it again. [ more ]
Lynn Anyone seen any new movies or Tv shows? recently we have been watching CHEERS n Family ties (re-runs) i enjoy the game shows (Rogers CH 345 n 347)..People’s Puzzlers, Chain Reaction, America Says, FamilyFeud, 100000 Pyramid ..a new 1 ..called SWITCH [ more ]
See all 190 replies...

Guyana Community Discussion ForumsBollywood Talk
Charandaas
Prashad The Carib would make a good hari krishna [ more ]
Former Member So Carb, I see nothing wrong in learning to read and write another language. I am sure that the rest of us on GNI will be proud that you can be an interpreter or even a Pandit as a full time job or as one on the side. Not too old to learn, you know. [ more ]
Nehru https://youtu.be/tqCeCnLEFKU [ more ]
See all 141 replies...

Namaste
Irfon Ali https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mq1M6X5A7qY Bollywood's glory days with ravishing Reena. [ more ]
Irfon Ali Something about that song reaches to the soul -- the mesmerizing power of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. He was a Pak qawwali singer who performed worldwide, and at UCLA where the entire audience was hypnotized. He was overweight and died in 1997. Just realized the bride's dad in the white outfit and pink turban is Kiran Kumar who we saw in the 70s movies. He was tall and good-looking but wasn't one of the big stars, used to copy Rajesh Khanna's mannerisms. [ more ]
Lynn Like u already in wedding mood already Prezzo! i like that movie Dhadkan..nice songs too [ more ]
See all 60 replies...

What's cooking today
Lynn Yesterday I made chicken friend rice… today was bhajie n oil roti ( i seldom make paratha roti but i felt like eating a piece with some nice chicken , squash curry with nuff coconut milk) ps anybody ever used GRACE coconut CREAM?? i tried it in my squash curry n it wasnt too bad..better than can kind [ more ]
Lynn Bai mek yuh own pizza dough nah!! Btw i once tried the Afghani naan for pizza crust ..it was yummy [ more ]
Lynn ❤️
See all 214 replies...

Wedding anniversary/ day
Lynn Awwhhh..so sorry to hear? dem ole people believed in dem ‘signs’..my Ma was very superstitious n used to to getmad with me whn i paid no attention or dismissed her interpretations. My dad used to teach us differently..he said ‘belief is cure’!! Hahaha so being the smart laec..i used to say, i believe all dat is stupidness..’belief is cure’ for sure!! Well my Ma used to ask me think me education mek me more smart than her!! the sis before me used to wash bhartan n wet up she front part of her... [ more ]
Ramakant-P Were they happy? The marriage must have taken place in the rainy season, just like mine. [ more ]
Irfon Ali A friend had an arranged marriage and went home from NY for the wedding in 1981. On the wedding day, some friends went to bring the musicians to the girl's home, but terrible rain caused an accident, and there was no music at the wedding. The girl told her mom that the heavy rain and accident were bad signs, but her mom shut her up and sent her under the maro to marry the guy. I guess the girl had feelings of impending doom. The couple have a wonderful son, and that's the only good thing... [ more ]
See all 30 replies...

Guyana Community Discussion ForumsPolitical Discussions
Fighting at the Backdam
cain I deh here watching you [ more ]
Ramakant-P Criticism was labeled at Backdam and now I see that swamp is abandoned. It looks like I have to comeback and shake up the tree. Eh! [ more ]
Former Member 🤣
See all 33 replies...

Spring soon come…hellooooo
Lynn D winter na want leff we ..place cold ..imagine itis 0deg whn i coming home from wrk!! I had to pull back out my winter jacket !! [ more ]
cain Oh rant man, I just took a peep outside...snow tarass, I guess summer done. It seems to snow here on my daughter's birthday which is on Thursday this week so should be no surprise. [ more ]
Lynn I airfry drumsticks…made-my own marinade n sauce with everything mix up..lilbit of everything lemon juice..an italian salad dressing (from costco.) , garlic powder, pepper sauce, honey, mustard , smoked paprika… End product…nice flavor..lol [ more ]
See all 38 replies...

Guyana Community Discussion ForumsBusiness and Finance
Markets
Former Member I've been making a killing in the GOLD market. It feels so good. [ more ]
Former Member you are a vegetarian...so whay you asking.. PS: vegetarians do not eat seafood either...heheh.. [ more ]
Former Member you already know what to do..so why you asking [ more ]
See all 48 replies...

PPP Central Committee waiting on Ali to return with proof of academic qualifications - Transcripts can be obtained in days but party waiting over a month
Former Member You are a man who cannot afford HBO and here you are rambling about others. The little money you have is used to buy black vegetables in Irvington, East Orange or Newark. [ more ]
Former Member What you have is a vivid imagination. For all we know, you are a recluse living in a govt subsidized apartment with nothing but time on your hand to write nonsense and frequent soup kitchens when the food stamps money run out. [ more ]
Former Member I have a magical tongue in addition to a black vegetable that, when applied to various parts of the female body, has them trembling and shrieking in ecstasy. The chocolates are the best ones. But do not let me keep you from roaming around NJ looking for big black vegetables. In NJ you have many varieties. The American ones, African ones, Caribbean ones as well as Spanish ones. Which are your favorites? [ more ]
See all 66 replies...

I believe this. Your TV could spy on you!
Former Member time to start watching Real Wives episodes [ more ]
Tola Originally Posted by Django: This is known for a while,when the smart feature is activated tv connects to Samsung server which gathers info of customer viewing habits,it is known their tv camera was hacked. This is getting to be a serious issue with hydro smart meters and smart appliances that sends information back to the manufacturer. Saskatchewan removed all of their smeters due to fires and other provinces/states are fighting it. [ more ]
Django This is known for a while,when the smart feature is activated tv connects to Samsung server which gathers info of customer viewing habits,it is known their tv camera was hacked. [ more ]
See all 4 replies...

GHAZALS:
Former Member GHAZALS: TALAT MAHMOOD: THE GOLDEN VOICE: 18) MAIN TERE NAZAR KA SUROOR HOON: MP 3: Main teri nazar ka suruur huun Tujhe yaad ho ke na yaad ho I am the light in your eyes, whether you remember or not . [ more ]
Former Member GHAZALS: TALAT MAHMOOD: THE GOLDEN VOICE: 17) MERA JEEVAN SAATHI: MP 3: Mera jivan sathi bichhad gaya, lo khatam kahani ho gai My life's partner has left me, the story is ended . [ more ]
Former Member GHAZALS: TALAT MAHMOOD: THE GOLDEN VOICE: 16) HAIN SABSE MADHUR VOH GEET JINHEN: MP 3: Hain Sabse Madhur Voh Geet Jinhen, (Hum Dard Ke Sur Mein Gaate Hai)2 The sweetest songs are those that we sing to the tune of pain . [ more ]
See all 766 replies...

Leonora
Former Member cool...my bad [ more ]
Former Member I do not know the woman. I have never spoken to her. I know who she is and what she looks like and that is all. I met her former husband once. He appears a nice guy but I cannot say much of him either. [ more ]
Baseman Tell him deh, wet dreams always suffice! [ more ]
See all 39 replies...

Observation !!!
Former Member As I grew stronger my voice changed! Well, you can't say I didn't warn you guys! Writing about the brother you killed to shut his mouth? [ more ]
cain Keep on typing, I'm writing a novel....in the style of Stephen King. So, you mentioned something about being asked by your daughter if you had a cold, what connection does this have to.......Blam..you got zapped by microwaves? Better get yourself a lead apron or you could be zapped on a nut or two. Oh and another thing, you must watch out for probes, I hear dem aliens baaaadd with that ting yeh. [ more ]
Former Member That doesn't.mean that I crawled on.all fours, stupid! My legs were made weak by daily attack on.a ligament stuck on my previously dislocated hip joint since 1956..A doctor in Guyana told me that the.X-rays showed my left.thigh bone in place in the hip joint. "It must be.your imagination!" Doctors in Canada told.me the same thing until an Indian doctor, who again told me the same nonsense, sent me to see a psychiatrist, who after asking me a lot of questions, told me he could find.nothing... [ more ]
See all 32 replies...

GNI BOOK CLUB [2]
antabanta Song of the Forever Rains , E.J. Mellow. A fantasy tale that incorporates enough of the ordinary to tell an excellent story of love, hate, and greed for power. While Larkyra and her sisters enjoy their magic, they also employ it in service of good, helping those in need. She soon discovers her magic does not make her immune to normal human emotions. [ more ]
antabanta Bacchanal , Veronica G. Henry. I picked up this novel because of the name which is popular in Guyana and the Caribbean for referring to a party, fair, or carnival. I was delighted to discover a character named Obeah in the beginning, although his presence was short-lived, because obeah is also prominent in Guyana as the English term for voodoo. An intriguing story, relating the ancient superstitions and mystical beliefs of Africa. The story line, dialog, and narrative are fairly... [ more ]
Former Member ❤️
See all 594 replies...

FOREVER MOHD RAFI:
Lynn Check out this 1 from Bombay Talkies… [ more ]
Lynn The title song of the celebrated movie OM SHANT OM 33 celebrities appeared in the title song , personalities like SHARUKH KHAN SALMAN KHAN KAJOL ABHISHEK BACCHAN DIYA MIRZA ARSHAD WARSI TABU GOVINDA AKSHAY KUMAR BIPASHA BASU MITHUN CHARABORTY AISHWARYA RAI BACCHAN REKHA SAIF ALI KHAN BOBBY DEOL SANJAY DUTT UDAY CHOPRA HRITIK ROSHAN AMEESHA PATEL BAPPI LEHRI AFTAB SUNIL SHETTY DHARMENDRA TUSHAR KAPOOR JITTENDRA RITESH DESHMUKH JUHI CHAWLA PRETY ZINTA RANI MUKHERJEE https://youtu.be/VzLG6OqOcn8 [ more ]
Former Member ❤️
See all 417 replies...

Mohd Rafi Evergreen top 50
Lynn As a child n young lady even to my young adult age, Mukesh n Asha B were my fave singers my sis loved Lata n Rafi..she used to say Rafi sounded like he was laughing as he sang!! (there was a local singer. Back then..young guy named Rocky Persaud, he sang Rafi’s songs well!! My sis liked his singing) anyway leaving GY, i lived in St Maarten for a little over a yr n met a Gy lady who was married to a Sindhi guy n she embraced the Indian culture 100% ..she even conversed in Hindi. We became... [ more ]
Lynn Never heard abt RK childhood !! he has been the most fave starbai for me..to this day! I have other faves but itis mostly because of the romance n family drama movies he acted in.. i didnt like the angry revengeful AB kinda of movies, so. I guess that is why I was crazy abt AB even though he is a good actor.. yeah man..sad story of RK..Anju Mahendru was his lady love.. superstar for sure..nowim hearing the hosts of rality shows calling every tom dick n harry superstar!! RK had back to back... [ more ]
Lynn I love Mahendra K songs..my most fave r “Namo chhupa ke jiyo n ‘tum agar saath dene ka’ n of course Talat Mahmood is a legend n Manna Dey as well btw Suman Kalyanpur was a good singer too..it was very hard back then to differentiate between her n Lata (of course I can tell now) well ifu want to go further back..let me mention NOOR JAHAN n SHAMSHAD BEGUM i had audio cassette with all the songs from ANMOL GHADI … [ more ]
See all 13 replies...

MORE PROGRESS: Guyana Becomes A Tourism Hot Spot
sachin_05 Hot Hot tourism in sweet sweet Guyana! http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....0-meant-for-charity/ Burglars cart off US$4,000 meant for charity February 12, 2013 | By KNews | Filed Under News - Overseas-based Guyanese peeved with police inefficiencies Bibi Lanzaro After giving similar statements three days in a row to ranks of Vreed-en-Hoop Police Station, Bibi Lanzaro, an overseas-based Guyanese who came to Guyana to do charitable work, has given-up hope that the police would apprehend the... [ more ]
Former Member Originally Posted by Rev Al: Originally Posted by caribny: I think on another thread you said that some people start airlines to feed their egos but that the planes soon come down to earth. And I mean literally. So Rev where is all the confidence that GEO is this profitable tourist market? carib bai: If you know anything about successfully achieving your goals you will understand that there are numerous impediments and potholes along the way---lots of setbacks, despair and failures---and to... [ more ]
Former Member Originally Posted by Kari: Originally Posted by Rev Al: Rev Bhai....I agree with you...........tek yusself seriously because no one else does ..... Kari bai: Like the Rev said to Bruddaman in another thread---those of you who hate and despise the PPP and are longing to see the AFC/PNC in power---whatever the Rev "preaches" on this forum will not mesh with your reason and common sense, and as a result you will never, ever believe a word the Rev writes. THAT'S OK! But there are numerous folks,... [ more ]
See all 146 replies...

Illegal and unconstitutional house-to-house registration exercise may also lead to instability – PPP .. Basil Williams Threatens “Dire Consequences “ If House To House Registration Is Stop.
Nehru Yuh meh Nuff sense Sheik. Dem PNC people gat University that teach/train them members the art of Mo fiah slo fiah. [ more ]
Sheik101 It is true that many Indo Guyanese did live through a lot of threats pre 1992. U were one of them. However, back then the stakes were not high. Now, theres something called oil. Black gold. Texas tea, and Everybody wants it . Those in power wants to stay there regardless of a NCV or a CCJ ruling. Of course, the opposition wants in. Who wouldn't. But regardless how the dice is rolled, threats being made should be taken seriously. Guyana is at a sensitive stage. One false move on either side... [ more ]
Former Member As chairman she should have stopped it as an act initiated by a fraudulent Chairman and restarted it under her name if she care to let it go on. She wants plausible deniability in letting this go on. I hope she is also investigating rehabilitation of the old list least the judge hold H2H is illegal. However, that is a remote chance since that judge is in granger's right pocket as the chinese guy was in Jagdeo's. Our judiciary suffers the same institutional failures as everything else in the... [ more ]
See all 55 replies...

Energy dep’t appoints oil and gas advisor
kp I can see them full of GAS. [ more ]
Former Member Maybe drugb has a point, was there an attempt to find a Guyanese born candidate? But indeed Wilks appears to be qualified for the task at hand given his experience in other oil ventures. [ more ]
Mr.T The Marriott was left incomplete and in poor state, plus a large debt. The government wanted to wind it up at one stage because of those problems left behind by the PPP. But because so much was already spent, the project was completed and the faults fixed. It's not a PPP success story by any stretch of the imagination, but another example of how the current government had to step in and sort out the PPP mess. [ more ]
See all 26 replies...

This happens when you give

Carl Greenidge, WPA executive members clash on direct cash transfers from oil money .. This Jackass David Hinds Is Encouraging Young People Not To Work..
Former Member Yuh talking bout dem chuch mouse yuts who enjoyed a martyr's salute by de PNC ole heads, Guyana flag and all? [ more ]
Former Member Hey hey hey...dem black bais yuts was so innocent virgin freedom fightas...hey hey hey...likka de police and army na go do dem wuk. [ more ]
Baseman Hehe 😜!! [ more ]
See all 35 replies...

Will Jagdeo's barkers please point to where exactly the Gov't has violated the Constitution or the Court's Order(s) since NCV . . . else SHUT UP!
Former Member since you making my point(s) for me tell us, what "case" is that bai? don't be shy [ more ]
Demerara_Guy You indeed have done so most elegantly, Ksazma. Let's see how long the oxygen will last with him. [ more ]
Baseman We know wuh case you dem pon. Come March 19 yuh guh deh pon the same tune, then March 20 new tune! [ more ]
See all 34 replies...

Guyana will continue to suffer until we as a people finally realise that the two parties have wrecked our country and decide to eschew both.